Ticked Off

No, I’m not in a bad mood, not at all.  Gretchen has a cute post about today’s big news, so since it is Thorsday, I’m going to ask you a kinda’ dog-related question.

What do you – the humans – do to prevent ticks on YOU?  My girls have their preventatives, but the Knight and I have both found literally countless ticks on US. 

DSC00647

Random bandana cuteness from 2009

Since that’s a rather gross topic, let me lighten the mood with the PWD’s 4th Annual Bandana Day!   We’re already scheming and planning and will probably take photos this weekend – if it isn’t so hot Sissy wilts.

Thankful Thursday?  I’m so thankful for the so-fabulous leaders in the League.  To the outgoing leaders, I thank you for your dedication, for all the late nights and long discussions that have set up the incoming leaders for great success, for the friendships, and for the willingness to move us forward as an organization. 

There’s also a special thanks to the office revitalization team.  We’ve been in our current space about 8 years, and I’ve literally never seen the back wall before.  Now, it sports one of our “historic” banners.   Given my pack-rat ways and my analysis paralysis, I especially appreciate that these women, my friends, frequently just left me out of the loop when they planned these work sessions. 

What are you thankful for this little friday before a long weekend here in the States?

11 comments on “Ticked Off

  1. gmariesews says:

    Ummm – I live in the Pacific Northwest and don’t venture into the woods much. I’ve always heard white works – white socks, white shirt with long sleeves, etc.

    Bandana Day – I need to do that again. I’ve fallen so far behind on blogs I follow. (Bad, bad friend.) and the office looks amazing – so glad they took the lead and did it for you! g

  2. AlisonH says:

    I have a shirt from Orvis that is supposed to repel mosquitos; I imagine it might with ticks too? But the substance they put in the shirt is highly allergenic to some people, so you’d want to wear a t under it, I think.

  3. Katherine says:

    Love the fur-girls in their bandanas!! We were watching a Discovery special last week on Netflix about the Appalachian Trail. They mentioned covering the body as much as possible and spraying yourself with tea-tree oil to keep ticks off. It is not a problem we have here, but we surely have a lot of fleas. We have our yard sprayed every month for them.

    I’m thankful today that the garden is totally planted and growing beautifully so I can relax over the long weekend. Hope you and yours have a good one!!

  4. Amy says:

    I usually spray down with something heavy with DEET, but seeing as I’m pregnant this summer, I’ll have to find another method. Avon makes a great bug spray/body spray. But I forsee spending lots of time inside, because the hotter it gets and the heavier I get, I’m going to want to stay in the central AC. 🙂

  5. Nichole says:

    Happy little Friday…. I hate ticks… they really bug me!

  6. kathy b says:

    WEll I have to admit, I don’t miss the ticks Huck brought around….BUT fireman said there was one crawling on the ambulance cot the other day. It is not all the dogs’ fault! We couldn’t really avoid them, just did those creepy tick checks on each other….behind the ears etc. I have had more than one embedded in me…..I think a quick dose of doxycycline is the current treatment…..

    Since my friend Karen sells Avon now, I will say some swear by Skin So SOFt.

    Bandannas are meant for dogs.

    Im thankful it aint the workend yet!!!!! And for this amazing weather we are having. and for an invite to our neighbors pool while they are gone tonight! No one needs to see this body in a swim suit!

  7. emmy says:

    I’ve been threatening to put a little Frontline Plus on the back of MY neck!!!
    From the other comments I have some tea tree oil that I will try FIRST.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    flea comb and bath!

  9. Karen says:

    I am thankful today that my boy was so brave during a particularly painful GJ feeding tube change. I am thankful for his tubie because he cannot survive without it. I am thankful that when I took him to school yesterday for May Jam, the other kids accepted him and were glad to see him (he is confined to home due to his life threatening illness which includes severe allergy to protien – all foods and a very weak immune system making being around others dangerous. Since it was outdoors, we took a chance. He connects to his classroom from home via Skype for 2 classes a day). I am especially thankful that a girl from his class was so happy to meet him in person and wrote her number on his hand so he could text her – and that she has been texting him back. And I am most thankful that despite all his pain and the endless procedures and surgeries he must endure, like today that yesterday was such a great day that he is still floating on air, with a big smile on his face and that he did not have an exposure and get sick. 🙂

  10. Sue says:

    Ticks have been awful this year because of the mild winter. Haven’t seen one on the dogs, Frontline must be working, but Rob and I have picked up several. There are various treated bandanas and bands that seem to work a little. Eucalyptus oil works too. I don’t put any of the them against my skin, but tie them to pant legs.

    My pups all get Lyme vaccine in case they get bitten and we miss it.

  11. We haven’t seen any on us or the kids. Although, now that I say that….

Leave a Reply

