Totes on Thorsday

March 2012 003Never fear, fans of Dogs on Thursday… Gretchen posed in many of the photos for this post.  Also, you can click over to their blog for more dog photos and my findings on something called Dudley nose, or why Sissy’s nose isn’t as dark as it used to be.

So, happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday and … anything else we might celebrate today.

Last month, a friend had a Thirty-One party.  I couldn’t attend, but ordered online with her “show”.   I settled on a Metro Retro bag (link is to another blogger’s review, as 31 doesn’t seem to want to show their products except in the online catalog, which I find difficult to navigate) in a very dark (read: black?) denim.

March 2012 004

That’s “MR” on the right, with embroidery.  We haven’t bonded, despite her having my name “tattooed” across her front.  Why?  Let me count the ways.

  1.   Because she looks like she’s slept in her clothes for all of her life.  She’s very wrinkled and frumpy, and letting her “hang out” and try to relax in my home for about two weeks hasn’t helped.
  2. What was I thinking, putting my full name on a bag I originally intended to use as my “handbag” when I fly?!  I’ve had a bad experience (in New Orleans last year) when I was wearing a name tag and inadvertently gave a stranger too much power, simply by being able to act as though he knew me, because he knew my name.
  3. That tag?  It reads that the dark, unwashed fabric will stain my clothes.  Really 31?  Those long handles mean women will toss that bag over their shoulders.  Hrmph.
  4. No closure.  No magnet, no zipper… no way to secure the contents within from pickpockets, a bumpy flight that might jostle things around, etc.
  5. I now know I prefer, even DEMAND that my bags can sit up properly, not flop and sag all over itself.

Yes, I can say buyer’s remorse.   It’s hardly the first time, especially in bag world, but still.

March 2012 001

Cindy left, Metro Retro right

Now, there IS Cindy.  She’s on the left.  She has a synthetic leather-like bottom and handles, but her body is also that unwashed denim.   I’m still a little hesitant to travel with her, but maybe I’ll wear a jean jacket and not sweat it.  (That pun’s for you, Alison.)

Cindy is an even larger bag, but she’s more structured and has a zippered top.  Both have drop-in pockets for the cell phone, which is a must for me… but a source of serious concern in MR, due to the lack of any kind of closure across the top!

March 2012 002

I’m not sure the angle makes it clear, but Cindy is larger than my tote on the left, and large enough that I could just drop my whole beloved green handbag right in and still have room for my iPad and a notebook, with room for a cardigan on top.

You might have noticed I didn’t say I purchased Cindy.  She’s here on a trial basis.  Another friend attended another 31 party about the same time, and while Cindy was closer to what we both like in a bag, she’s pretty sure she’ll never actually use Cindy.  So, there’s my thankful…  I’m thankful for my incredible friends, especially the like-minded women I’ve met blogging!

What are you thankful for today?

15 comments on “Totes on Thorsday

  1. Kathy says:

    Sorry the bag doesn’t work out for you. I know what you mean about no closure on the top. The classic Kate Spade bag just has a simple flap, smaller the length of the purse, and I could see myself tilting the bag and all my stuff falling out. Therefore I didn’t purchase.

  2. gmariesews says:

    Oh I wish I knew you were putting your entire name across the front – I so would have talked you out of it. There is nothing – absolutely nothing – worse than a stranger knowing your first name – it’s very disconcerting.

    Sorry the bags don’t work for you – and what’s up with them not prewashing the heck out of that demin so it won’t stain? Of course you’ll throw it over your shoulder!

    I’m thankful today for a job I am able to tolerate::my husband::kids who grow up::healthy dogs::a good vet::

  3. The bag is cute but stinks about adding your full name. I am thankful for my father’s visit! I missed him so!

    Hope you are well!

  4. Katherine says:

    All cute bags! I have a problem with totes because they never seem to meet my expectations. So, I always end up using my Vera Bradley large tote and ditty bag. I can use them for the office or pack for a weekend–I keep going back to them. Now what do I do with all those other totes?

