Backup and then some

Warning… rant ahead.

September 2011 007

Gretchen pins the Digital Data Eater Cheetah

I was sitting here minding my own business, having a happy Friday, playing fetch with Gretchen at work, when I got the bright idea to dig through some old minutes to get some data someone had requested.

Boom!  The data-eating digital monster strikes again.  I thought it was just me…  I don’t claim to be the greatest when it comes to navigating through the administrative, “back door” portions of our website.  Wrong.  Important stuff is GONE, without even a trail that it was ever uploaded… and it was.  

September 2011 008

Sissy has the purple Data Eater under control

This isn’t the first time this has happened.  It isn’t the only problem we’re having either.  Thanks for listening to my fussin’, but talking about it isn’t making me feel better after all, so I think I’m going to start to ponder what I’ll fix for dinner or something equally exciting.

Any big weekend plans that might distract me, even for a moment?

Oh – and about the title?  Consider this a public service announcement and back up your important stuff, even if it isn’t your responsibility.  Some day, you might be the incoming president who has to cry over digitally eaten stuff from years ago.

12 comments on “Backup and then some

  1. AlisonH says:

    Oh honey I am SO sorry! (I bet you Richard could find at least some of it if he were there, so there’s got to be someone who can…)

  2. Sue says:

    It’s nice to see someone else ranting for a change. Having been thru two computer crashes before I switched to a Mac, I always backup . Rob on the other hand….

  3. Marjie says:

    That’s why I always make CDs of important stuff. I even have CDs with our sales brochures on them, for pity’s sake. Call me Mrs. OCD. But at least you have the girls to make you laugh as they gnaw upon those stuffed Digital Data Eaters of theirs!

  4. Nichole says:

    Sorry for your technical troubles today… but hey, at least you’ve got the cutest little helpers in the office, right?

  5. kathy b says:

    Gretchen looks fluffy…did she just have a bath/
    Im so sorry about the loss of data…..can’t imagine the headache of it all…….so so sorry friend

  6. StarSpry says:

    I’m sorry you lost some data. That really sucks! Great pictures of the fur-girls! At least they’re with you today to help cheer you up. Tonight I’m going to a meet & greet/trunk show with Miriam Felton at a local craft shop. Tomorrow we have a graduation party to go to. I hope you have a great weekend!

  7. Katherine says:

    So Sorry! I know just how you feel because I learned the hard way!! Now I have a big old Western Digital My Book, and I backup several times a week.

    I love the Cheetah and Purple Data Eater dog toys! My plans for the weekend include dog toy shopping. Macy and Max never have enough toys.

  8. Mary says:

    The problem is…even when I back up, I still don’t know how to access it. But I feel your pain. I work off a couple of computers and I am always hoping any missing stuff is on the other one. Not. Baby shower tomorrow…my only weekend plans.

  9. Grrr!! I hope you find a way to get some of that info, even if from another source. Otherwise….have a great weekend. I’m planning a little trip to Oakland to spend time with Dr. Holly.

  10. gmariesews says:

    Oh I do how hope your weekend got better. Thanks for the PSA, I do need to remember to back up. I still have photos on the old dead laptop. Taking up space, collecting dust and making me nutso. g

  11. Louise says:

    Did you say something about lost data, Channon? I’m sorry but it’s been so long since I saw recent pictures of the “girls”, I barely heard you. They look so darn cute:)

    Would you believe how bad I am at backing up??? So bad! Thank goodness I’m on a Mac but that’s no excuse! Someday:) Hope your weekend gets better. Worry about it tomorrow???

  12. Mmmm…speaking of, guess what I’m doing right now? My trusty Mac just reminded me (for the thousandth time) that I haven’t done a back up in 120 days. That’s the longest I’ve ever gone and it was making me nervous. Was the data originally published to the website? If so, can you see if Google has a cache page of it? You might could copy the info from there. Not sure if that will work, but it’s just a thought.

Leave a Reply

