One and DONE

Edited to add: But first, please follow the girls’ lead and offer your sympathies to Sue and her pups.   Another wonderful dog, gone too soon, and it’s only a small comfort that he’s not suffering anymore.

April 2012 002So.   My test drive with the coral bag lasted precisely one day.  It’s hot, it’s heavy, and we aren’t friends.  I mean, she’s a pretty, trendy gal, and I’m glad I met her, but we aren’t going to hang out.  (Holler if you are smitten; maybe we can work something out.)

Pros: 

  • Did I mention she’s hot?  I love looking at this bag.  The red-orange hue (not coral, no matter what the retailer said) is fabulous. 
  • Two slide-in interior pockets
  • One interior side zip pocket

April 2012 004

Cons:

  • She’s no lightweight.  She’s synthetic something, so I’m guessing it’s the thick chain that makes my shoulder hurt. 
  • That chain.  I don’t like it.  Not even visually.
  • The interior lining is 1970s crunchy plastic.  If you weren’t alive then and don’t know what I mean…  I don’t know how else to describe it.  It’s brittle and gives me the impression that it will crack with even light use.
  • The interior is BLACK.  I like to be able to see into a bag.
  • There are NO exterior pockets.  I didn’t know that mattered until yesterday.  I didn’t want to open the whole bag – flip the tassels straight up, pop the magnetic closure, drop the keys in a slip pocket, make sure the magnets catch, flip the “top” back down – just to drop my keys in, nor did I care to stand in the street and repeat the process to GET my keys when it was time to go…

April 2012 003

So, looks aren’t everything.  I’m glad I didn’t have much invested in this bag.  It’s functionally no bigger than trusty green, which is what I returned to this morning, both because I didn’t love the “coral” bag and because I’m wearing spring green and PANK today, so it would have clashed in such a strong fashion even the gal that doesn’t change bags regularly couldn’t deal with it.

That’s my big gripe today.  Dimensions on a bag don’t mean squat.  The little profile silhouette they sometimes offer that gives an idea of how the bag hangs from that particular woman’s shoulder isn’t much help either.   I just got lucky with the green bag, and I’m back to not buying a bag if I can’t check it out in person first.

So far, I’m 0 for 3 this spring.  Good thing I have trusty greenie.

What are you DONE with today?

This entry was posted in Bags.

12 comments on “One and DONE

  1. gmariesews says:

    That’s surely a loaded question now isn’t it? My new bag didn’t even make one test drive before I put it in the box and sent it on it’s way. Seriously – back to the post office on Friday!!

    I’m sorry the bag didn’t work – she was definately purdy. g

  2. AlisonH says:

    I am one more number away from being done with my taxes, and that is a small and unimportant number anyway. (I hate it when you don’t get a statement from someone because the amount is below what the Feds require be reported, so I go crazy looking for something that never came and doesn’t matter and I didn’t know that.)

  3. RAHUSKY says:

    Hmmmm, I’d chew it up in about 3.2 seconds….
    RA

  4. Katherine says:

    You are one day too late because I ordered a tote yesterday. I would have bought that “Talbot Flame” bag from you in a New York minute!! I’m sending you a picture by email of the tote I ordered. It is uninteresting black but so soft and buttery that I can’t wait to pet it! Sorry your bag didn’t work for you. I hope you have better luck with the next one. Yes, there is ALWAYS a next one! LOL!

  5. kathy b says:

    Well I am happy you know what you like and what you don’t like! That’s important.
    Im done with: cold weather. Spoiled as we are this spring, I don’t like it today because it is cold.
    Im done with: the bubbler water fountain we got for Radar…….the plug got hot and made me nervous
    I’m done with : my shawl, except I’m not done yet. I just want to be!

  6. Marjie says:

    It’s a great color, but so big! I have to have pockets on the outside of a purse: one for keys, one for the cell phone. And lots of pockets inside. At least 2 big ones and one little one. I’ve been wanting a new one this spring, but just have not found anything that floats my boat. I’d like one that’s 1″ bigger in each dimension than the one I have, so I can tuck the Kindle or a real book into it when I have to trot off to a medical appointment, for me or one of my dudes. I hate to sit and not read, and their TV shows are so insipid!

  7. Nichole says:

    hmprfh…. sorry to hear the bag didn’t live up to your expectations… but at least you can move along.

  8. I wouldn’t be able to live with that bag, either. Too droopy.

    Sorry to hear about Sue’s loss. 😦

  9. Kathy says:

    Well, that’s too bad. Hopefully you’ll find something more to your liking soon. That’s the problem with internet/catalog shopping. You just never know how the item will be in real life.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I’m done with trolling for freelance jobs…

    I’ve been carrying the same purse for five years. 🙂

  11. Walden121 says:

    Sorry, it didn’t work out . . . on a side note it kind of reminds me of Michael Jackson.

  12. gypsyknits says:

    Sorry you and the orange bag didn’t become friends :/. Nice bag though.

Leave a Reply

