Filed in the Circular File

(Circular file – the trash can.  Get it?)

Last night, I wore a new pair of shoes for the third time.   They just weren’t comfortable, and it wasn’t something “breaking in” would fix.  Evidently, I fussed at least once too often, because when we walked in the back door, the Knight said, “Take off your shoes!” so I kicked them off in the kitchen.  Imagine my surprise when he swooped them up and filed them … in the kitchen version of the circular file.

I can’t find them online ANYWHERE, despite the fact that I just bought them last month, albeit on sale.  It’s a brand I know and trust, so I was shocked that they weren’t comfortable at all…  So aside from still being shocked that the Knight tossed my shoes (I would have thrifted them, but trust me… no one wants them now), I still need a go-to pair of sandals for the warm weather that will come back soon. 

Right heel/base, wrong "top"

My beloved Merrells died.  I can’t find them either, and I know I blogged them when I purchased them while visiting with Ruth and her husband when last they were in DC.  They still LOOK okay, but they aren’t comfortable anymore.  I’m not terribly hard on shoes; the Knight has a little trouble with me retiring running shoes that aren’t blown out on the side or separating somewhere. 

What I want is those Merrells all over again.  A nice bit of heel, a bronze-brown leather, slip-in style that doesn’t weigh much but offers good support.   Something I can trot in if I need to catch someone as they are leaving, but something that looks good with jean capris or a simple dress… 

Anyone have any suggestions?  I love Clarks, don’t own and Soffts yet, but I haven’t seen anything “just right”…

And while I’m talking shoes, do any of you other fairly small-footed gals wear youth sizes ever?  I’d forgotten that trick, but the new running shoes the Knight bought me are youth sized, and while I’ve only worn them once, they fit well.  I seem to recall (from when I used to exercise this option regularly) that the youth shoes run a little wider, and don’t work at all for anything other than athletic shoes…

This entry was posted in shoes.

12 comments on “Filed in the Circular File

  1. SusanB-knits says:

    I don’t know. I’m having trouble finding just the right shoe for the summer too. I bought two new pairs of Nike flip flops but I can’t wear them to work, lol. Good luck on your hunt.

  2. Kathy says:

    I’m laughing at the image of the Knight throwing away your shoes, but they must have made you look really uncomfortable for him to do that. I’ve bought a couple pairs of Clarks this spring that I really like. Isn’t it frustrating when you know exactly what you want but it doesn’t seem to exist?

  3. susancyr says:

    You know my shoe answer is always, DANSKO!! 😉 I did order the scrolly top pair, they are on their way!!!

  4. Sue says:

    Boy, I hate when a comfy old pair of shoes wears out. It seems to take forever to break a new pair in. Currently I’m wearing the ugliest pair of shoes I’ve ever owned, but they’re the only ones that don’t hurt my foot.

  5. Anita says:

    Ha ha! That sounds like something Kevin would do. 🙂
    I have a pair of youth sized crocs. I thought about trying youth Rainbow flip flops this weekend cause they are so much cheaper than the adult version.

  6. Katherine says:

    It would be too funny if I asked a sales clerk about youth sizes for my 10AAA but my 4’11” mom used to wear kids sizes all the time on her teeny little feet. Just my luck that I got my feet from my 6’5″ dad.

    The last pair of super sandals I bought came from a Bass Pro Shop. Best sandals ever!! I need to go back.

  7. Nancy says:

    Sorry I can’t help since I wear a size 10 or 11 shoe. Sometimes, I think the boxes would fit better than some of the shoes I’ve auditioned in the store.

  8. Marjie says:

    Shannon wears a size 5, and sometimes buys children’s shoes. Other times she’ll buy a 6, and hope they stay on her feet.

  9. gmariesews says:

    Hmm – I’ve seen some really cute danskos at 6pm (I think, might have been zappos) that were along the lines of merrils or tevas. They look cute and comfy. I have a pair or two so Sofft – they are comfortable.

    g — ps – no email notice again today 😦

  10. Mary says:

    Wish I could help, but comfortable shoes ellude me. I keep wearing the same old Merrell clogs, but then my daily look is pretty repetitive…all black, all the time. Not a lot of diversity in my clothing apparel or shoes. I do have a pair of Ecco sandals which are decent, if not particularly stylish. Good luck.

  11. Nichole says:

    I was just about to say, have you tried Clarks…. those are my go to, also I’ve had good luck with Aerosoles…

  12. kathy b says:

    okay prepare to be jealous…Im showing some shoes tomorrow on my post! for yOU!

Leave a Reply

