Felted Friends

Happy Friday!!  Remember the first day out of school?

Yeah.  That’s what this feels like, even though I’m at work.  Last night’s annual meeting & dinner was awesome.   I’m going to have to hit Pinterest and Google later to see if I can find a recipe for the white bean pasta salad.  Most of the meal was great… aside from the green, chilled soup.  It was probably cream based, and all I could taste was onion…

Why no, there aren’t any photos.  I did pose for one that I remember with Jess and Janie, so if it surfaces and I don’t look as wiped out as I did when I got home…  maybe.

photo.JPG

Instead, I’ll show you the exceptionally cool gifts from Janie, the outgoing president.  First up is the happy felted basset that was tied into the bow on my package.  (Wrapped in the Lilly P crab paper!!) 

She’s the first felted item that makes me REALLY want to learn.  You have to see her face close up… 

photo.JPG

See the pink under her eye?!  So realistic!  Can you see the rolls on her chest?!  There are some on the back of her head as well.  “Loose skin” even on a felted basset!  Joy!!  I’m so glad Janie found her for me.  I might have to venture to Dog House Yarns & More and snag a needle felting kit and start teaching myself…

photo.JPGInside the purdy package was a framed picture of the collaborating co-leaders from the Vintage Vegas photo booth.  I apologize for the quality, but I lacked the energy to go to the study, turn on (maybe even plug in) the scanner…

My favorite is the bottom left, although the bottom right is more indicative of our personalities.  Janie’s poised and sweet, and I’m a little irreverent and silly. 

(On the off chance you care, her dress is PANK, and mine is black with metallic gold.  Between the red background in the booth and the crazy boa I wore all night after acting like a three-year old until the Knight bought yet another ticket in whatever drawing was handing out said boas… )

Dress Barn petite maxi

Oh – and I’m wearing my orange-red-whatever maxi today.  No, you may not have a photo.  I look like something the cat brought in, and I didn’t drink a drop of wine last night.  However, it’s not the dress’s fault.  It’s breezy and comfy.  I feel like I’m in my night gown.  I think skorts just got bumped from summer uniform status, or will as soon as I score some more petite maxis.  Anyone have some suggestions?

(And the paisley blues?  They’re green.  The dress is orange, green, gold, wine and white.)

You didn’t REALLY think I was done shopping, did you?

Any Memorial Day weekend plans?  Don’t forget to remember why we have a Memorial Day.  Thank a veteran.  Salute a flag.  Bow your head when you pass a cemetery…

11 comments on “Felted Friends

  1. gmariesews says:

    Congratulations friend. I know you have a wonderful year coming up. Remember to breathe.

    That wee felted basset – stinkin’ cute! I think it’s in the felted dogs book, and really – as long as you don’t stab yourself, needle felting is fun. I think you have to learn just make a week Gretchen.

    I felt exactly the same way wearing KAM’s maxi dress last weekend. Fun, flirty and totally comfortable. and it didn’t catch on my hips or belly – even after eating! I need some in my closet. Plus dresses are just so much easier – in my opinion. I stood in my closet yesterday and said “I have nothing to wear!!”. g

  2. Barbara says:

    So pleased you had a good time! Congratulations!
    What a cute topper for your present…not that your doggie love is a secret! 🙂
    Also, nice to see a photo of Janie….cute of the two of you!

  3. AlisonH says:

    That basset is achingly adorable–what a great gift!

  4. kathy b says:

    Oh that pup is to die for!!!!!! What does Sissy think???? OMG

  5. Sue says:

    What a cute pup. Congrats on finally becoming Pres. Nice that the girls are going to share the office with you.

  6. Nichole says:

    LOVE your gift… the framed photos are fab and, well the felted bassett is simply the best. I’ll warn you… I took that felted dog class years ago and bought up a whole bunch of felting stuff… and I’ve NEVER. TOUCHED. IT. SINCE. I would love to create such beautiful creatures, but not sure sculpting is for me… if you catch on, I’ll have to dig out and send you some goodies.

  7. Amy says:

    What an adorable felted dog!!!

    Our plans this weekend involve getting the nursery cleaned up, and maybe getting the crib put together. I’m trying to take it easy, as work really put my through the ringer this week. Very little chance to sit down, working short handed, and some very ill patients made for a physically exhausting couple of shifts. So, I’m putting my feet up this weekend as much as I can.

  8. Mini bassett is a-dog-able! Glad you’re making peace with your maxi dress. I knew it would be awesome.

  9. Louise says:

    Your excitement is contagious and I’m luvin’ it! Congratulations, Channon and yes, breath:)

    I’ve always found felting so fascinating. The patience it must take to make them look so realistic. Not me, I’m afraid:)

    You may not be done shopping but I haven’t even started yet. Every time I finally buy something, I wind up bringing it back. Marion has nicknamed me the Take Back Girl, I kid you not:)

    Thanks for sharing. Wishing you a fabulous safe and delectable weekend. Good luck finding that recipe. I look forward to seeing the dish you are willing to search for, lol…

  10. StarSpry says:

    That felted basset is adorable!! I haven’t tried needle felting, but it looks pretty interesting. I love the framed photo booth pictures, too 🙂

  11. Okay, that felted basset even makes *me* want to give felting another try! I swear, I still have a hole in my finger from my last attempt. lol Glad you had such a good time!!! I love the photobooth pictures!

Leave a Reply

