Hey Bud!

I just love the JLC.   Due to a different set of statistics, I can’t for sure say we had more people attend Kids in the Kitchen than last year, but it seems likely.  Just the same, it’s always inspiring to be there and see what our newest members do each year with “their” signature event.  

The fun run was rained out.  Boo!!  But the event coordinators improvised, and the awesome UVA student athletes held court in the “small gym” (not to be confused with the proper gymnasium), entertaining and exercising the little visitors anyway.  I really enjoyed watching a very young lady in a princess “gown” play kickball…

Why do I love the League so?  Because it’s full of talented, inspiring women who want to make a difference.   Because I love starting a conversation with an incoming leader, only to find out what I hoped I might ask her to look into is already on her radar, in a bigger, better fashion than I had dared to dream.  Because together, we can affect change in our communities and even the world at large…

photo.JPG

Transition season in the League is underway, and evidently, Mother Nature loves the JLC too.  The fields are getting green, the trees are in bloom and…  my apologies to the allergy sufferers, but it sure is a beautiful time to walk in the woods!  Within a few days, those white buds-in-transition will be the same pretty dogwood that graces the JLC logo.  Pity we can’t keep the flowers longer, but the green leaves will be pretty too.

In other news, we had another noteworthy aftershock (3.1) last night.  At least we then knew why Gretchen had been just short of a neurotic mess for over an hour.   Once it ended, I was able to settle her down very quickly and then, we called it a night.  I have to tell you…  I’m not a fan of the vibrating earth.

How was your weekend?

This entry was posted in JLC.

11 comments on “Hey Bud!

  1. gmariesews says:

    tickles to hear your event was a sucess. Sounds like the athletes you had come to help were perfect and able to think on their feet! I love dogwoods, but they make me sneeze! I went out yesterday to see the crocuses in the yard – they make me smile and think of my gg. g

  2. AlisonH says:

    The trees are celebrating with you too! And someday I will find out how dogwoods got named, but I bet Gretchen and Sissy approve.

  3. kathy b says:

    OKAY may be THAT was Radar’s problem…..seriously. that would be so nice.
    Love the trees and all your thoughts today

  4. Katherine says:

    Bravo JLC! We need more organizations just like them. There is much work to be done!!

    Poor little Gretchen. I understand how she feels because earthquakes are right up there with tornadoes in my list of things I DO NOT want to experience.

    The blooms are gorgeous and I know you are enjoying your walks with the fur-girls. We had a backyard full of bunnies this morning, which pleased Macy to no end!! As my Mom would say, “Spring has sprung.”

  5. Nancy says:

    Poor Gretchen, earth-shaking is not a good thing for anyone.

    Always take time to celebrate an event or organization for which you have a passion. I’m glad you were able to do that over the weekend. Keep up the good work.

  6. Beautiful blooming trees, at least to look at! Otherwise, it is all achoo for me. Quiet weekend. We didn’t go to the Wine Train as scheduled, so perhaps another time soon?

  7. Nichole says:

    Beautiful trees! So glad you have the JL … sounds like a fantastic group of gals!

  8. Marjie says:

    Your trees are so pretty! Mine aren’t too far behind. Everything broke bud this weekend, and my rhododendrons started to flower, then the temperature dropped to 47 yesterday and 37 today. The local paper is reporting that farmers are having fits over trees blooming a month too early, meaning likely damage to fruit crops. Glad you had a nice weekend.

  9. StarSpry says:

    That’s a bummer about the rain, but I’m glad there was a good turn out and they were able to improvise on the exercise part 🙂

    I love the flowers in bloom picture! We’re getting more trees/flowers blooming and it’s so pretty 🙂

  10. Barbara says:

    I agree about the league entirely. They are dedicated to helping others and so generous with their time.
    The trees look wonderful….I miss that.
    Scary to have the earth move. Don’t blame GG for nerves…they seem to know what’s coming before the rest of us.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I wish we had a league like that!

Leave a Reply

