E reading and then some

I can’t believe I was resistant to the e-reader movement.

I’d written a good bit about how I came to own a Nook and an iPad from which I read Kindle books, but we lost our internet for a while this morning and…  I don’t have it in me to repeat it.

So, we’ll jump right in on some of the books I’ve read recently.  I say some, because I did exaggerate yesterday when I said I’d read 27 books since my last book report, and I don’t think many/any of you REALLY want to know about the leadership/non-profit management/team building books I’ve read.

Ring of Flowers – I didn’t realize it was a novella when I started.  Compelling little piece of historical fiction, and I apologize to anyone other than my travel companion/friend who might have heard me swear when I realized it was such a short little read – right around “the end”.  I haven’t yet downloaded the author’s companion piece though, so I guess this was good for a freebie, but not good enough to have me race on to the next one.

Courtesy of Amazon, obviously

I almost blindly began Wings of Hope next, just because I was trying to assure I did indeed have SOMETHING else already downloaded, since Ring of Flowers ended mid-flight.   It was a page-turner, but not a good choice to read en route to a conference where I had to process into the opening ceremonies without getting to check in and freshen up first.   See…  I cried.  Maybe even more than once.  

It’s a highly personal rites of passage, coming of age story.  Trust me, even though it sounds like a spoiler, it’s not…  the book opens with the main character getting an invitation from her almost estranged father to come stay with him while he dies from an inoperable brain tumor.  The good news is, there’s a really sweet dog-rescue story in there too.

Last in my travel reading was Creola’s Moonbeam.   It too was selected for the simple reason that its cover art is beach-ish and I wanted something comfortable and happy after those two rather somber reads.  I loved it!  It features a writer with writer’s block and her muses.  I’m not doing it justice, but I really did enjoy it, so much so that I finished it up on the elliptical on my first session after I got home.   I will say that if you didn’t love The Help, you might not be as giddy about this as I was. 

Last but HARDLY least was a great little cozy trio.  gMarie and I guess she won’t ever blog again Jess both sang this trilogy’s praises.  My only regret is that it is only a trilogy and not a long ‘ol series.    BE STILL MY HEART!!!!!!

Also courtesy of Amazon

Sorry.  We’ll get back to the review in two seconds; I’m just over the moon to learn that there is a FOURTH book in the SERIES, with a short story 5th title out there too. 

(Frustrating.  Where did the rest of my post go?  This is getting OLD, Comcast…)

In the name of my sanity, I’m going to tell you I read the first three books in this series, all on my Nook.   While my Nook came first and I do like it, I do prefer the Kindle app.  I like being able to intuitively highlight and use the dictionary.   I’m pretty sure I can do both in some fashion with my Nook, but I haven’t done the research to figure out how…

Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed the plots, the characters and the setting.  Oh – and the recipes at the back of each cozy.  I haven’t made anything yet, but I delight in finding recipes at the back of so many cozy mysteries for some reason…

What have you been reading?

 

 

13 comments on “E reading and then some

  1. gmariesews says:

    Oh please tell me you aren’t getting the new books on the kindle! While I am really enjoying reading on my Nook – and reading while I knit and wait for the hubby in a starbucks, and reading all day in the sun while knitting – I don’t like using my laptop or smart phone to do so. ::pouting::

    I loved The Help. Will definately check out the next book. hmmm – maybe I should do some book reviews – but it sounds vaguely like elementry school work to me. Love your reviews though. g

  2. Katherine says:

    You hooked me with Murder On The Rocks! I read so many mystery novels that DH says if he ever decides to murder some one he will come to me for professional advice. I will check out Creola’s Moonbeam because I loved The Help.

    Thanks for the reviews!!

  3. Nichole says:

    Sounds like you’ve been a busy little book worm!

  4. I’ve only read one book lately…When I Lay My Isaac Down. I have stacks waiting for me, both “real” books and tons of freebies on my Kindle. If you see my “want to” around, can you please mail it to me?

  5. kathy b says:

    fun reviews…. I am told I have to read a book about a hike around the Pacific coast ..WILD FROM LOST TO FOUND ON THE PACIFIC COAST

  6. I just downloaded the latest Sookie Stackhouse book. I think it’s called “Deadlocked”. Can’t wait to start reading it. 🙂

  7. Mary says:

    I am with you. I’ve been a reading machine…80-90 since the start of the year. Simultaneously I am usually listening to a book on CD during my commute (recently finished Homefront, Kristin Hannah–not an easy one when DS is in Afghanistan, and now Another Piece of My Heart, Jane Green) and then I have multiple other books going at the same time depending on my mood/location (books at home, books at work…lunch). I download books from the library to my Nook Tablet usually for 7 days and almost always go through four (library max) during that time. But I am also in my library a couple of days a week…librarians know me by name. I sometimes buy other books for the Nook or get the weekly freebee if I am interested. My only problem is trying to remember which characters/story I am listening/reading when I first start in. It is like trying to remember where you left off in a conversation with a friend you haven’t seen in a while. With the Tablet, I now have to decide whether or not I want the e-form or the book form. Light reads…Nook. Others, such as Anne Morrow Lindbergh’s Against Wind and Tides…definitely a solid book that I can pick up again in the future. Recent reads: Bedell’s Elizabeth the Queen, Ferenc Mate’s The Hills of Tuscany, Nouwen’s The Genesee Diary). Eclectic reading, no?

  8. Kari says:

    I know its horrible but between my favorite magazines I get at home and blogs I dont ever read books except for like once a year. sigh.

  9. Kathy says:

    After a string of fiction, I switched my focus to nonfiction. Over Easter I read about a book about the Dust Bowl called The Worst Hard Time (http://www.amazon.com/The-Worst-Hard-Time-Survived/dp/0618773479/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1335968859&sr=1-1). This is really good and I am learning a lot I never knew. When I got to the part about the depression era photographers, I dug out my Dorothea Lange book to look at some of the photos. Next I’m going to expand on the theme and read The Grapes of Wrath.

    After that, probably something completely different.

    I think the Kindle is the greatest invention ever!

  10. needles54 says:

    look into sally goldenbaum’s knitting series—I think she has 5 books now and a new one coming, they are so good, and she is a doll—Barbara Bretton also has a great knitting series that involves the modern day and the fantasy world of witches and shapechangers and selkies etc. I think maggie sefton has a new one in a week or two!

  11. StarSpry says:

    Thanks for the book reviews! They sound good and I’ve added them to my “to-read” list 🙂 I just finished reading A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness and I loved it! Can’t wait for books 2 and 3 to come out!

  12. AlisonH says:

    Flying Delta last week, they let you use Ipads, Kindles, etc mid-flight but not cellphones, no way no how only after landing. Curious. Not that you’d want to read a book on a phone anyway, but.

  13. sue says:

    I’ve been reading political books and biographies lately, mostly library books. Meanwhile I keep downloading books to the Kindle. I’ll never run out of reading matter.

Leave a Reply

