Brand loyalty?

Lilly’s Zizi in Top of the Column

Are you brand-loyal?  I have friends who are VERY loyal to the brands they like best.  I don’t think I am…  I do tend to favor a few brands – Lilly P – but it’s more a matter of convenience and fit than that I’d never look elsewhere. 

I have on my new Orthoheel “flip flops”.  I can’t wear your standard flip flop, because of the nerve damage in my feet, especially on the left side.  I can’t curl my toes, so the shoes won’t stay on.  However, Orthoheel’s design is all about support and alignment – something my back and I need – so, I’m giving them a try. 

So far, so good, but it’s too soon to tell.  I haven’t had an adjustment period, as I do when I slip on my Birkenstocks after several months of not wearing them at all.  I can tell you that the recessed heel keeps them on my feet though.

Are you brand-loyal, or do you just go back to what works because it works?  Is there a difference?

14 comments on “Brand loyalty?

  1. Maureen says:

    I bought the blue in the Orthaheel.
    I have two other pairs of Orthaheel. I so need the help with my feet and cute shoes. I also wear Chaco flip flops as they have the built in arch support too.

  2. StarSpry says:

    Those look like cool shoes. I hope they continue to work well for you! There are certain brands that I like, but I wouldn’t necessarily say I’m brand-loyal. I tend to get things more on how much I like the looks of it versus the name alone.

  3. gmariesews says:

    I’m not necessarily brand loyal I just buy what I want. Those sandals are adorable. So what else are you wearing with them? g

  4. kn1tty cat says:

    Looking forward to hearing how they do for you! (oh, GMarie – just the flops – but that’s just for the Knight!)

  5. Katherine says:

    I love the heel on that shoe!

    My daughter swears that when you open my closet you hear a chorus sing, “Hail Ralph Lauren!” So, I guess I am brand loyal a little.

  6. Nancy says:

    My motto: “Regardless of the brand, if it fits and is comfortable, I’ll purchase it.” The same for food products: “If it tastes good, I buy it – be it a brand or a generic.”

  7. Sue says:

    I used to be somewhat brand loyal, but I’ve been let down too often. They make these wonderful little “improvements” that are more about selling more product than actually improving, or they change ingredients ( think dog food). So now I choose what’s best for us at the time and no brand loyalty. It has to be earned.

  8. Those are cute! I’m no where near brand loyal.. 🙂 I’m sales loyal!

  9. Mary says:

    Not totally brand loyal, but find that I end up buying certain brand clothing, shoes mainly because I can depend on the fit (about 80%) of the time. It isn’t about styling..it is all about comfort. And as Sue notes, so-called “improvements” by brands rarely are improvements and usually move me away from a brand.

  10. kathy b says:

    I guess I am brand DISLOYAL in reverse. For instance, I won’t buy anything Martha Stewart since her conviction. My son won’t let us buy NIKE anything. (or so we agree) I’d never buy anything Tiger Woods. and I won’t’ spend money in any store that mistreats its customers in any way. FYI an attorney has kept us waiting and waiting for meetings for the last appointments….I won’t use him again. My time is as valuable as his.

  11. Kathy says:

    I’m brand loyal to my toothpaste. Once a friend declared that you are either a Crest person or a Colgate person and never change. I am a Crest person.

    Oh, and Wheat Thins. I am very loyal to them.

  12. Not truly brand loyal here. I buy what works best, which is often different brands for different members of the family. Some brands I love a lot, but still don’t always buy beause of pricing issues…

  13. Louise says:

    When it comes to wearables, I’m going to have to say no. I use to be a Levi girl but quite frankly, not so much anymore. They are just not the same. I have found a new “brand” of sneakers I adore (new to me since I always wore Keds:) Skechers but unfortunately, they have discontinued the one and only style I liked so finding my faves is not easy! And, I LUV my Mac(s)!

  14. Walden121 says:

    Yes and no, I do mostly as you were saying . . . I am loyal to those brands because they give me what I am looking for in an item. It’s not to say I wouldn’t look for something equivalent or better though.

Leave a Reply

