Short Maxi

TGIF!!!  I am so, so happy it’s Friday.  I have a few things to do this weekend, but mostly I can take some really long walks with the fur girls.

Lilly P Treena in Shorely Blue Big Garden By The Sea

I tried to find a maxi dress last year, but I didn’t really get brave enough to even try one on until late summer, and it didn’t make sense to buy one then.  However, I’m truly a little obsessed with them already, and I just stumbled across a Lilly P one that I think I’ll actually go try on.

Here’s the problem…  I’m petite, mostly.  I’m on the taller side of petite at 5’3″, but almost all of my dresses and skirts are petites, or they require alterations.  While I don’t mind having a dress altered, I do try to avoid styles that accentuate my lack of height, and the experts generally agree that includes maxis.

However…  this one in particular seems simple enough that SURELY, it can’t pose any real problems (that lobbing a couple of inches off the bottom won’t cure), can it?

Dress Barn petite maxi

I have found a couple of petite maxis, but nothing that has motivated me to even consider going to try it on.  So many of them are strapless, and I just don’t do strapless.  I’m tempted on this one though…  can’t you just see it with a cropped jean jacket, vest… white cropped cardi?  Or even a denim shirt, knotted at the waist, sleeves rolled up?

So, what do you think?  Are maxis only for women 5’5″ or taller?

What about weekend plans?  Anything exciting?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

15 comments on “Short Maxi

  1. Katherine says:

    I love maxis on any one. I think you can wear a maxi if you shorten it to the ankle so your cute little sandals can be seen. No floor sweeping although I see those even on tall women and think, “Oh no, no, no.” AND I really like the Dress Barn strapless maxi!! You could wear a short or 3/4 length sleeve cardi over it.

    I just ordered a black and white maxi from Travel Smith and can’t wait to wear it.

  2. Nichole says:

    As a 5′ 2″ someone who pretty much avoids dresses, I have no idea… but I do love the look of those!

  3. sue says:

    Hell no!! I’m 5′ 4″ and I’ve always loved the feel of maxis. The red one would be wonderful with a denim jacket. Go for it.

  4. gmariesews says:

    I love that dress barn dress! I think the band down the center front of the skirt adds length. You could style that strapless dress so many different ways and nobody would know your bra was showing! I think the dress needs to be floor length and to give you more height you could wear it with some adorable wedges – not puddling the floor – but not ankle length either. The trouble with ankle length is it’s fine with flats, but if you add a heel, it just looks too short. But – please do pull the trigger.

    I’m home briefly – staples came out. Beau took me on an adventure. I’m having a healthy snack (canaloupe and cottage cheese) and then I have time to take Lucy for a quick walk before yarning 🙂 g

  5. Marjie says:

    I’m not so sure we shorter folk can wear maxis as well as tall girls. Maybe if it’s pretty straight it won’t make you look too short. I claim 5’4″, although I’m “somewhat under”. That’s OK; Shannon is 5’4″, and likes to claim 5’5″ or even 5’6″, depending upon her mood. It doesn’t work that well when she’s with her 5’7″ and 5’8″ sisters!

  6. Karen says:

    I love the idea of the maxi BUT, being 5’2 and not as skinny as you, I think I would look like an Om pa loom pa! Lol

  7. kathy b says:

    You are my fashionista you know that don’t you? IM 5.2 and lots has to be altered. SO I don’t buy! IM such a horrible buyer. I can see the strapless with the jean jacket for certain!
    you are my fashionista, lady!

  8. Loving the red dress for you…as a “tall” person, I had no idea that certain lengths were reserved for specific heights…My theory is; you like it, wear it!

  9. Mary says:

    Go for it. Try the style from DB before you splurge on the LP, that way you can decide whether or not you like the maxi on you at less cost. As I am shrinking (height, not width), I probably won’t go for the style. Not loving the nearby golden years yet.

  10. Bonnie says:

    You absolutely can wear a maxi! I’m somewhere between 5’3″ and 5’4″ and wear maxis. The orange one is cute but it appears to have a border at the bottom and thus, could not be easiliy hemmed. The Lily one would be fine.

  11. AlisonH says:

    Maxis are for anyone who wants to wear one. Go for it!

  12. Kari says:

    I say go for it!!

  13. I always look like a whale in maxi dresses. I love the style and the prints, though.

  14. gypsyknits says:

    I’m 5′ 7″ and avoid ALL dresses so wouldn’t know.
    Take me on one of those walks with the girls, would ya?? 🙂

  15. Barbara says:

    That’s a cute maxi Lili P.
    I had to smile, as I found two linen skirts I loved, both maxi. I mentioned to the sales woman that I adored the way they fit but I wanted them skirt length. She laughed and said she’d sold three and every single person was going to have them hacked off. When I took them in for alterations, they hated wasting so much fabric and as they were black and ivory, not too much you could do with the leftovers.

Leave a Reply

