Dotty!

Christopher & Banks

I don’t know why, but I’ve had a thing for dots for a long while.   They seem to be en vogue this “summer” so I’m having a hard time not going nuts! 

There’s this versitile number from Christopher & Banks.  Why yes, it IS navy.  So what?!  I have a blue problem, but navy’s a great neutral… especially in the summer, right?  Especially in a summer when nautical things prevail?

My new rule for myself is that I have to be able to create at least 3 looks with an item before I even put it in an online cart, much less click “buy”.  I can see this with a white tee and sandals, or my sequin tee and silver sandals for a little glamor, or a red tee and shoes for Flag Day, 4th of July, or anytime – see that nautical thing going on this summer?  But it would also be happy with my green oxford, my coral cardi… 

Coldwater Creek

Why yes, this might be navy and have dashes instead of dots, but let’s not get hung up on the details.   It wants to live at my house and trot out with my tan capris, my white jeans, or my chambray skirt. 

Clearly, I don’t have quite as strong of a case for this blouse, so it’s not even in a cart, even though it meets the three rule… just barely.  Now, if I could find a kickin’ coral or red mini-skirt… 

Land's End

Not all dots are navy, not even in my world.  How ’bout this toffee number?  It would be happy with a red cardi and red flats now, or the white cropped cardi and brown sandals in the heat of summer, or even a jean jacket and boots into the fall.   Problem is, I already have a great brown dress!  Guess this one is not coming to live in the woods.

I’m still looking for red dots, probably in a blouse.  You know… very much like the Dashing blouse above, only in a nice, true red?  Has anyone seen such?  I love this NorthStyle red bandana top, but I’m looking for something more tailored…

How do you feel about dots?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

14 comments on “Dotty!

  1. gmariesews says:

    Seriously? I love polka spots! They are my favorite. There was a darling girl at the theatre on Saturday wearing her Easter Dress with huge dots on it – I was so covetting that dress – you know if it was bigger and came in my size.

    Okay – the shopping – buy the skirt and the dress. That brown dress is a fabulous staple. You will wear it all summer – throw it on to go grocery shopping, whatever. And I love your ‘3s’ rule. It’s good. g

  2. Katherine says:

    Oooo I love the dotty skirt! I can see it with a tank and a tan jacket. Dots and dashes are all good as far as I’m concerned and the “dashing” shirt would look great with a flame pencil skirt. Sorry, the brown dress doesn’t spark a response. Nope. Nothing.

    I love online shopping! I enjoy it far more than in-store shopping!!

  3. Sue says:

    I’ve had my eye on that bandana top for a long time. I keep telling myself that I can make one, but I never get around to it. It sure would be great this summer when the dogs dress in their bandanas. Oh no… I’m starting to do the dress alike thing with my dogs!!

  4. AlisonH says:

    My kids will tell you I specialize in frump. Even if I don’t think so (usually).

  5. Nichole says:

    I don’t know that I’ve had a thing for or against dots… if I like it, I’ll buy it. Those are some cute little numbers …

  6. Kathy says:

    One of my favorite spring/summer items is a navy with white polka dots dress I purchased last summer. I just got a new pair of red shoes that I plan to wear with it this year.

    Maybe it’s not so summery, but I can’t resist anything made of black and white houndstooth (like Bear Bryant’s hat). I have had numerous things with this pattern over the years.

  7. Marjie says:

    Dots are cute. That skirt needs to come to The Woods, and the top probably does. The dress is cute, but you don’t absolutely have to have it. It’s easier to mix and match with separate pieces, anyway (says the loony tune making nothing but dresses these days). I’d be wary of the gathering on the front of the skirt, because it could make you look like you have a bigger tummy than you do. And I find scoop necks to be more flattering than vee necks. Just my opinion.

  8. Marjie says:

    Oh, and I’m not feeling the love for the bandanna top. I just don’t like tops gathered below the bust like that.

  9. kathy b says:

    absolutely love little dots…just adore them. Loved the brown dotted dress in Pretty Woman…or was it a pant suit?

  10. gypsyknits says:

    hmmmm…..I more into stripes but the dots are interesting 🙂

  11. StarSpry says:

    I love dots and that skirt is adorable! I’m really looking forward to wearing lighter spring/summer clothes 🙂

  12. Amy says:

    I love polka dots, so my vote will always be for that. But what about something in a kelly green or red shade, dots or no? I think you would look lovely in that shade of green!

    And I’m so sorry that I haven’t been commenting as much as usual. I’ve really enjoyed not being online as much as usual. And being pregnant, those extra moments are usually soaked up with a few extra moments of sleep.

  13. Mary says:

    I think you’d look good in dots. Me? I’d just look dotty.

  14. Blond Duck says:

    Francescas had the cutest red-polka dotted skirt!

Leave a Reply

