I don’t speak German…

… but I am grateful that Terrie of Starspry included a translation with her explanation of the Liebster award. 

Liebster is a German word meaning favorite, dearest or beloved. The Liebster Blog Award is awarded by bloggers to other bloggers who have fewer than 200 followers, to help spread the word about their blogs and to help them gain wider recognition.

Here are the rules for the Liebster blog award:

1.  Link back to the person who awarded it to you.  (See above.  Thank you, Terrie!)
2.  Post the award to your blog.

3.  Give the award to 5 bloggers with less than 200 followers.

 

4.  Leave a comment on the 5 blogs to let them know that they have been offered this award.
5.  List 5 random facts that people don’t know about you.

Well.  I’m an open book, so what on earth can I share that you don’t know… and might possibly find entertaining?!

  1. These lists are HARD for me.  While I can write/speak at length on any subject going, ask me about myself and I go mute.
  2. It’s not humility.  I can go on and on about my strengths and weaknesses; I just don’t think I’m remarkably interesting.
  3. I obviously have unreasonable standards for customer service, and yet when it comes up in conversation, my opinions seem mainstream.
  4. I don’t know what color my eyes are.  I think I’ve shared that before, but really…  I don’t.  Sometimes they’re hazel, sometimes they’re green, sometimes they’re blue…
  5. I really don’t speak any other language fluently.  I can read Latin, French and some Spanish, but SPEAKING?!  Mrs. Dent (Junior High) would dispute how well I even manage to speak my native tongue…

    Old Navy

That customer service comment?  That’s for you, local Old Navy.  I really wanted these shoes, but no one was working the cash register, so it would seem.  I carried TWO PAIRS around the store, because the only pair my size didn’t have a tag, and because I almost never go in said store, I wanted to see what I could see.  Then, there was no one at the registers.  Only one light was on, so I stood near there, and paced.  And looked like I wanted to check out.  And paced…  and got cranky and slammed the shoes on the counter, walked almost the width of the store to the door, and no one noticed.

Hrmph.  Still trying to decide whether to order then online or not….

What’s on your weekend agenda?

14 comments on “I don’t speak German…

  1. gmariesews says:

    Oh Dear – I would have been livid with that customer service. I would have waited until someone walked up – and then told them that I was planning on buying the shoes, but they couldn’t be bothered to do their job. And could I please have their name so that when I emailed Old Navy I coould tell them exactly who wasn’t doing their job – and then walked out in a huff! Yea – seriously. and I might even have followed through with the email – depending on whether I was out of steam by the time I got home or not.

    Weekend – too much! and not enough of what I want to do. Doesn’t bode well for my attitude adjustment, does it? g

  2. kn1tty cat says:

    my weekend? now I have to find those shoes and try them on!

  3. StarSpry says:

    I have a hard time making those lists, too! Wow, that really sucks about Old Navy. I can’t believe no one noticed you the whole time! Tomorrow I’m helping with a photo shoot, and Sunday I hope to finally get some stuff done at home that we weren’t able to do last weekend!

  4. AlisonH says:

    I guess they laid off too many people.

  5. Mary says:

    Shopping is a royal PIA. If it isn’t lack of customer service it is its twin, the “check yourself out” line. I will not use them. If the store wants me to check myself out and bag my own crap then PAY ME (are you listening Home Depot???). On a recent visit I found a live body at the Contractor’s Only line which I promptly entered. I told the checker that I wasn’t adding to unemployment by supporting this trend just to make some “suits” richer and to please let the store know my thoughts. My husband, on a separate visit to HD left a cart of $400+ stuff and walked out in disgust because there was no one to check out customers, only self-service was open, with long lines because the machines kept screwing up and only a couple of store employees were available to figure out the problems. Can you tell I/we have issues with this, too?

  6. Karen says:

    Add Belk to that list. I went there on my lunch break to quickly pick up a pair of PANK Sparkle flip flops for you know who. 10 minutes to the Mall, 5 minutes to get in the store and find the shoes and 23 minutes waiting in line to pay for them. If it weren’t an added item for ther birthday they would have stayed in the store. There is a good reason that I shop online and on QVC. Store shopping is a pain!!!!
    The weekend…Saturday-9:00 pedicure and nails, noon-baby shower and luncheon in Ivy, 5:30 birthday cookout and party for Amanda in Farmville.. Sunday-recover. Hope you have a good one….

  7. Katherine says:

    The east part is sharing such a fun award. It is harder to tell five things about myself that people don’t know. Thanks Chan!! This is a great idea for boosting blog followers.

    I love the shoes! Go after them online (says the master online shopper! Haha).

  8. Marjie says:

    You’re speaking my lack of customer service language. I basically never go shopping other than on line these days, unless it’s a special item that I must fondle before I buy it. And I’m with Mary on the self serve lines. My kids kinda like them, but I think that must be an age thing. Sorta like they love texting and smart phones, and I just want my dumb phone. I only need to TALK, thank you.

    Book sale this weekend, picking up 2 sewing machines left for repair, and my little guy has a pizza party on Saturday night. Me? I’m going to sew. 2 tops minimum. They’re already cut out, and have been languishing for 2 weeks. I feel like a slacker.

  9. kathy b says:

    Thank you so much Channon for the awesome award. You are a doll. It means the world to me.

    I will find time to do the same and nominate you for one!

  10. Aww…thanks! 😀

    As for customer service, I’m right there with you, hon. In fact, when I took the Eldest to Wal-Mart today to have his prescriptions filled, I was told it would be 30 minutes till they were ready. 30 minutes goes by and I get in the *very* long line to pick them up…15 minutes later I finally get to the front of the line and I’m told they’re not ready yet. Okay…how much longer? Not an unreasonable question and very easy to check on how many people are in front of mine. “I don’t know. Just wait a little longer.” Grrrr…. It was another 30 minutes before they were ready and they made me get *back* in the line to get them, even though I’d been standing there the whole time. To make matters worse, we realized when we got home that they left out two of the three bottles of antibiotics, so now I have to go back tomorrow.

  11. Louise says:

    Congrats on the Award, Channon! I absolutely adore how you covered all the bases, such finesse’.

    Too bad about the lack of consideration you “stumbled” upon at Old Navy. I’m not much of an Old Navy girl myself although I did find a pair of jeans there once when I was shopping with my daughter. I say if you really want the shoes to go ahead and order them online and, explain why to somebody! (anybody who will listen, if possible:)

    The weekend? Playing in the tub!

  12. Barbara says:

    Fun post, Chan. I’d never heard of this award. I’m a little wary of those “tell us about yourself” things, but you did a good job of not getting too personal. 🙂
    I am embarrassed to say I speak a tad of French, but nothing else. Latin I had to take to get into boarding school, but I barely remember any of that.

  13. If you walked out of the store with the shoes,you would have had lots of help then!!! I hate it when you really want something and it just doesn’t happen, almost ruins the desire to have it for me!

  14. Blond Duck says:

    Why give them money if they wouldn’t give you help?

Leave a Reply

