Global Community Impact

I feel as though it’s been a month since I’ve blogged.   Last Thursday, I jetted ‘cross country to San Fran for the AJLI Annual Conference.  It was my favorite conference to date.   Each and every speaker was motivating and inspiring, and I’m all energized and chomping at the bit, even through my jet lag.

I was blown away when I snagged my hospitality bag from the table.  I certainly wasn’t expecting a copy of San Francisco Flavors.  

Why yes, that’s an Amazon link.  Amazon and the other “big box” bookstore online and likely near you, are very, VERY good to Junior Leagues and their cookbooks.  If you don’t know JL cookbooks, then … you should.  They’re first-rate, and the proceeds support the League on the cover’s local programs and the mission all Leagues share – to provide trained volunteers, to develop the potential of women, and to improve their communities.  (Paraphrased thanks to the phenomenal Carol Scott’s PDI hint!)

The two speakers that really moved me were Jennifer Siebel Newsom, the woman behind Miss Representation and the ever-inspiring Ann Milling, the force behind Women of the Storm.  I have had the distinct privilege of hearing Ann speak twice now, and if she can’t convince you that one woman can change the world… no one can.   Ann is now the newest Mary Harriman Award winner, which (in my opinion) is the crowned jewel of the AJLI awards given annually.

DSC02058

She can be ANYTHING she wants to be!

I confess here that I wasn’t excited about our private screening of Miss Representation.  I remember the intital social media campaign, but like some of you who might have burned your bras in the 1960s, I’ve done my time in the trenches, and I am guilty of resting on my laurels.  Yes, the fire service accepts women now, almost without any bias or overt discrimination.  Yay for me, and all of us on the front lines who made that possible, but again… that was one battle.  The war isn’t over.

Let me know if you’ve watched Miss Representation, taken the pledge, etc.  Let me know too if you think it’s militant feminism and you want no parts of it; I’ll put you in touch with Jennifer and her staff. 

Has the smell of fresh-popped popcorn ever led you to a thought-provoking film?

12 comments on “Global Community Impact

  1. gmariesews says:

    I have one JL cookbook and I love to look at it. I don’t often use it however, because I lean toward my weight watchers books. Your conference sounds lovely, I’m glad you had a nice time and learned stuff. g

  2. kathy b says:

    Junior League cookbooks rock!!! Do they have an on line cookbook????

    Of course the smell of popcorn at the theaters has lured me before!!! But of course

  3. Nancy says:

    It is great to hear true motivational speakers at conferences. Glad you had the opportunity twice.

  4. Marjie says:

    I saw a book titled something to the effect of The Junior League Murders at the used book sale last weekend, and almost bought it for you. Glad you had a safe and happy trip.

  5. Katherine says:

    Someone gave me a Junior League cookbook a long time ago. It is frayed from use!

    I’ve never burned a bra or signed a pledge but I always told our daughters that they could be anything they wanted to be, just as my Mom and Dad told me. They took me at my word and became amazing women!!

  6. km says:

    Maybe I’m a quitter. In college, I fought. I was in a major where it was 20% female, and they assumed that many of us would end up working in interiors instead of true architecture. I HATED being called “sweetie” or “babe” on a job site. I hated being the 24 year old blonde that told the 43 year old male pig what to do on projects. I did move to a better office, but then I just quit. I was done fighting. I should probably look into things again…as I’m raising a daughter.

    I can’t believe you were in MY state! I do hope you saw more of SF than the hotel and the airport!

  7. StarSpry says:

    I’m glad it was such a wonderful conference! I haven’t watched Miss Representation, but I’ll have to check it out.

  8. Nichole says:

    Glad you had a great trip!

  9. Blond Duck says:

    Love JL cookbooks!

  10. AlisonH says:

    Glad you had a great time!

  11. Sounds like you had a nice trip. Did you ever need that trench coat?

  12. monnibo says:

    You were in SanFran?! I feel so out of the loop…. I need to be better at reading blogs. Hope you had fun on the West Coast. Next time you should pop up to Canada and visit me!!

    I saw MissRep at the Vancouver International Film Festival last October and I really appreciated the message. There are a lot of criticisms about it, but I think it is a step in the right direction to get people (young girls especially) to question the media they see and what is portrayed.

Leave a Reply