    I say send back the unwashed, unsatisfactory denim bag. Maybe they will find someone named Channon to sell it to. LOL

  5. Louise says:

    First of all, I’m thankful I do not have these bag dilemmas:) We won’t discuss why as I’m sure you know:) What strikes me most about this post, Channon is your animated introductions to each one. Do I feel a bag (ie: purse, pocket book) blog in your future???

    Thanks for sharing…I, must visit the girls…

  6. Louise says:

    Oh, and I agree. Never, never put your name out there. My 9 year old granddaughter asked for her name on a necklace which I had to decline. I did explain the reasons why, as did her mom. Children wearing name tags of any kind in public can be dangerous.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Tote bags! I have a bunch of those. Iron the wrinkly one; it improves its mood drastically. And if you don’t like your name on it, you can take it out with a seam ripper; I’ve done that.

    Around Christmas, there was a half-off sale, and that’s when I bought my first Lands End tote. It actually stands up. It’s sturdy. You can get them zipped. I find that just for those things, it has become my favorite, though I’m sure there are other brands just as nice. I hadn’t realized how much I wanted one to stand solidly upright on its own and just how much that was going to delight me.

  8. Sue says:

    My current knitting bag was purchased because it was love at first sight. I still do feel the love, BUT it also flops and that drives me crazy. It has a tendency to spill yarn out when it decides to lean. It’s a good thing I have so many bags and totes because there’s usually one that fits whatever situation I’m in.

  9. Amy says:

    I’ve had a new bag on the brain lately …. a diaper bag. I want something very clean and fresh, like an LL Bean ‘Boat’ Tote. I found one the other day that John liked as well, so that’s a start.

    Okay, maybe two bags. I love my big purse that carries all that I need, but it is in wood and plaid, so I think I need something new for the summer!

  10. Marjie says:

    I’m on the hunt for a new purse. But it has to be about 10″ wide by ^” to 8″ high, 4″ deep, with at least 2 pockets, and preferably a cell phone pocket on the outside, and I just can’t find a thing. Everything is huge, slouchy, just one giant pocket, and, like your new despised denim, open at the top. WTF? I found two on JC Penney dot com that were sold out, and two on macy’s dot com that were sold out. It’s a bummer. I was passed a 31 catalog by someone who wanted me to buy for a school fundraiser, and just didn’t feel the love from much of anything.

  11. Nichole says:

    I think you’ll like your Claico Dragon Bags tote even more… once you order! 😉 Do you use your Seacoast Baby tote much?

  12. Nancy says:

    I’ve never heard of a Thirty-One party: tell me more.

  13. LOL…you and your bags! I’m guessing the denim bag craze will end soon for you if they’re all going to bleed on your clothes, right?

  14. Mary says:

    Bags…bain of our existence. I am definitely with you on two things….bags need some structure (sit up, please) and they need closure (don’t we all). I have a large black tote I use for travel that while it doesn’t totally closed at the top, it does have a magnetic closure in the middle of the top. It also has a zippered pocket that is the size of the entire bag, meaning I can zip in my laptop or whatever else I do not want to fall out. On my flight to PHX last week my bag contained: a laptop in a neoprene zippered bag, a nook tablet in another neoprene zippered pouch, a large binder of work material, my noise-canceling headset and ipod (also in a zippered bag), my toiletries in a clear firm plastic zippered bag, my purse and the kitchen sink. Okay, not the kitchen sink, but the d@mn bag weighed more than my carry-on luggage. However, it has to long straps that go over my shoulder and it has two side pockets (one with a zipper) to drop in the phone, boarding pass, etc. It can fit under an airline seat laid sideways (which is why I mostly keep some items in other pouches). Don’t think they sell it anymore (was an eb@g), but this one is close and it has a zippered top http://www.ebags.com/product/baggallini/expandable-tote-crinkle-nylon/47388?productid=510421##

  15. Crap! I just bought one of the MR bags the other day. Granted, I got the one in “Lotsa Dots”, so I won’t have to worry about bleeding, but still. /pouts/

Leave a Reply

