The Webster

Did you have a nice weekend?  Here in the States, it was a three-day weekend for a lot of us, to honor Memorial Day and all those who gave their lives so that we can live in the land of the free.  I am fortunate that none of my close friends or family who have served – or are serving – have made the ultimate sacrifice, but war always has a human toll.  My deepest, heart-felt thanks to those who serve and have served, including their loved ones holding down the fort at home.

We had a quiet day.  I talked to the photo of my dad in his (Marine Corps) utilities, taken not long after he enlisted.  Then we – Dad’s photo, the fur-girls and I – watched A Few Good Men.   (I thought I had scanned that photo of Dad, but I don’t see it in Flickr.  Sorry.)  I always cry at the end when Harold salutes Tom Cruise’s character…

Saturday, I ventured up to Dog House Yarns.   I snagged some Kollage Riveting in the sport weight, in the sand hue.  It’s destined to be a little shrug, most likely Plymouth 1741.  In case you didn’t click over, Riveting is made from old jeans.   Given how much I love denim, this delights me far more than it should.  I’m pretty sure the cotton will be hard on my hands while I’m knitting, but that’s okay; it’ll be worth it.

Has anyone else fallen down The Webster at Target rabbit hole?!  I was pleasantly surprised to find a pretty good selection at my local store on Saturday, and this little number had to come live with me. 

There were several other items I would have snatched up if I wasn’t practicing some restraint and if they’d had what caught my eye in my size.  

Why yes, this is the summer of the tee-shirt dress it seems.  This makes #4 for me, and we won’t talk about how many other summer dresses I own.   I love pulling on a dress, shoving my feet in some sandals and calling myself dressed.

I also love the colors in this dress.  My first formal dress was a seafoam green, and hunter green is a staple in my wardrobe.   I’m hung up on coral, and I always prefer cream over white, so what’s not to love?!

 

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

14 comments on “The Webster

  1. Nichole says:

    Cute dress! I haven’t been over to Target to fall down the rabbit hole yet… might have to check it out! I can’t wait to see how the Riveting knits up and here your feedback…

  2. gmariesews says:

    Amen! Thank you and yours for what you have given so that I could sit around knitting (and pretending to make curtains) all weekend. I believe no matter what (there are some exceptions) you should always support the solider and his family, they give so much.

    Lovely little shawl. Riviting is very interesting yarn. I love it! I knit a pair of socks, worked on another pair of socks in progress and started a shawl. Felt a wee tiny bit of guilt about the two other shawls in progress in my mess of a space in the living room.

    That little dress is adorable. I’m totally feeling dresses right now. I want more. and don’t have them. So sad. g

  3. Mary says:

    Yesterday, I sent thank you’s to my soldier DS’s (AF in UK and Afghan.) and DIL (NR here). And remembered those I knew personally who gave the ulitmate sacrifice (Vietnam). Spent part of day
    looking at the Faces of the Fallen. So very young.

    The dress reminds me of the 60’s Courrèges dress…a paler, modern and more casual version. Will look great on you. Which reminds me of the old fashion adage…if you wore something the first time around, you shouldn’t wear it the second time around. That applies to me, not you.

  4. Mr. Puffy says:

    It was a quiet weekend here but we did have fun going to the Topanga Memorial Day parade. It was small, quaint and classic Topanga. Heartbreaking to think the beautiful souls of those who sacrificed for the greater good of others.

  5. gypsyknits says:

    The past weekend I said a hearty thank you to my grandfather and father-in-law (both long gone) and to those who have served and still serving to protect our freedom.

    I went to Target with my DIL yesterday and saw the many dresses. They look so comfortable but we were on a time restraint and I didn’t get to try any on. I’m sure your dress will look stunning on you 🙂

  6. Grace Schweer Yaskovic says:

    very very pretty selections

  7. Blond Duck says:

    I live in dresses!

  8. Sue says:

    I love the idea of yarn from recycles jeans. I always try to use old jeans for sewing projects so this is right up my alley.

    Rob doesn’t like Target so I seldom go there, but I might have an online peek.

  9. Marjie says:

    Cute dress. You know I think dresses are the ultimate easy garb! I love hunter green and kelly green, too, and also prefer cream to white. Heck, white always yellows anyway, so why not skip the aging phase?

  10. Amy says:

    That dress looks so comfy! I may have to check that out. I’m looking for clothes that are not tight this summer – heat and being pregnant, don’t mix.

  11. Katherine says:

    The dress is so pretty and so you!! I know your coral sandals will look smashing with it!

    We had a quiet but memorable weekend. We have both had friends and family who have made the supreme sacrifice for our Country but none so close that we could honor them with flowers and flags on their graves. They were in our thought and prayers all day and our memories of them will last forever!!

  12. kathy b says:

    Fireman was watching A FEW last night too. I was trying to keep my eyelids from falling. I want to see the sand yarn…Lovely CUTE dresss.
    I don’t remember my first formal….I think it was a bridesmaid dress for my brothers wedding? No maybe Sophomore Semi formal…..but I don’t recall the dress I wore in HS

  13. Just went and checked out Webster…had not known of its existance before. The only falling I did was this morning, coming off the stairs! Good news…finger is not broken. 🙂

  14. I’ve bought *several* t-shirt type dresses lately. They’re just sooo comfy!

Leave a Reply

