Cool bands

If you’re thinking I’m going to babble about music, you might be disappointed.  If you still expect Chanknits to actually talk about knitting once in a while, you’re in luck!

Sunday, I whipped out two little cotton headbands on our trip to and from the farm.  Start to finish, each one took less than two hours, and that includes weaving in ends, stopping for Krispy Kreme donuts, and other distractions. 

April 2012 013

Project:  Cotton headbands.  I discovered last week that it’s warm enough that I need a good ol’ fashioned sweatband.   However, you might guess that I never did the Jane Fonda/Olivia Newton John band across the forehead, regardless of how effective it is.  I’ve found that a plain cotton headband works well to hold most of my wild locks out of my face and to catch the sweat before it burns my eyes, slides my glasses off my nose, etc.

April 2012 007Pattern:  I was delighted when I found the Cool Cotton Headband pattern.   It’s far narrower than the ear-warming headbands I like for cooler months, and it has a bit of a cabled rib going on.  I will say that I “never” cable without a cable needle, but this little C4F (cable over four stitches and hold those stitches in the front) pattern was no problem at all sans special cable needle, even in a car over country (read: not always smooth and straight) roads.

Yarn:  The green is leftover Classic Elite Premier.  It’s not quite worsted, but it’s very soft and won’t make my sensitive face itch if I do pull the band to the edge of my forehead. 

April 2012 010The raspberry is Lion Brand Cotton-Ease.  It’s not as soft, but it’s not “utility cotton” rough either.  It took roughly 50 yards for each project, so it’s a great way to use up leftovers!

Needles:  Now that Gretchen’s quite the proper adult, I dared to reconnect with my favorite rosewood straights, #6.

Verdict:  I see lots more of these in my future.  Contrary to the notion that horses sweat, men perspire and women glow, I SWEAT and since we walk at least a couple of miles every single day, I need a healthy supply of these buggers.

April 2012 012And yes, a certain wee miss believes that is her new purdy neck accessory.  I had the devil of a time getting it off of her!

Indeed… that is a narrow-eyed glare you see going on.  She’s scheming.  Right after this photo, she made a run for it in *MY* purdy dark PANK headband!

15 comments on “Cool bands

  1. Nancy says:

    Very nice! I love the colors, too.

  2. I love headbands. They look so chic, and they can hide a multitude of sins. 🙂

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  3. Katherine says:

    I recognize that look! That is the “I can out think AND out run you any day of the week” gleam in the eye. She really does look cute in her new neck fancy–ha ha!!

    The headbands are very pretty and will be a big help this summer. I should knit a few for gardening!

  4. gmariesews says:

    I’m hoping you have more of that particular pank cotton ease because obviously you need to make yourself a new one – that one is hers! They are super cute and manage to the do the job and look fashionable at the same time. I love my rosewood straights – they make trying projects (like the recent blanket project) far more enjoyable – don’t they? g

  5. AlisonH says:

    I love it! Mine, no, mine!

  6. Nichole says:

    Very cute! I’m going to have to whip some of these up myself!

  7. Marjie says:

    Nice headbands! Great way to avoid the ’70s ONJ vibe. But you need to convince Gretchen that all pink items are not hers. Good luck with that one.

  8. kn1tty cat says:

    I like ’em and, like GG, you’d have a difficult time getting it offa me too!

  9. Amy says:

    Those are adorable, especially on your model!

  10. kathy b says:

    I love your newest craze. MY HEADbands tend to get too lose…how do I prevent this please?

  11. Walden121 says:

    Nifty! I may have to make me a couple!

  12. gypsyknits says:

    I’m with G on this one. Hope you have a few more yards to make GG a cowl (headband) of her own.

  13. Barbara says:

    Love that idea, Chan. Looks really cute on you, too. Think perhaps you better make one for GG or there’s going to be robbery going on at your house!

  14. StarSpry says:

    These are so cute! And a great use for leftover yarn. You will definitly have to make a PANK one just for Gretchen…she looks adorable with yours 🙂

  15. Love ’em! And see? You did blog about them in short order! lol

Leave a Reply

