Bag Bother

Something like the offenders

I’m feeling a bit like Eeyore today.  It’s raining.  I didn’t get enough sleep last night.  I have on pants I don’t love –

I’m going to interrupt myself right there.  I’m going to go home, toss these pups in the laundry, and then send them to GoodWill.   Life’s too short to wear clothes that bring me down.  I don’t love them because they don’t fit…  Note to self.  You are NOT high-waisted.  You had some success with higher-waisted pants before, but not now. 

In fact, I tend to know that trying to wear pants will yield a less than happy day.  Jeans?  No problem.  Leggings?  No problem.  But anything designed to be a “trouser” or “dress pants”… for reasons unclear to me, they never have and probably never will fit me.  Anyone else have that problem?

Anyway, back to the original, intended topic.  About those bags…

April 2012 005Big Buddha is a big fail.  I’ll keep it and use it for its intended purpose… that good-sized travel handbag that can double as a tote in a pinch, but the interior slip pockets are rapidly becoming one pocket, as the stitching between the two lets go a little more every time I use it.   Even with the bargain price the Knight found on eBay, I am so thoroughly unimpressed and won’t consider this brand again.  Pity…  Love me some pretty pleather, and the size, shape and appearance of this bag REALLY make me happy. 

April 2012 007I switched to the JL khaki tote with its own scarf.  Meh.   The interior slip pockets are too wide and too shallow.  No feet on the bottom.  It doesn’t hold its shape at all, so all of that combined makes me completely uninclined to have a zipper sewn in the top.  It will be retired after this week’s round of meetings in favor of a lighter summer bag, probably a small crossbody.

In short, it looks best as it hangs, right there.  I think I’ll untie the scarf, press it, and put it in my closet to be used as a belt and/or scarf.

I’m thinking that for the next year, I need a small bag that is happy to tuck into a larger tote for League business.  I must look like a pack mule with a fairly large bag over my shoulder and my stuffed to the gills tote tagging along. 

Here’s what I carry in my bag:

photo.JPGFor now, I am using my Tig wallet, because it also doubles as a quick clutch when the Knight and I head out for dinner. 

However, it is also much bigger than what I really need, so I am pondering a switch back to one of my little wristlets.  (Link to post that features both the Tig wallet and wristlets.)

I also carry a large Vera Bradley glasses case and business card holder.

I hesitate to mention the little cosmetic bag, because I seriously open it about twice a year.  I don’t miss it when I don’t have it, and it takes up a ton of space.

In the zippered interior pocket, I carry that key ring full of those stupid cards for every store I might shop in, a charger for my iPhone/iPad, more lip balm (because I also have some in my wallet and lipstick in the cosmetic bag), and … more.

Obviously it goes without saying, the iPhone goes everywhere I go.  The iPad only goes to meetings, the poor red-headed stepchild.

The bag saga continues.

This entry was posted in Bags.

11 comments on “Bag Bother

  1. gmariesews says:

    Hmm – I didn’t sleep well either. I’m exhausted and having a rough morning. I just bought a new bag myself – we’ll see if it works. I don’t wear slacks. Jean and yoga pants – but nothing dressy. If I want to dress up – it’s a skirt or dress for me. 🙂 g

  2. Katherine says:

    Have you tried taking your slacks to a tailor and having them fitted. They can shorten the waist band and do amazing things with the legs. I have to have about every third pair I buy tailored.

    I know how you feel because I spend my life searching for the perfect bag. One after another they march through my life–living with me and failing to please me and then disappearing. My daughter has a Louis Vuitton satchel that she has had for at least 15 years. It is her one and only bag. I can’t seem to be that monogamous with a bag!!

  3. AlisonH says:

    Good luck. A good bag is hard to find.

  4. Nichole says:

    Sorry to hear Buddha was a fail…. boo! Have you ordered a tote with your Calico Dragon bags gift certificate that you won on my blog yet?

  5. Blond Duck says:

    Have you tried fossil?

  6. Kathy says:

    Not a good day, huh? Bad pants will do that to you every time! Hopefully it’s almost time to go home, change into something comfortable, and relax with your pups.

  7. After my zuma bag’s handles started creasing…I have been in bag purgatory! I want another zuma but don’t want to spend the money on it. I’m not sure what I will do! I use my vera bradley diaper bag on weekends and LOVE it!!! I just need a nice one for the week.

  8. Mary says:

    Along the lines of Katherine’s response, I recently read that many Parisian women have most of their clothes fitted by a tailor which is why they look so stylish and comfortable. Of course, I also read that their tailors don’t cost an arm and a leg.

    Sorry about the bag saga. I am using my regularly using my ebags: (piazza purse) and another (discontinued) large tote for work. If my tote isn’t totally full, I can put the other bag in it and reduce it to one,

  9. kathy b says:

    Oh dear…..well bringing your charger with you is an awesome idea…..
    I too hate wearing pants that make me uncomfortable! Must find the perfect purse for Chan!!!!
    You are missing one component in that bag that I always have with me: a stitch marker! ha ha

  10. km says:

    My wardrobe is mostly skirts/dresses and jeans. The jeans I LOVE right now are from White House Black Market. They are worth the $98 I paid for them. I’m in a bag dilemma too. I returned the le sac bag that had handles too short for me. This summer I’m going to finally sew the lining and attach the handles to a felted bag that I made YEARS ago. My dad picked out the yarn and paid for it…that’s how long ago I knit it. Before I felted it R fit in it as a “sleeping bag”. Even if that bag has issues, it is so special to me that I’ll carry it to meetings for a long time.

  11. Sue says:

    I have the same problem with trousers. I think you need long legs to look really good in them and my legs are short. My sister got the long legs, but she was at the end of the line when they passed out brains. Oh well, you can’t have everything.

    You need to write a list of your likes and dislikes in a bag and find someone who can create it for you. Then you have lots of them made and sell them because you’ll probably find lots of women who want the same things. I’ll bet most of the designers are men who wouldn’t know what we really want.

Leave a Reply

