Little Things

Little things have been coming up in conversations lately.  I instinctively think of Saint Therese, saint of the little things.  However, while I’ve petitioned her recently for a seemingly “little thing” in the grand scheme of things, this post is more about the little things we can do to make the world a better place.  Most are free and/or almost effortless.

ARS rain boots

Firstly, do you click?  I get a daily reminder from the Animal Rescue Site, but while I’m there, I click over to their sibling sites and click away.   Every once in a while, I’ll shop there too, for even greater good.  Those “wellies” may have accidentally found their way to my home.  I don’t wear wellies regularly, but about twice a year, I wish I had a pair.  Right now, my trendiest, cutest friends are wearing them with super-stylish dresses, skirts, leggings, and of course, they look fab over skinny jeans!  I figure these will go with everything.

Do you save boxtops?  Boxtops for Education is an easy way to support schools.  No, I am not a teacher and don’t have a student in my home, but I have friends who teach, so MJ and I donate our boxtops to them.  You can also sign up so any “online boxtops” you earn go to the school of your choice as well. 

I’m on a slippery slope, because I can’t mention or link to EVERYONE with a similar program.  However I encourage you to check with your local grocery stores and see if you can sign up so your reward points go to the school of your choice, and before to put that box in the recycling bin, make sure there isn’t a boxtop or some other opportunity to support a charity/your community on there. 

What little things do you do to make a difference?

 

14 comments on “Little Things

  1. gmariesews says:

    great reminder. I do boxtops and soup labels and pile them on my counter and then give them to the neighbor girls. I don’t click, but I should – it’s pain and effortless. g

  2. I approve of these links. 🙂 As long as no more Vera! 😉 hehe! Thanks for sharing

  3. Katherine says:

    We do a lot of pet related community sharing but you have helped me realize that I need to do more people type things. Thanks for the kick with the cute boots!!

    BTW I wish I had seen those boots before I bought my froggy-green Wellies!

  4. Nancy says:

    Yes, I save the boxtops and Campbell’s soup labels for my church’s school. I also register for the grocery store rewards program for the school as well as support them by purchasing Scrip cards (gift cards) for various merchants that give a certain percentage back to the school. All told, it’s an easy and painless way to help the school.

  5. AlisonH says:

    Smile at strangers, particularly tired parents and their tired kids who could so much use someone thinking the little one is cute. Saying to the small child when there’s a baby, Are you the big brother/sister? In a way that lets them be proud rather than the child crowded out for attention.

  6. Marjie says:

    I’m nice to Kevin even when he drills my teeth, and friendly to his staff. Does that count? That’s about all I have in me these days. More drilling today; fingers crossed that it’s the end, but I don’t think so. And still I’ll be nice to everyone.

  7. StarSpry says:

    Those are cute boots! I click daily at the Animal Rescue Site, and all it’s sibling sites.

    I also visit Freekibble and Freekibblekat daily to answer their trivia question. They provide 10 pieces of kibble to Animal Shelters to help feed hungry dogs & cats whether the answer is right or wrong.

  8. Nichole says:

    Now those are some CUTE wellies!

  9. kathy b says:

    WEll on a good night I’ll recycle the baby bottles at work. You don’t even want to know what effort this requires do to JAHCO regulations. We did box tops when the kids were in school. Being a foster for the kittens gets costly so that’s my big donation……
    but you have me thinking. Perhaps a click wouldn’t hurt!

  10. Mary says:

    Like Allison, I usually try to help parents with kids by holding the doors when I see one of them coming with a big stroller even if it means waiting a few extra moments, or by letting a parent with babies or small children go ahead of me in line at the grocery store, or helping out a parent during a flight. I remember flying somewhere with my two oldest children who were 3 1/2 yrs and 6 mos old at the time. I became ill during the flight and the flight attendant and a gentleman behind me were so kind to me…the man took the six mo old (he was a father of 8) for the duration of the flight and the FA was very solicitous of me. My oldest was quiet and well-behaved, but I always think of them when I pay it forward.

    Ha…cute boots. Got jealous of my doggy boots, eh? 🙂

  11. Wellies for Chan! How fun. Little things…I’m such a trained recyler that I even pick up cans and bottles on my walks…I’m always looking for little ways to make a difference for the folks around me…lately it has been Monday night dinner delivery for a just-moved friend.

  12. Sue says:

    In Maryland we did a lot of those things like saving receipts. Here we have to get more creative. We collect dog and cat food coupons for the shelter. We also take them old collars, leashes and blankets.

    I knit blankets for the shelter and knit baby items for the hospital. It’s also fun for me to make baby things so I count it as a twofer.

  13. Most of the kids’ teachers ask for boxtops. We usually save some each year to donate. Love, love, love the animal rescue site! They have such cute stuff in their store. : )

Leave a Reply

