Another Dog-gone Good Cozy Series

Cover for book #4

I had plenty to do over the weekend, but I got sucked into Tupelo and the Southern Cousins Mystery Series by Peggy Webb.   There are four books out now, with #5 due out later this year.   I’m going to review the whole series, and try to avoid spoilers.

Clearly, the reason I was drawn to this series is because of Elvis.  He’s a basset Sissy could love, and he thinks he   is the reincarnation of none other than the King of Rock ‘n Roll himself.  

I confess…  as with most cozies, I didn’t really consider the books until a friend read them first and assured me I’d enjoy them.  Frankly, the blurb on Amazon had me thinking it was going to be way too silly for my liking, and maybe if Elvis wasn’t a basset after Sissy’s own heart, it would have been.

… or maybe not.  I can REALLY relate to the two main characters, Callie (Carolina Valentine Jones) and her best friend cousin Lovie Valentine.  Callie owns a hair salon and Lovie is a caterer.  Callie is a very refined Southern belle with spunk, and Lovie is vivacious and sassy.  Think Julia and Suzanne Sugarbaker of Designing Women fame.   Callie isn’t uptight like Julia and Lovie isn’t at all self-absorbed (well… only when it comes to her sex life), but you get the point.  It talks about sex a lot more than most cozies, but even yours truly who doesn’t care for hot and heavy romance in her reading wasn’t put off.  

Book #1

I adore the Elvis’s point of view chapters.  Generally, Callie is the narrator, but Elvis has a very different spin on things.  It’s also refreshing to know I’m not the only one who is sure her dogs have deep thoughts of their own!

It’s definitely SOUTHERN reading.  If you’ve ever wondered what life in a small southern town is like, you’ll get a very real feel from these books.  Everyone knows everyone else’s business. 

However, if I had to pick a favorite not-main character, it might be Fayrene.  This blogger has a fun notion about which actors might play which charcters…  I tend to disagree a bit, but anyhoo…  Fayrene is the queen of malapropisms, and particularly in book #4, she had me literally laughing out loud.  Haven’t we all had a malaprop master in our lives?

What should I read next?

 

 

8 comments on “Another Dog-gone Good Cozy Series

  1. gmariesews says:

    Those books sound fun. I’ve been on a Kristen Hannah kick. So – nice relaxing weekend for you, eh? g

  2. Katherine says:

    What fun!! I’m on the way to Amazon Kindle downloads now. Hope they have this series.

    Of course dogs have deep thoughts!! Macy shares hers with me when I am truly listening.

  3. Mary says:

    To follow gmarie, I am on a Paris kick…The Paris Wife, Paris in Love, and coming up soon, Lunch in Paris. Also just finished Adrianna Trigiani’s The Shoemaker’s Wife and in the middle of Anna Quindlen’s newest book. Lots of Candles…(since she is just a year or so younger than me, it is easy to identify with her musings at this stage of life).

  4. Nichole says:

    What cute book covers! Sounds like a fun series!

  5. Marjie says:

    I just reach out and grab something when I want to read. Real book, free ebook, whatever. There was a good editorial by Llewellyn King in my paper today, entitled Books’ Long Goodbye, which lamented the decline of traditional books in favor of electronic ones. I’m afraid I have to agree; there’s nothing like the feel of the paper to suck you in, even if you don’t just love the book. I’m sure Sissy appreciated you reading about a dashing Bassett Dude. Now, to find a JRT dude next….

  6. Nancy says:

    Well written review. I’ll check them out. Thanks

  7. Blond Duck says:

    I love the name Callie. I’ve been thinking about writing romances…

  8. AlisonH says:

    Legacies: A Chinese Mosaic, by Bette Bao Lord is on my list.

Leave a Reply

