Happy Trails

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday and whatever else you’re celebrating!  I’m going to do the thankful part first for a change.  Don’t you love it when you’ve had your feelings hurt over something that turns out to be a big miscommunication?  Sometimes, I just have to pull up my big girl panties and say, “You know, I was taken aback by…” and usually, I find out that either I misinterpretted something, something got lost in email-translation, or some other version of it was just a big misunderstanding happened.

I’m thankful that something I’d been stewing on was indeed, an unintended oversight.   The air is clear and life is indeed good.

Gretchen wrote a very happy post about some of the friends we see on our walks.   I’m glad she left out the snakes, newts, lizards…   At least I’ve raised a little girl with a VERY diverse collection of friends!

photo.JPGSo…  I thought I’d share some of their “off-road” moments with you.   Here, they’re sporting their Insectshield bandanas and taking a scent map-reading pause.  (I just discovered Insectshield no longer sells retail…  you can find dog goodies under the Buff name through many retailers.  I was given Insectshield bandanas by the company to try, and we are big fans, but haven’t purchased the “new to us” Buff version yet.)

photo.JPG

DIVA poses here by the new trail-block.  Seems the same system that produced hail and some tornadoes north of us last week took down some of the dead wood in the woods.  Our most rustic trails are currently not usable, but that’s okay because they were beyond the maintained paths anyway.  We’ll visit them again this fall, once the snakes and ticks have disappeared for the cool months.

photo.JPGWe really enjoy walking by the river too.  There are a couple of boat landings on our route, and this is the least-used of the two, but oddly, is the girls’ favorite.   Sis is VERY careful to stay on the shallow ledge, and Gg prefers to wade in creeks and streams, but will sometimes venture to the edge as well.

Do you do any off-road walking?

16 comments on “Happy Trails

  1. Grace Schweer Yaskovic says:

    I have so much trouble walking on sidewalks, I can’t imagine off roading it any more, there was a time we used to hike everywhere with the kids—I hate not being mobile!

  2. Kari says:

    I use to not do any off road walking because with Fred and his nose it was a pain in the ass going where ever a 110pd bloodhound wanted to go! Lately we have started to take Haylie off the beaten path as we say 🙂 Most of our time is spent at the lake swimming instead of walking with her.

  3. gmariesews says:

    We do some off roading – depending on where we are. It’s mostly when we go to the vet and the take a celebratory walk afterwards.

    Do I have thankfuls today? Not sure I’m feeling the love these days: Let’s see: I love how green the grass is this time of year, I’m thankful for the blooming wisteria in my yard finally after about 8 years, I’m thankful for girlfriends and laughter and the owner of the restaurant who lets us take up a booth for hours, I’m thankful I still have a job no matter how stressful – not having one would be moreso.

    g

  4. AlisonH says:

    We are half a mile from the marshes along the side of the San Francisco Bay, and if you take some of the walking trails around there, you can see pelicans, great cranes, great blue herons, red-winged blackbirds… And if you’re really lucky, an occasional peregrine falcon, I’m told. I haven’t walked through there for years because of the sun issue, but you’re getting me thinking that near sundown some time I really ought to get out there again. Thank you!

  5. Nichole says:

    Great photos! I had no idea Insectshield stopped selling retail… interesting! That was indeed one of the best reviews w/ freebie I was able to include, wasn’t it?

  6. Blond Duck says:

    I wish we had trails like that!

  7. Awe…how fun! Love the pictures. Also it’s great to clear the air! I have something I need to get cleared but I just can’t bring myself to confront the person yet. 😦

  8. Marjie says:

    I read in my paper that DEET filled sprays like Deep Woods Off keep ticks away. So maybe that will help you and the Knight. After all, those walkies look like such fun, you’d not want to miss them, would you?

  9. kathy b says:

    Hucky and I always off road walked….so fun. I can imagine him trotting down a trail now though….something beautiful about our horse paths nearby.
    I just emailed my friend re: insectashields…she has everything for her dogs…this will make her shop happy!

  10. Sue says:

    Missouri has a trail that runs the entire length of the state and it goes right behind our house. It’s great for dog walks and for training too, but there are snakes and bugs and bats and a lot of other critters. Last night we heard an awful noise coming from the woods where an animal of some sort was suffering. The dogs wanted to come right inside and Rob and I listened for a while but couldn’t stand it for long. We’re guessing a small creature was attacked by either a coyote or our resident owl.

  11. Katherine says:

    Oh gosh I hate it when that happens–the stewing over something said thing. The problem is that I’m usually the one that says the wrong thing and have to try to make it right. I’m sorry that it happened to you but I am glad to hear that you have been able to accept it as an honest mistake/misspeak and go on!!

    I would love to walk the pups along the trail near our house but it is just too hot! I’m looking forward to fall.

  12. Anita says:

    That looks like a wonderful walk! I wish I could join you guys. 🙂

  13. Barbara S. says:

    Like I said to G, bathtubs, not getting presents, and Miss O (sometimes).
    I don’t do many off road walks this time of year because our woods/fields/etc are full of ticks of several types. And even in non-tick season, off-road excursions just aren’t the same anymore.

  14. It’s been a while, but my favorite “off road” walking is on paths through the Redwoods, along the beach, and up around Emerald Bay at Lake Tahoe. Rumour has it we’re gonna do a hike in August…

  15. Mary says:

    Not much off-road walking due to a knee without an ACL. Uneven terrain is not kind to unstable knees. Not much street walking, either :).

  16. Not much off road walking, but I used to love it. Although, the walking path around the lake is starting to qualify as “off road”. If parts of it wash away any more, people will have to start jumping. lol

Leave a Reply

