A word from our sponsors…

I realize most of you don’t give a hoot about my over-zealous passion for all things Junior League, but stick with me through this post, and MAYBE I’ll be able to move on.  (Plus, tomorrow’s Thursday, which means I have a prescribed program…)

You know you’re in the right place when even the corporate sponsorships secured by the non-profit’s staff make you happy.  Such is the case with most of AJLI’s corporate sponsors, so I’d like to introduce them to you.

In order of their appearance on the AJLI website:

Lilly P Marlisa

My beloved Lilly Pulitzer.   Okay, this is where I confess that I didn’t do much Lilly until they became affiliated with the JL several years ago.  The rest is history.  Add in that our local Lilly boutique really does love their League, and I honestly feel guilty shopping anywhere else.  THAT my friends, is how my marketing friends dream it will work!

(Although I think I’d like Marlisa in the Bee in Your Bonnet pattern… maybe?    That yellow/pink/blue would look cute with my 3/4 sleeved denim jacket, because those who know me well know I’m not going to bare my shoulders!)

I don’t really know Lierac, but given that they gave each conference attendee three full-sized products to try, they’re getting a mention.  When/if I try them, I’ll report back.  One of the presidents I affectionately call the rocket scientist supermodel likes their products, so they must be first-rate.  (And I’m not being snarky…  her job is rocket scientist-like, and she totally COULD be a supermodel.)

Skipping light years ahead, I’m also a fan of Favorite Recipes Press, aka: FRP.  Back several years ago, our League made the decision not to attempt the rigorous process of producing a legendary Junior League cookbook.  In the two years of research it took to get to that point, I had the privilege to work with FRP and to get to know their staff and their program.  A friend and I are “graduates” of their Cookbook University, and I still dream of a JLC cookbook. 

No disrespect to the more recent winners, but I have to share the Virginia League that won the 2010 FRP Cookbook award, The Hampton Roads’ My Mama Made That.  (Please consider paying a bit more and ordering directly from JLHR; ALL of the proceeds go to them that way.)

Isn’t the cover alone reason to own it?!   This is where I have to confess that I don’t own this one… yet.  I might have accidentally almost ordered it.  However,  I can vouch for Virginia Hospitality, which is a regularly used cornerstone of my JL cookbook collection.  (And no, I won’t tell you how many I own.  I will give you a hint…  I seem to accidentally purchase a couple at every conference I attend, and then friends usually give me at least one or two more throughout any given year, and I’m on FRP’s email list and…)

Last but not least on my list is Kashi.   They put their money where their mouth is, and that allows Leagues to make strides to end hunger and educate the children in their communities on healthy living.   I am hopeful that next year this time, I will be sitting on a big secret, and come mid-May, I’ll be able to share photos of the JLC receiving a grant/award for our Kids in the Kitchen projects. 

As an aside, there are generally a host of Kashi products both in my pantry at home and stashed in my office at work.  Most taste wonderful and are pretty good for you, as processed, pre-packaged foods go. 

A special thanks to those of you who actually read this post.  I don’t take for granted that my need to spout off about what matters to me matters to others!

12 comments on “A word from our sponsors…

  1. gmariesews says:

    HMMM – and here I thought you were an unsponsored blog! Did I send you a Seattle JL Cookbook? I know the one I have was a gift from my sister so it’s a NC version. I love it! They are beautifully put together. And I do love the cover of that one. I might have to ‘accidentally’ order it. You know when I’m not spending hundreds to keep the dogs fed.

    The Lily P dress is fab and if I had a local shop I would buy from them, but they are an East Coast establishment, so I lose again…..

    g

  2. Nichole says:

    That’s quite a nice list of corporate sponsors! :)

  3. Sue says:

    Look like good sponsors. Kudos to whoever is recruiting them. Sounds like the trip was fun and informative.

  4. I pinned the cookbook telling my dear children it would be great for mother’s day—this mama is broke but if $$$ appear it will be on my wishlist!

  5. needles54 says:

    it keeps logging me in to the wrong email address and I never catch it until after I hit post!

  6. kathy b says:

    ahem

    I know someone who is driving to Virginia today.. do you need a shopper for that book?

  7. Marjie says:

    I like Lilly for inspiration. I just can’t justify their prices. Like my kids, just call me “El Cheapo!” Hope you enjoy your free Lierac products.

  8. Mary says:

    One out of four ain’t bad…which is to say that I just finished eating my Kashi Cherry Dark Chocolate Granola Bar at my desk (breakfast). And if I ever decide to cook again, I will be sure to buy the Hampton Roads cookbook, after all I was born in Hampton! And if I actually wore dresses I might consider LP…

  9. Louise says:

    Junior League Cookbooks are my very best favorite! I have quite a few. I may even have one or two from Virginia but I must check. A girl can never have enough cookbooks you know.

    Sorry Channon, not a big fan of Kashi though:)

    Thanks for sharing…

  10. StarSpry says:

    That is such an adorable cover for My Mama Made That! It is great that even the sponsors are a positive part of the organization :) I haven’t heard of Lierac; I’ll have to check them out.

  11. I love the Kashi products. The cookbook wouldn’t do me much good, though. /chuckle/

Leave a Reply

