Why I Can’t do Horror

… or, a tribute to the late, great Ray Bradbury

Okay, so it isn’t all his fault… but we’ll get back to him.  I think Scooby Doo cartoons were my first nightmare muses.   (I love Wikipedia even more for classifying the kid’s show as horror… along with other things, but still… maybe I’m not the only one who had nightmares!)

Heck, I wanted to grow up to be a cross between Daphne (redhead on the left) and Thelma (behind the PANK book!), but I’ve always had a vivid, wild imagination, and those scary, animated monsters were just too much for my sub-conscious.

I also remember some vampire black and white movies at camp before we read Something Wicked This Way Comes, and I think I even asked my english teacher if I had to watch the movie…  I did.  And I had bad dreams. 

Still, I remember being unable to put the book down.  Mr. Bradbury could WRITE.   Think Tom Sawyer in the 20th Century at a carnival…  We did a whole rites of passage themed semester or quarter or something that year, and each of those books stuck with me. 

Did you read any Bradbury?  Do you enjoy horror – in movies or books?

16 comments on “Why I Can’t do Horror

  1. gmariesews says:

    I don’t think I have read Bradbury. And I’m not a fan of horror. I used to be okay with it – until High School when a girlfriend and I were on a double date to either a Freddy Movie or a Friday the 13th. The boys excused themselves for some reason, came back, sat in the row behind us and at the perfect moment grabbed our ankles. Oh how we screamed!! I haven’t enjoyed a horror movie since. Not even suspense. Can’t do it. Mean boys!!!! g

  2. kathy b says:

    I cannot do horror. I can barely do Chicagos nightly news. Funny you mention nightmares, I have been plagued by them lately. I just can’t shake them, many a night..

  3. Katherine says:

    I don’t like horror but love Sci Fi. I love all of Ray Bradbury, but the book that has gone with me through my life (on the bookshelf and with me through every move) is Dandilion Wine. My favorite line from Bradbury is, “The water was silk in the cup; clear, faintly blue silk. It softened the lip and the throat and the heart, if drunk.” WOW!!

  4. Nancy says:

    I love Bradbury’s work! My students enjoyed reading some of his short stories.

  5. Blond Duck says:

    I don’t like horror.

  6. Marjie says:

    I hate horror anything, because I have vivid nightmares. And finding me running around like a crazy person screaming in the middle of the night is no one’s idea of a good time. I read Fahrenheit 451 for the first time 2 summers ago, with Ryan, as you know from my post yesterday, and have to say that Bradbury was genius. I need to find more of his works!

  7. Sue says:

    I don’t care for horror, sci fi or even mysteries, though I did read Fahrenheit 451 long ago. I usually get all the others second hand from Rob, who loves them.

    I used to get dragged to all the bad movies, too until Sue and I realized we could send the boys together while we went shopping.

  8. My poor husband hasn’t watched very many scary movies because I REFUSE to watch them! 🙂 I can freak myself with nothing…don’t need help.

  9. Nichole says:

    I was a much bigger horror fan in my younger years….

  10. Walden121 says:

    Have not read any of his books. I am always a fan of horror, grew up watching movies and reading books. I don’t find many things scary . . . I do not do zombies though, most definitely not!

  11. Mary says:

    The only horror I do is the daily commute to/from DC.

  12. AlisonH says:

    Totally no on the horror. Never saw the point.

    Ray Bradbury, though–I had an English lit prof who wanted the class to end on a good note, so we celebrated his Dandelion Wine together.

  13. Barbara says:

    I always classify Bradbury as sci fi,which I like fairly well. Horror not so much. Although there sure is a crossover between the two. I remember the first “horror” movie I saw..it was called THEM. Or at least the first I remember. 😉 I have the DVD, which now breaks me up.
    Special effects now make such a difference.

  14. Amy says:

    I’ve never read any of his works. I love horror, but more in the visual format than the literary one. The one horror I’ve read is ‘Drood’, but it is also historical fiction. But I LOVE horror movies, ‘House of 1000 Corpses’ being my favorite!

  15. No horror for this girl either! What I have read of Bradbury, I liked. Mostly remembering the Martian Chronicles and The Illustrated Man. Big Sci-fi fan from waaay back in the day here.

  16. Karen says:

    I love Ray Bradbury, and was sad to hear the news. My all time favorite is The Electric Grandmother, although I loved just about everything he wrote. I agree with you that the Scooby Doo monsters were frightening, but I loved them. Lol.

Leave a Reply

