Morocco!

A few weeks ago, a friend sent me a link to look at some other shoes, and somehow, I stumbled upon Sofft’s Morocco and fell in love.  I became obsessed with zip up the back espadrilles.  Never mind that I’m not a suede shoe fan…  I wanted these badly. 

And as it happens once in a great while, Planet Shoes had a great sale, and Ebates had an even better special offer, and so…  I got the shoes for a song… or rather, a price I could live with.

May 2012 002They arrived yesterday.   While the Knight got ready to go to the funeral home, I tested out my new shoes.  Sofft is known for its focus on comfort, so I wasn’t shocked that they were ready to go, right out of the box.  I had a moment’s hesitation…  hot coral (or FLAME as I call it) isn’t exactly visitation-friendly.  However, the deceased and his son were/are both in the fire service, and the “family night” was already a little untraditional, with the “wear a hat in his memory” even listed in the official obituary.

It only took a nudge from a friend who also loves FLAME and has relatives in the fire service; I changed skirts and headed out.  I left my uncertainty in the parking lot, when our friend (grieving son) noticed my footwear on the way up the steps into the funeral home.   (The Knight was also far more comfortable wearing his ballcap in when he saw his friend also sporting a fire department ballcap.)

May 2012 003They’re just as comfy as my beloved Dansko Sissys, which is what I had on prior to arriving home and finding the Planet Shoes box on the porch.  (The Sissys caused the faint red mark on the top of my foot/ankle; not pain, just a little indentation from the ankle strap.)  This shot also shows the “hot coral” vs. the red of the Sissys.

And the Knight earned his nickname all over again; the skies went from from ominous to downpour while we were in the firehouse, but he pulled the truck inside so my new (untreated… did I mention we were in a hurry to get across the county for the viewing?) suede shoes and I stayed perfectly dry.  Yes, yes…  I’ll be spraying them down before I wear them out again, but it was worth it to see our friend grin over my shoes!

What do you call that night before the funeral, pay your respects time?  I just realized that within this one little post, I’ve used viewing, family night and visitation…

PS – If you’re wondering, yes I bought the Dansko Sissys just because of the name.  I love Dansko and knew they’d be comfortable, and how could I resist?  Now, I’m on the lookout for some PANK shoes that just happened to be the style Gretchen…

This entry was posted in shoes.

11 comments on “Morocco!

  1. gmariesews says:

    Those shoes are adorable! I love the color. So – what skirt did you throw on?

    Oh – and I’ve been meaning to tell you – I saw a blue version of your knit lace skirt at KAM’s LYS (could I use any more letters instead of words?). g

  2. Katherine says:

    Oh how I love those shoes! You KNOW I love those shoes!! I’m so happy you wore them and I think they were highly appropriate for a wake, when you are supposed to celebrate with the dearly beloved who have passed. Those are celebratory shoes!!

  3. AlisonH says:

    Viewing, visitation… both work. Glad you went, and thank you.

    Cute shoes!

  4. Grace Schweer Yaskovic says:

    we call it a wake, “we have a wake to go to tonight:” although I have heard of viewing too, although I like and our family only does closed coffins regardless of type of death involved..

    Love the shoes–wish my feet were more happy with a variety of shoes

  5. Nichole says:

    Love those shoes… hot and chic! Like Grace, it’s a wake here.

  6. Kathy says:

    What cute shoes! I think it’s fine to wear them to celebrate the life of the person that passed away. As I recall, I wore a reddish suit to my grandma’s funeral.

    Your toes look good too!

    I have heard the night before the funeral called the viewing. And since I’m Catholic, and we say the rosary on that night, we often just say that we are going to the rosary.

  7. kathy b says:

    We call it a WAKE too.
    I LOVE those zipper shoes and I”VE NEVER ever seen such shoes

  8. Okay, you know how we were just talking today about my craft money??? Yeah, I sooo didn’t need to see those shoes!!! LOL

  9. No answer for your query….love your flaming shoes, though!

  10. Nancy says:

    I, too, like the style and color of your new shoes.

Leave a Reply

