Be Prepared?

January 2011 008That photo was taken a week before Sissy’s left eye was removed, but the girls are in blaze orange, on the lookout, so it seemed appropriate.

Don’t worry about us.  I know we have some weather-watcher friends, and yes, we’re under a tornado watch.   I’ll try to remember to slip up a quick post late tonight when the watch is over or first thing in the morning.

We have numerous safety plans in place.  If you’re new here, you might not know the Knight is a fire chief and I was a career firefighter and am now a life member of our station.  We have plans for most everything, and lucky, the fur-girls aren’t afraid of storms.  We hope you have a fire safety plan, a flood plan, a tornado and/or hurricane plan, etc.  Don’t forget to have a not-at-home place for everyone to gather and/or call too… just in case.

Have a nice, safe weekend!

 

8 comments on “Be Prepared?

  1. gmariesews says:

    I think tornados are about the scariest natural disaster on the planet. We are working on plans, and I’ve added leashes that live in the jeep. Be safe. g

  2. Sue says:

    We hate tornados too. We have a safe room underground level and leashes by each door. We’re keeping fingers crossed that the storm fizzles out.

  3. SusanB-knits says:

    Our tornado sirens go off (as a test) the first Wed of every month. Imagine my surprise when they went off and it was NOT that Wed! I grabbed my phone and my kindle and sat in the closet. 🙂
    We do have a bag prepared and left in the trunk of the car in case we have to evacuate.

  4. Kathy says:

    Good public service announcement! Today is the start of hurricane season too.

  5. Katherine says:

    Living in Texas we have a bag packed and a gathering plan at all times. I live in fear of tornadoes and pray about it everyday!! Our house does not have a totally internal room without windows with the exception of one closet and the built-ins do not allow two people and two dogs to huddle in it. The bathtub is the next best thing. You can see I’ve thought this through and am somewhat manic about the subject! LOL!

    Sorry I got off on that tangent!! You will be in my thoughts and prayers this weekend.

  6. Nancy says:

    Very few tornados in this area, but I have an emergency bag packed and ready in the front closet (food, clothing, etc.) and I have a weather alert radio. If a violent storm hit, I would go to the interior bathroom and throw a twin bed mattress on top of myself.

    Stay safe, and yes, please let us know when all danger has passed.

  7. kathy b says:

    Channon
    DO you have a basement??? I hope so! I need to revamp our plan with cat food and water and supplies just in case. It has been awhile good reminder!

  8. Nichole says:

    Safety plans really are a must these days, aren’t they? Glad you all were OK!

Leave a Reply

