Hang onto your Hat!

April 2012 001Don’t get excited.  I didn’t knit it; Kathy did.  Her blog is a little quiet of late, but she’s been a busy woman, and I’m absolutely blown away by her friendship.

Don’t you love the colors?!  I’m itching to see the recipient in it.  I hope he likes it… or will at least humor me and wear it for one silly photo.    No, I won’t tell you who he is in case someone who knows him is reading, and no… you won’t ever see the photo if he does humor me, because if you haven’t noticed, I don’t put up faces of two-legged littles here.

April 2012 003That’s for Kathy and her mom.  I think those two get more joy out of Sissy’s silly fascination with headwear than the rest of us combined.   If the purple flower staring into the lens shot wasn’t so friggin’ awesome, this one would be a new favorite.  Instead, it’s just cute, silly Sissy.

The girl can rock a hat though, can’t she?  I truly don’t stage these photos or do more than crop or adjust the exposure.  This nut KNEW when I walked onto the deck with the hat in hand that it was going to be all about her.  She just hopped up on the little storage cube and waited for her photo shoot.

April 2012 005Sorry.  She’s just so much fun.  Talk about having too much personality in one body… that’s our Sissymonster.

Thanks again, Kathy.  I hope these photos tickled you and your mom… and that the rest of your family will be patient as you force them to look and laugh.

But wait!  Hold onto YOUR hats, because Chanknits. 

April 2012 002Why yes, Chirp is a finished.

Pattern:  Chubby Chirps is a cute, fun pattern.  Keep in mind that I announce regularly that I hate seams, don’t knit toys because of the assembly mess, etc.   All of that aside, I loved making this little guy and would consider knitting more!

Yarn:  Leftover Plymouth Sockotta.  Not my favorite to knit with, but the colors went so well with the hat…

Needles:  #1 Clover short dpns.  I was worried I was going to snap one a few times as I dug for “knit front and back”…

Verdict:  Just knit one yourself.  Or ten.  If I do another one though, I’m gonna’ find some bronze or black brads for the eyes.

18 comments on “Hang onto your Hat!

  1. gmariesews says:

    Love that hat! Kathy is a very talented knitter and some little two-legged will be too cute for words wearing it. Love the little stuffy! g

  2. Katherine says:

    Oh my Sissy!! You have never been more chic and stylish! Love the hat. Whoever it is meant for I hope the recipient will let Sissy wear it occasionally.

    The chubby chirp is adorable. Do your knitted stuffies ever become dog toys?

  3. AlisonH says:

    Cool hat! Warmth and covering the eyes a bit; perfect. And Chubby Chick-ers? Can it dance the twist?

  4. Nancy says:

    You really must make Sissy a hat like that because it is perfect for her.

  5. Marjie says:

    Cute birdy, and I really think you should keep the hat for Sissy, and make something else for the lucky recipient. Or maybe not. She does have plenty of headgear.

  6. km says:

    CUTE hat!. See that’s the problem I have with Google and my photos. So many of my photos include faces of 2 legged littles. You’re on G+ so go and see just how many of my albums you can see. I was using Picassa as a quick editor and to email albums to family so there are actually quite a few. And then, with the google blogger you do run out of photo storage. But you are using flickr and I stopped using that when they parted from yahoo and I lost my free storage there.

    Ack…

  7. StarSpry says:

    Very cute hat and I love the photos of Sissy wearing it! Your Chubby Chirp is adorable, too 🙂

  8. Nichole says:

    Oh My… that hat is ALL Sissy!!!! I think that’s my fave picture of your girl now!
    Chirp is cute..

  9. Amy says:

    Chirp is soooo cute!!!! I love it!

  10. 6060 on etsy has the best eyes and cheap too—-I love your hate and chirp!

  11. Barbara says:

    That is so adorable on Sissy! And Chirp is even cuter. What fun knits today, Chan. 🙂

  12. Sue says:

    That’s a sweet little hat. The chirp is adorable, too.

  13. Love your model and your Chirpy!! What a week it has been. Nuff said. What? It’s only Tuesday?

  14. kathy b says:

    Sissy should absolutely win a prize for that modeling!!!!!

  15. Anita says:

    Really cute hat! What? It’s not for Sissy? LOL 😉

  16. Blond Duck says:

    Too cute! WordPress is screwing up again…

  17. Kristyn says:

    That chirp is so cute. Toys are really fiddly but they are so cute that I am torn about knitting them.

  18. LOL I love the hat!!! Diva wears a hat better than most humans I know!

Leave a Reply

