Tiers of Lace

April 2012 007

This post has been a really long time coming.  Susan gifted me this beauty last fall, but I had to wait for Santa to bring me a tripod, and then I had to have time, a decent hair day…  Hem.

April 2012 004When I sent Susan the photos, the first thing she noticed was that the fur girls both chose to show her their … not best sides.  Ooopsie.

I have a hard time “styling” this skirt.  It has a wide elastic waistband, but I can’t stand to cover an inch of the fabulous lace, so I always tuck my  tops in and can’t bring myself to add a belt of any sort. 

These photos were taken about 9 hours into the wearing of said skirt.  It holds up remarkably well.  No stretching, no wrinkling…  I believe it is a linen or linen blend yarn.  I even wore the same outfit (different shoes of course) that evening for a group pedicure meeting.  (What?!  You don’t have meetings in the spa and then go grab Mexican and margaritas?)

April 2012 008

Can you see the layers and lace?  The top photo is intentionally a little washed out so you can see each tier’s pattern.  I’m hoping that on your monitor, the above photo isn’t too dark…

Thanks, Susan for an INCREDIBLE gift.  I love it.  My friends love it, and are amazed not only that it is handmade, but that someone would part with such a fabulous creation. 

How would you wear it?  I’ve also worn it with a dark top and black boots, but you’ll have to take my word for it.

21 comments on “Tiers of Lace

  1. gmariesews says:

    I don’t know how I’d wear it. How was it styled in the pattern? Please don’t tell me that Sus made it up! I would start there. I would probably wear it with a twin set with a short tee that is untucked.

    It’s absolutely amazing and I’m in the “I can’t believe she gifted it camp too!” g

  2. So pretty!! What a great gift!

  3. susancyr says:

    It looks fabulous on Chan!!! Susan has hips and thighs and it just brought too much attention to an area that doesn’t need it. I can’t find the pattern, so can’t answer the question of what they wore with it!!!!

  4. Mary says:

    Looks good on you. On me…well, let’s just say I have enough ‘layers’ of my own (pre-clothing) that I wouldn’t be able to do it justice regardless of what I wore with it. Very nice gift.

  5. AlisonH says:

    Ho-ly COW. WOW. That’s absolutely fabulous, and you look absolutely fabulous in it. WOW and what a gift!!!

  6. kathy b says:

    I might have to just frame that skirt..it is a masterpiece. You wear it so very well my friend. Youlook marvelous

  7. Katherine says:

    Holy Toledo that is a beautiful skirt!! So pretty I would be afraid to wear it for fear of spilling something on it. I love spa, Mexican, margaritas meetings, but I always think we could have skipped the spa and Mexican and gone right to the margaritas!

    As for the fur-girls, I don’t care what anyone says those are two fo the cutest bums in the world!!

  8. Amy says:

    What a wonderful gift! The skirt looks lovely on you.

  9. needles54 says:

    love it

  10. Kathy says:

    Amazing skirt! Great gift!

  11. Nichole says:

    I saw those pictures come up on Flickr and I was wondering why all the headless shots… but didn’t catch on that it was a handknit skirt…oops! STUNNING…. beautiful!

  12. Carol says:

    I love the skirt! It’s so pretty. You look very nice in it. I tend to where a lot of slacks these days but I have gotten my self a couple of skirts and a pair of heels to wear when I go out. Skirts are so much better than pants I think

  13. Sue says:

    That’s lovely. I’m so attracted to ruffles and I’m no longer able to wear them. Now I know where to send my ruffled projects.

  14. Marjie says:

    I’d wear it just as you did. I agree that this skirt needs a tucked in top. I would try it with a nice bright turquoise top, too. It’s amazing what colors work well with brown, isn’t it?

    Of course, I’m just another person in the list to say that your new skirt looks great on you. And your friends are cute regardless of which end they’re pointing at the camera. Just sayin’.

  15. Awesome gift, and you wear it well!

  16. Barbara says:

    Wow. That was really nice of Susan! It’s a beauty. I love looking at the different design of each layer. Really pretty, Chan!

  17. Blond Duck says:

    I would twirl in it. 🙂

  18. StarSpry says:

    What a beautiful skirt! Such a great gift and it looks wonderful on you! The girls look cute, even if they’re showing a different side 🙂

  19. Kari says:

    I really like it! I think its cute, that color is hard for me to wear though. I love how the girls booties are in the photo 🙂 they are trying to steal your spotlight!

  20. That is a most awesome skirt! Can’t believe the knitter parted with it, but glad it found a good home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

