No nekked necks?

182441_527163383818_62700009_31009421_8325764_n

Favorite girlfriends photo 2011

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!  I’m going to lead off with the THANKFUL first for a change.  Our internet isn’t working at home so the thankful I had planned has to wait (until I can get the photos uploaded to Flickr!), but it still holds true…  I’m so thankful for my girlfriends.  Last night, I had the privilege of combining a little League business with a spa pedicure followed by Mexican (and margaritas) with two especially dear, local girlfriends.   One of them suggested that all the board meetings should be held at said salon next year, and there actually are enough pedi chairs…

April 2012 011

Praying she can keep her necklace...

Of course, the fur girls have their own post up already, so I’ll get right to the dogs on Thursday part of this post.   Gretchen is most thankful that two of her favorite aunties advocated for her to get her own PANK, knitted neckwear.  That one *IS* mine, but I have plenty of the yarn left over and might make her something with it, one of these days.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it here or not, but necklaces aren’t my favorite accessories.  (And believe it or not, bracelets trump bags and shoes if I have to pick!!)  Anyway, I’ve come to realize that the right accessories really do make the outfit, so I’m trying to step it up and wear more necklaces.  This has also forced me to identify what I like in the way of necklaces.

Banana Republic

Oddly, I seem to like bolder pieces.  (Can someone explain that for me?!  If I am not fond of something around my neck, why is a big, bold, heavier something more to my liking than a barely there chain and small pendant?) 

I love lime & turquoise together, so I’m really interested in this piece.  Yet again, those Bonbon Rose Girls have tempted me…  We do actually have a BR store in podunk, so I might have to make my way over there and see it in person, since I can’t find an image of it on an actual neck, to know how long it is.

What is your can’t do without accessory?  Do you have an accessory challenge?

17 comments on “No nekked necks?

  1. Kristin says:

    Thanks for the shout out lady!

  2. gmariesews says:

    The daily can’t leave home without it and will go back if I forgot accessory? A ring on my left hand. Usually my wedding ring on week days, but I tend to wear my anniversary band on weekends lately.

    I would guess the issue is – a chunky necklace feels substantial and you know it there. Something small tends to float around and feel like something’s crawling on you.

    Of course that beautiful girl should have her own pank accessories! But then the neckwear girl (aka – Queenie) will want something new in purple – do you have the right color yarn? g

  3. Katherine says:

    My signature accessory would be my diamond earrings. Three years ago DH gave me 1CTW earrings (half carat each ear) and that became ME! I have other lovely earrings but never wear them. Then there is my wedding band–our children are amazed that in all the years we have been married the ring has never left my finger. Never. Not once. I guess that’s something of a record.

  4. AlisonH says:

    I have one I want to wear more: Frances Begay, a Navajo woman, made me a pendant with a beautiful piece of green turquoise as requested, and another she calls her “Basket of Blessings” pattern, which my daughter commissioned for me.

    We messaged back and forth a few times as I exclaimed over them. She uses antique equipment, no molds, no machinery, just by hand, and she made me a chain to go with it–I’m forgetting the words for the parts, but, alternating silver balls and silver stretched-out balls, absolutely gorgeous. The necklace altogether is a piece of art, and she only charged me just over a hundred dollars for the green pendant and chain, telling me she likes to make it so many people can wear beautiful things, not just the rich.

    It’s heavy and substantial and I love it. But I don’t wear it as often as I want to. My neck tends to get tired.

    And having said all that and thinking of it, I’m going to go put it on (this time with my daughter’s pendant to match what I’m wearing) and to heck with complaining. It makes me feel beautiful.

  5. kathy b says:

    all of the sudden after years and years without..I have a thing for wearing a watch….I only have ONE>..the AVON watch…I think I need another!

  6. Marjie says:

    I actually prefer delicate chains with tiny pendants. It took a while for me to get used to pearls, but since my dearly beloved bought them for me, durn it, I’m going to wear them. There’s no question that chunky necklaces stand out more, so probably you prefer them because they’re a bolder accent. I’m never without my pearls, wedding ring ensemble, and watch. A cheap Timex suits me fine, because I never take it off. Then I don’t feel badly if I kill it with cleaning solutions, bath water or whatnot. I have a spare in a drawer, because I’ve needed it upon occasion.

  7. Nancy says:

    I don’t wear a lot of jewelry, but I must wear earrings. I have multiple pair of earrings, but seldom change the studs that I love to wear.

  8. Kathy says:

    Earrings! Never go anywhere without them and never actually change them. I have a round-but-flat stud and below that a loop in my right ear. My left ear has three loops in the lobe, a stud up in the cartlidge part.

  9. Nichole says:

    I’m usually lost without my rings… though I do love necklaces as well. That BN piece sure is purrrty… and very spring!

  10. Amy says:

    I’ve never really been an accessory kind of gal. Being a tom-boy for SOOOOO long, I didn’t wear dresses or make-up, let alone jewelry, until I was a senior in high school. The only piece I feel that I have to wear is my wedding band. If I take it off to bake or do something in the kitchen, and forget to put it back on, I feel so naked.

  11. Mr. Puffy says:

    Awww. Those are BOTH great photos! As far as accessories…. hum. I like necklaces and wear them the most frequently. I used to wear earrings every time I left the house but the past few years for some reason I’ve gotten out of the habit. The one accessory I have but never wear is an ankle bracelet.

  12. StarSpry says:

    That is a really pretty necklace! I would also have to try it in person since it looks like it could be heavy. I always have to wear earrings. I feel naked without them 🙂

  13. StarSpry says:

    P.S. I have given you the Liebster Award 🙂

  14. Mary says:

    Very interesting reading the comments. I guess i never thought of my engagement/wedding rings as accessories, but i always wear them. So, too, on my other hand, i wear and never remove a sapphire/diamond ring my mother gave me decades ago. I generally wear earrings every day, usually a silver pair i bought in NM. No necklaces since i have to wear an ugly lanyard w/ID tag 5 days a week. Though i have good pearls and a couole of sapphire pendants. I would consider my preferable accessory is a scarf (which covers up the ugly lanyard. I also wear my ID backwards as a minor rebellion over having to wear the damn thing. I have more scarves than Hermes (but none from there…i wish).

  15. That necklace is pretty awesome. 😀 I’ve been accessorizing more and more as I get older, as well as gravitating towards bolder pieces. My Mom says it’s my Grandmother coming out in me. lol She was *bold*. From her shoes to her personality. Man, I miss her.

  16. I nearly always wear earrings, and second come bracelets, third pins, erm scarves, erm….!!!

  17. gypsyknits says:

    Love those pics ;).
    I can’t do without my tiny hoop earrings. Nothing fancy, just 14 ct hoops that I bought at Kohl’s or some such place. Oh….and of course my wedding band ;).

Leave a Reply

