I Remember You

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and more!

I have a question for the city dwelling dogs, or for any lucky dog who has gotten to go to town before on the girls’ blog.   One thing I loved about San Fran was seeing all the dogs, everywhere we went!

DSC00593Because of our crazy weather – winter one day, summer the next, with doses of seasonal spring sprinkled here and there – my roses are blooming already.   Specifically, Mugsy’s memorial roses are going nuts.   What a sweet boy.  Even from the other side of the bridge, he sends me flowers, and lots of them!!

I’m a bit of a sap about my departed pets, particularly the boy dogs.  I still talk to them all the time, have their photos as my wallpaper and screensaver on my phone, etc.  

DSCN2457

Dogs & Dadaw OBX 2009

I’m so thankful for the dogs that have enriched my life, but I’m also thankful for my very supportive husband, family and friends.  Not only does the Knight hold down the fort when I travel, but my nephew ran duty crew for him at the firehouse so our spoiled brats   precious dogs wouldn’t have to spend the night alone.

What are you thankful for today?

13 comments on “I Remember You

  1. gmariesews says:

    Those are some pretty good thankfuls you’ve got going.

    I’m thankful that well I tell my hubby about all the things I want to do this weekend he is encouraging and helps me figure it out. g

  2. AlisonH says:

    You have a wonderful family! I do love that rose; it’s gorgeous. Mine are blooming but we don’t have quite that depth of red here.

  3. kathy b says:

    Thankful for a 25% OFF COUPON at Eddie Bauer outlet….birthday shopping for Fireman.
    I talk to Huck all the time…still

  4. Katherine says:

    Buttons and I have long conversations and Macy seems to understand (and join in) the communication. I have seen people react, sometimes with shock, to my conversations with Macy and Max. Imagine how they would react to seeing me talk to my long-passed fur-baby.

    The pups usually travel with us but I understand The Knight’s maneuvers to be home with the girls! We never leave our babies alone overnight. I have been known to stay behind or bring in a sitter who knows Macy and Max. Even then I worry myself sick over them and call all during the day and night to check on them. Nope, I don’t think it’s sappy! I think you are a devoted Mom!

  5. Marjie says:

    That’s a beautiful rose. A great reminder of a family member who’s gone but never forgotten.

  6. Amy says:

    What a beautiful rose, and a sweet way to remember a loyal fur friend!

  7. StarSpry says:

    That’s a gorgeous rose! What a beautiful reminder of Mugsy and the other dogs who’ve gone over the rainbow bridge.

  8. Sue says:

    It was great when Sue lived next door. She watched our pets when we went anywhere and we watched hers. I think the dogs thought we were one big family. They were happy at either place.

  9. I’ve been able to meet many dogs in all the cities we’ve travelled to….Thankful for cooler weather today. I was sooo not ready for 90 three days last week!

  10. Blond Duck says:

    Today, I’m thankful for the freedom to choose my own work.

  11. Mom says:

    I’m thankful for memories – Stinger, Mopsy and Soot!!

  12. Barbara says:

    (Good grief, it’s nearly the weekend again with your Thankful post.)
    I think we’re all saps where our departed pets are concerned. They gave us so much love. How could we ever forget?

  13. Nichole says:

    Beautiful rose… wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

