Hat-itude

Growing up, I’d skip off to Gold Cup with friends and then get home in time for a family Derby party.  I’m positive it fell on May 5th at least once, but back in the day, I wasn’t looking for an excuse to pretend Virginia had authentic Mexican cuisine…

Borsalino hat

Chetta B sundress

Thank goodness  Strangely enough, there are no photos from either first Saturday in May events in my 17 family photo albums.  (Honest…  but I’m not sure I’d share photos if I had ’em!)  I do still have the rather boring straw hat with a black ribbon I wore most years, and if it didn’t start to rain every time I offered to walk the dogs or thought about taking a cute photo of Sissy in said hat, I’d prove it.  Instead, I’ll just thank Polyvore for getting VERY close to the original.

I think our dresses for Gold Cup had to be “not sundresses” when the event moved from a farm on the edge of town to its current location, but I happen to own that dress and it would look cute with my hat – with some red and white silk flowers added for today, assuming  Louisville is having better weather than we are.

(It’s POURING as I type, so much so I can’t hear the TV – maybe 10 feet away – over the drops slapping the skylight across the room.  Don’t worry; it was a much lighter rain and the fur-girls got a short walk, until I began to feel as though my slicker was part sauna.)

Since the Knight doesn’t share my passion for a fun frock and a nearly silly hat to kick off May and what I always hope will be the next Triple Crown winner year, you get to deal with what I’d wear if I was in Louisville, or even in my other hometown, Warrenton.

I think I’d have to hope for better weather so I could sport Lilly P’s Isabel in their Horse Show print.   (You’ll have to click over to see the pale yellow with the pink upturned of course horse shoes.)

I happen to own shoes almost identical to the ones in the photo.  Don’t tell anyone, but mine came from Target and wouldn’t cause me to cry if I got a stable pass and stepped in a puddle or… worse and ruined them.

Of course, I’d need a great hat.  And of course, if you’ve been to this blog more than once, you probably know that Gretchen and I both have a thing for PANK, and if you didn’t click over on the dress photo or link, you might not realize the horse shoes are PANK!

I found the perfect hat.  In fact, I might have to order it just in case I go to Foxfield again one year, or back to Gold Cup…  (Foxfield is podunk’s race, and is a highlight of the UVA spring scene.  Too bad working it as a medic kinda’ sucked all the fun out of it forever for me.  )

Hem.   Back to my Derby fantasy.

Courtesy of Amazon

Isn’t it a beauty?  Gretchen would probably talk me into hanging it on the wall in the bedroom where we could gaze at it every flippin’ day.  Wouldn’t the Knight love that?!  (NOT… in case you’ve never met him.)

Derby picks?  I don’t have one I’m itching to make a wager on, but the girls don’t study the ponies and riders and trainers the way I do.  Here are their picks:

Gretchen put her allowance on Liaison to win, place or show.  Even if the horse with almost the worst odds (at the time I wrote this post) comes in third, Gg will have enough money to take the pack out for a nice dinner.   If you didn’t click over, Gg made her choice because the jockey will be wearing pink silks.

Sis’s choice has a little more promise and is one I was already studying.  A strong boy, I’ll Have Another‘s jockey will be in a nearly royal purple.  I just wish he wasn’t starting 19th, but he comes on strong at the end, so…  we can all laugh if the girls’ choices based on the colors the jockeys will be sporting nets a win or even a place (2nd) or a show (3rd).

Now if you’ll excuse me, it’s time for me to pay more attention to the pre-race coverage…  I wouldn’t bet against Bodemeister or Union Rags either.  I’d never bet against a horse trained by Michael Matz (Barbaro’s trainer)… and I always have a soft spot for Secretariat’s progeny (Take Charge Indy).

This entry was posted in Fashion.

20 comments on “Hat-itude

  1. Beibei Wu says:

    Got to love a nice hat for the Summer! The pink one is gorgeous 🙂

    http://www.beilovebei.com

  2. gmariesews says:

    hmmm – me thinks you study and bet at the races the same way JB does. I however, bet the same way your girls do. Oh look the jockey’s in pink! Oh see how that one’s prancing about? I am not joking when I say to you – that JB will change his bet if I have placed a bet on one of his horses. It’s a well known (and proven) fact that the only position I can pick is dead last.

    But – what to wear? I almost always don a skirt or dress with sandals. And have at least one cocktail while we are there. I haven’t even turned the tv to coverage yet because JB is working. g

  3. Sis SOOOOO knows her horsedoggies!

    Just sayin’

  4. Sue says:

    Yea Sissy! You can go to the races with us anytime. Purple wins again.
    Love the hat but if I bought one more pink hat I think Robert would have a tantrum.

  5. AlisonH says:

    A good hat is…something my hubby tries to get me to wear more often.

  6. Amy says:

    I love that first hat! Oddly enough, it reminds me of my Civil War summer hat.

    I wish people wore hats more often!

  7. Katherine says:

    Macy is crazy about her “big dogs”, the horses in the field behind our house!! I thought she would love the Derby but she barked at the horses through the whole thing. I guess it is a “horses should know their place” thing with her.

    I love the pank hat!! I have a huge collection of hats that I wore when my head was shaved for surgery. Now, I never wear any of them. Too sad!!

  8. kathy b says:

    I love the Derby and missed it. I have to watch a reply. I d love a triple crown winner

    Your fashion posts are awesome!

  9. Kathy says:

    That Sissy knows how to pick a horse! Even if her methods are a bit unorthodox, she did good!

    How do you feel about mint juleps? A few years ago I decided to really get in the spirit and make some. I found out I do not like bourbon! Yuck! It took me way more time than the pregame, race, and postgame to actually finish that drink.

  10. Marjie says:

    Too bad Sissy didn’t actually put her allowance on her pick! Purple frills and crowns forever! Hooray! I like to watch the post parade and see how skittish they are. It seems to me that calmer horses do better. Too bad Calvin Bo-rail and his boy got boxed in, but the finish was surely exciting! Some day I’m going to get myself a hat to wear to watch the race, even though it’s just at home.

  11. Nichole says:

    I’ve never been to a Derby themed party, but darn… I bet they are FUN!

  12. Bonnie says:

    I want that pink hat!! Too cute!!

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I like the pink!

  14. Barbara says:

    We don’t wear enough hats in this country! I have a few I absolutely love. Very few opportunities to wear them, but Saturday was one. There were some cute hats at the Derby party…I’d say about 40% wore them. Mine are mostly black or neutral so they go with everything.
    (Missed first place, but got second and wish I had put Dullahan to show, but had him at place. Oh well. Two out of three ain’t bad.

  15. Blond Duck says:

    Have a good Tuesday!

  16. needles54 says:

    i have to remember to check with sissy when I want a winning horse!!!

  17. gypsyknits says:

    I love hats and wish I had an excuse to not only buy one but wear it. Sissy can sport a hat quite fashionably so I live thru her fashion pics 😉

  18. Mr. Puffy says:

    I love hats too! But I have no occasions to wear anything pretty as our social set is quite casual 😦 I did pick up a cute summer hat (for shade) from the San Diego hat company. It’s for my hikes and has a wide brim but it’s also a little jaunty and I’m very happy with it ~

  19. Blond Duck says:

    Hope you’re doing well!

  20. […] you see Mama’s smarty-pants post over the weekend?  Little miss perfect put her allowance on the wrong horse, and they just laughed […]

Leave a Reply

