Oh Buddha!

April 2012 005Remember the Big Buddha I fell for and then couldn’t find again?  Well, I did find it again, and it has come to live in the woods.  It’s a little darker than the one I saw in first, but I like that; it’s almost a wine-red, so it seems to go with more colors than the true red… 

The first picture is very accurate color-wise on my monitors, both at work and at home.  It’s a fabulous soft, quilted, faux patent exterior, with a rather typical interior fabric.

April 2012 004That interior is perhaps the reason I’m smitten.  It’s tall enough for a standard magazine to stand up in there, but it’s structured enough to hold its shape when it only has a sunglasses case and a large wallet within.  It has the traditional inside side zip pocket, and the other side has two slip pockets up high enough that my trusty iPhone is always within reach.

April 2012 002It even has feet on the bottom, and it came with a matching cross-body strap, but I’ve already managed to put that out of sight, out of mind.  Hem.  Luckily, I don’t have another conference that requires air travel ’til fall.  Maybe I’ll find it by then.

We’ll see how it holds up.  The Knight found it on eBay and paid roughly 40% of the suggested retail price, shipping included.  At that price, I hope it will last all summer.  However at comparable retail price, I would be expecting multiple seasons, with no signs of wear for several months. 

I am re-thinking my wallet strategy.  I’m very fond of my Tignanello wallet, but it’s not really a wallet on a string, nor is it a functional crossbody.   The BB (Big Buddha, get it?) is large enough I could tuck a small crossbody or a large wristlet within for errands, but that still doesn’t address the fact that I rarely utilize all the space in that very large wallet.  Who out there still carries her checkbook everywhere?  I did… until this last conference. I stupidly  re-pursed in front of the Knight, and while I was pulling out business cards and such, he asked if I REALLY needed my checkbook?  Well no, but… 

And I haven’t bothered to put it back in said big wallet.  I haven’t missed it.  But don’t tell the Knight, okay?

April 2012 006

gratuitous wee one shot - she's still not letting me out of her sight

How was your weekend?  I do have 27 book reviews for you, and one more bag to share, but we have all week… maybe… if life doesn’t get all hectic again too soon.

This entry was posted in Bags.

16 comments on “Oh Buddha!

  1. gmariesews says:

    That bag looks pretty! I use a wee tiny cross body when we travel and tuck it into my computer bag which also houses knitting, nook and boy stuff. For normal every day use – I use my orange wallet like one I sent you – it’s the size of a small clutch, but won’t hold my phone. And yes – until I wrote my last 2 checks last month – really 4 checks in the same month! – I carried a checkbook with me all the time. You never know when you might need a check. g

  2. AlisonH says:

    I love the color! And it sounds like a really useful bag.

  3. Katherine says:

    Love big red!! Tell the Knight he did good! I am still missing my big Coach wallet that was stolen on our trip last summer but I am enjoying the Coach wristlet that DD bought me to replace it. The nice thing about the wristlet is that it is slim and slides easily into a bag like your new red bag.

    I love it when Gg’s ear is thrown back jaunty-style!! Macy does that and I always grab her and kiss her (as I return her ear to the proper position).

  4. Kathy says:

    I always like to read your bag posts. You are a bit bag obsessed, in a good way! I have a new obsession too, the Happy Bag. Look at all these fun colors it comes in!

    http://www.dooney.com/OA_HTML/ibeCCtpSctDspRte.jsp?section=59185&minisite=10020&respid=22372&dbdcc=LLAFLLAF

    I haven’t carried my checkbook for years, I think.

    Great picture of your wee Gretchen with her “messed up” ear!

    I thought of you at the dog park this weekend. A basset hound and a blood hound were chasing each other. It was so funny due to their disparity in size.

  5. Sue says:

    Sue gave me a Tignanello tote for my birthday and I love it. It’s big, but I seem to have to carry have the house with me, so it’s perfect.

    I used to carry my checkbook, but once I was married I stopped. Don’t really know why I did in the first place. Oh well!

  6. Nichole says:

    What a beautiful bag! It would be ideal for me if only the regular straps were long enough to sling over the shoulder. I love the color… and I love even more that the Knight went and dug around ebay to find it for you!

  7. Amy says:

    LOVE that bag! The color, the design – just fantastic!

    I’m on the hunt for a new wallet, because mine finally bit the dust on Saturday. I purchased an easy and cheap replacement at Wal-Mart, but I think I’m going to try to find something else this week.

  8. Marjie says:

    What a nice present from your Knight! 27 book reviews, eh? Me, too. And no, I don’t carry my checkbook. I don’t need more stuff to stuff in my purse.

  9. kathy b says:

    ah…my very first purse was a red handbag…My little neighbor boy Tommy Brownlee gave it to me for my kindergarten birthday party in August 1965. He told me the day before, he got me a pocketbook….I had no idea what that was! Until I opened it

  10. susancyr says:

    Purse looks great. I carry one check folded up in my wallet!!! That way I have a check, but no check book!!! 😉

  11. Mary says:

    Finally! The Budha. Now leave a note in your blog about where you stashed the strap and we will remind you before your next trip.

    And seriously, that is the most ticked off JRT i have seen in quite a while. Mama better hang out in the woods for some tome to come.

  12. Very pretty bag! I love deep reds. I still carry my checkbook with me, but mostly because of the school. Whenever I have to pay for a field trip, PTO, etc., they prefer to be paid via check. I love my 31 zippered wallet. It has just enough room for all my cards, checkbook, change, and it stays closed. OH! And I got my metro retro bag! Loooove! I’ll have to do a review.

  13. Blond Duck says:

    You are the bag Queen!

  14. Kari says:

    Love the new bag, I like the deep red color. Im glad April is over, it was a long month. Now I look forward to may cause my honeymoon is in may – vacation time!!!Wow that is alot of reading!

  15. Love the color of your new Buddy…but love the little cutie at the bottom best!

  16. […] Big Buddha is a big fail.  I’ll keep it and use it for its intended purpose… that good-sized travel handbag that can double as a tote in a pinch, but the interior slip pockets are rapidly becoming one pocket, as the stitching between the two lets go a little more every time I use it.   Even with the bargain price the Knight found on eBay, I am so thoroughly unimpressed and won’t consider this brand again.  Pity…  Love me some pretty pleather, and the size, shape and appearance of this bag REALLY make me happy.  […]

Leave a Reply

