The Timekeeper

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!   Today seems to be a rather Gretchen-centric Thorsday.  Ah well, as our local vet tells Queen Sissy, “It’s not ALWAYS ALL about YOU…”  Hem.  However, I do have a question for hound or other vocal dog owners over on the girls’ blog, so DIVA is getting some time after all… of course. 

April 2012 005I don’t know where my dogs – especially Sissy – get the idea the world revolves around them.  Do you?   (Yes, that’s a blooper from my efforts last week to get photos of that skirt.   Sometimes you just have to stop and pet the dogs, right?)

Anyway, today’s post is about my life without an alarm clock.  I know dogs have pretty good internal clocks, but I’ve never had a dog quite like Lady Gretchen Greer.  Some of you will scoff, some just won’t believe me at all, but I haven’t set an alarm clock in a couple of years now, and while the Knight still does, when he needs to be up earlier, I insist upon telling Gretch what time we need to wake Dadaw.  He has slept through the alarm, but I can’t sleep through the wee one’s face to face stare, complete with a whimper-whine if needed.

photo.JPG

The face of my alarm clock

Yes, I’m really serious.  That little dog NEVER fails me.  She always awakens me within a couple – yes, TWO – minutes of the time I ask her to get me/us up.   Even the whole time change thing doesn’t stump her; she’ll be off the first morning, might let me actually sleep until the alarm goes off (roughly 30 minutes later than we normally rise – we meaning me and the dogs) the next day, but after that, she’s back on her own schedule.

Thankful?  I’m thankful that I don’t have to get jolted awake by a buzzer or radio or whatever other alarm clocks do.  I like that sweet little face willing me to open my eyes! 

What are you thankful for today?

18 comments on “The Timekeeper

  1. gmariesews says:

    Dudley could tell time like nobody’s business. Like Gretchen he was off the first day after the time change, but always right back. The rest, well they are cluless! That’s a very, very cute alarm clock you’ve got. Enjoy.

    Thankfuls – hmmmm, I’ll have to think about it. g

  2. Nancy says:

    What a sweet post. Does Gretchen nudge you with her cool nose to wake you?

    I don’t use an alarm clock anymore either (unless I have a morning appointment) because I was a slave to it for too many years. Now, I sleep until I wake up. It is heavenly!

  3. Katherine says:

    That alarm clock thing is amazing!! I have to try that with Macy, but I don’t believe it will work because she is always snoring when I wake up. She does, however, know what day it is. She tells me when she wakes up that the cleaning people are coming or the lawn mowers. She know garbage day and will sit by the door the night before, waiting to “help” take the garbage out to the street.

    I agree, it is always a good idea to stop and pet the dogs no matter what you are doing!

  4. Sue says:

    I have alarms and backups. Still if it’s an early appointment and important, I’ll set an alarm. I almost never sleep till it goes off. They’re uncanny how they know the time.

  5. Marjie says:

    I have never had an alarm clock dog. I’m a very light sleeper, so I keep the drapes in my bedroom closed, and bought darkening liners for the so the light won’t wake me. If we lose power in the evening, I turn on my bedside lamp so when the power comes back on, the light wakes me and I can reset the alarm clock. and when I know I have something urgent to do, I always wake up a couple of times during the night, and usually a minute or 2 before the alarm goes off. I’m glad Gretchen makes arising less unpleasant for you!

  6. needles54 says:

    That somehow I managed to stay strong and avoid a very tempting yarn sale until the yarn I wanted was sold out! That is what I am thankful for

    I am that kind of alarm clock, I always wake up when we need us too without setting an alarm.

  7. Nichole says:

    Those face to face stares sure do get you up! Just heard from Izzy’s Dad that he’s becoming a morning person thanks to little Izzy………. ha ha ha

  8. Sasha has a GO to bed alarm built into her, but not the get-up one! Thankful for warm sunshine today.

  9. kathy b says:

    An adorable and amazing post.
    Hucky would wait for me to open my eyes, by just staring at me.
    Enjoy that face every morning!!!!!

  10. Amy says:

    Today (well,yesterday now, ) I was so thankful for my Mom. Not only was she patient with me as I tried to sew while having multiple brain farts, so let me vent. She’s been so kind and loving during my pregnancy and I know that I couldn’t do this without her.

  11. Mary says:

    No dog or any other alarms for me as I am a self-waker (how many people do you know that can wake themselves up at 3 something in the morning?). Jake and Abby do wake up DH several hours later, however, much to his displeasure…esp on weekends when he wants to sleep in. Jake catdog’s him (rubbing himself up and down DH…or his newest trick, placing himself in just the right position to swish his tail repeatedly in DH’s face).

    On a much, much more sobering note, I am thankful DS is safe today. We lost four guys last night over there. Not from his squadron, but we got an email from him asking for prayers for them and the families.

  12. Barbara says:

    What a loving alarm clock, Chan. I’ve been rising at the same time for so many years, it’s not a problem. (Although I did have to set it to take Tracy to the airport for a 7 AM flight!)

  13. Louise says:

    I haven’t used an alarm clock in years either. I wouldn’t mind one bit though if Gretchen wanted to nudge me a bit earlier. How amazing is that! Way cool, Channon & Gretchen!

  14. susancyr says:

    Cory is a very accurate alram clock. His problem is he doesn’t know weekday from weekend!!! And I can’t find the switch to turn him off!! But who can object to being awakened by puppy kisses!!!! 😉 Shame at 2 years old, his puppy breath is gone!!!

  15. Mr. Puffy says:

    Aww. That’s sweet. We don’t have a “set” time that we arise in the morning – anywhere between 6:30-7:30. But if Simcha does not hear sounds of stirring by say 7:15 he’ll let out a little yip or two just to get us going. But he’s generally very quiet in the mornings until we are up, which is very nice as I get to awake when my body chooses too!

  16. That’s pretty awesome. I sleep through alarms and normally have to be rolled out of the bed. lol Thank goodness I married a morning person, huh? Btw, DIVA still stole the show with her dramatic yawn in the background. lol

  17. Blond Duck says:

    If I don’t get up fast enough for Bitty, she sits on my chest and barks!

Leave a Reply

