Hoppin’ down the trail

Sissy got a good report Saturday from Vision Vet.   However, I also learned that soap upsets her stomach.  Hem.  (You can click over if you really want to know.)

We spent Easter on the road.  We went to my uncle’s farm, which has been in his family since King somebody signed the charter, as I recall.  It was an intimate gathering, with lots of good food and even better company. 

photo.JPGSaturday though, after the great soap bubble debacle, we had a good walk.  The girls were wide open the whole time!  Gretchen went right to the river’s edge.  The first time or two she raced down the boat landing to the water, she made me nervous.  Now I’ve come to realize she isn’t going to fall in, but she does want to go right to the edge!

We didn’t get photos for the Easter parade.   This almost being president stuff is taxing, and goodness, let’s not even talk taxes!!

photo.JPGAnyway, Gretchen is such a different dog in the woods.   She’s a very typical – read: fearless – JRT.  She sprints off ahead on her own, and is just a happy, confident little girl.  Makes my heart sing.  I’m hoping that enough woods confidence will build up and spill over into the walking down the road where we meet other dogs and sometimes horses and people and…

How was your weekend?  Did the Easter bunny bring  you your favorite candies?

16 comments on “Hoppin’ down the trail

  1. Katherine says:

    It’s so good to see the girls having so much fun. Good to know Gretchen stays away from the water too. Macy doesn’t want anything to do with it but will go to the edge of the pool or the pond in the back field. Mud doesn’t seem to bother her though. I wash her feet umpteen times a day.

  2. gmariesews says:

    Sounds like a lovely weekend. Just what the doctor ordered. I got some sewing in. Made a couple of nice meals, spilled my guts to my friend and we both had a good cry in my living room – then went shopping! Made my first trip to Ikea – not so impressed, but and some good stuff, but……

    g

  3. Marjie says:

    Hooray for good Vision Vet Visits! Hooray for fearless woods walking, and hopes that it spills over into real life! Hooray for having a little bit of history in your life, and being able to go spend holidays there! Glad you had a nice weekend.

  4. sandyjager says:

    Sounds perfect for Easter weekend. We spent it mostly at home, doing our own thing. That meant spinning and knitting for me, cooking and making a mess for DH. Oh yeah. I did laundry. Exciting!!!

  5. StarSpry says:

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend! I’m glad Gretchen is so confident in the woods. I sure hope she’ll get better walking down your road at home 🙂

  6. Nichole says:

    Sounds like a nice relaxing Easter!

  7. Barbara says:

    So glad you had a great Easter, Chan. I did too…the pot luck was more fun than I expected, and the food was great! No candy, but…..coconut cake.

  8. kathy b says:

    Awww an Easter woods walk..how lovely.
    Workend was actually a relief to get away from the Dad drama!
    Easter bunny left many treats in the lounge at work…….
    I feel like a bunny who needs a good salad right now

  9. AlisonH says:

    The Easter shopping bunny bought her sweetie’s favorite Trader Joe’s chocolate pudding that is more or less ganache with egg–not something to indulge in too often, but for Easter…

    And then I forgot it till today.

  10. Mary says:

    If you put big bunny ears on me, then yep, i got a bag of mini-eggs from the E-bunny. DH was the happy recipient of a Cadb. Chocalate Bunny and a pack of peeps (don’t know how he chokes them down).

    DS made it safely in-country…now just keep him safe, please. Other than buying him more supplies to ship over, it was a low key weekend.

  11. Louise says:

    I have to say Channon, I get can’t over how nice your blog feels. (I’m still in the air about such things:)

    Well, it sure sounds like a family style weekend was had by all. Oh how I wish I could see the girls and their antics. I will dream for now however, one day I want a real hug:)

    Glad you had a nice get-away, you deserve it. It was quiet on the home front here which is just the way we liked it:)

    Thanks for sharing…

    P.S. I just have to share this purse I found on Pinterest. I actually like it:)

  12. Kristin says:

    It must be amazing to have a farm in the family!

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I want a farm. I’m glad you had a good Easter!

  14. Amy says:

    Wow – to have a farm, or any piece of land, in the family that long is a truly amazing thing!

    The Easter Bunny (aka, my Mom and Dad), were kind enough to visit me at work and bring me preggo size helpings left-over from dinner, as well as some chocolate! My folks and John take turns feeding me on the holidays that I have to work.

  15. Wow! That’s pretty amazing that it’s been in the family that long.

    The Great Bunny didn’t bring me any candy, but I’m okay with that. My thighs don’t need the encouragement to get any more jiggly. lol

  16. gypsyknits says:

    I’m impressed with the farm still in the family. Awesome!
    Love the pics and I’m glad you had a relaxing Easter :).
    We spent the morning in church, a few hours with sons/families, hit the road to squeeze in a little time for Chemgirl then hit the road for the trip home just in time to spend an hour with Vet girl and hubby :). Busy Easter.

Leave a Reply

