2 Million Dogs

Happy Thorsday, little friday and thankful thursday.  Today we’re rolling it all into one… I’m thankful I stumbled across another great dog cause.

Have you heard of 2 Million Dogs?   Their premise is simple.  Cancer.  Touches.  Everyone.   You can read more about them here, or you and your dog(s) can become part of the 2 million dogs walking to draw attention to cancer.   There isn’t a walk near us, and Gretchen doesn’t do well with strange dogs, but I’m still toying with the idea of starting a walk in our area.   (You know, because I have all this free time when I’m not working, running a non-profit, walking 30+ miles a week with the fur-girls, blogging, reading, being an administrative member of our fire company…)

Some things are THAT important.   Cancer awareness, canine cancer awareness, finding a way to support friends…   Are any of my local pals up for a little walk in a local dog-friendly area for a good cause?  (At midnight, under a blue moon, because I think that’s the only time I’ll be available… hem.)

The fur-girls have a special call for support up today too. 

I’m thankful for Toyota’s 100 Cars for Good campaign on Facebook, because that’s how I learned of 2 Million Dogs.  I’m not naive enough to think that these companies are purely philanthropic; I took marketing in college and am getting a refresher course as the JLC has its first-ever Marketing Vice President now to keep us focused on our brand and message.   I realize what I see as heart-warming charity is really a tax write-off, but I still am impressed with companies that put their money into something other than their top executives’ pockets.

And since I’m composing this at home the night before, I am ridiculously grateful for the 1987 “musical” and that the Knight knows every line and every song by heart…  Dirty Dancing.  (No coincidences… guess why Patrick Swayze left us too soon?)  Music is memories.  I saw this movie on my first college date, in Georgetown, just so you know.

Or as Eric Church puts it, “…funny how a melody sounds like a memory…”  The entire Dirty Dancing Soundtrack – both albums – would have to be in the soundtrack of my life.

What is it about the first summer heatwave that makes me think in song lyrics?

What music and/or movies are you grateful for?

19 comments on “2 Million Dogs

  1. Nichole says:

    I saw you post some of their stuff on facebook last night – I’m going to have to check it out!

  2. gMarie says:

    last night we listened to the 70s music chanel while knitting and it was full of memories. We sang and talked about which songs were our favorite which bands and who saw whom in concert. Love Dirty Dancing it’s one of those movies I will watch every.single.time it comes on.

    June’s walk supported canine cancer. And I got to meet the new young Dudley Dog ::melt:: he gave me kisses.

    Thankfuls — healthy dogs::friends::knitting::having a job that pays the mortgage::summer!

    g

  3. Nancy says:

    My sister was recently diagnosed with leukemia and began chemo treatments on Monday. Your post is a reminder that more research is needed to find more-humane treatments or better yet, a cure.

  4. StarSpry says:

    I hadn’t heard about them until I saw your post on Facebook last night. Sounds like a great cause!

  5. Katherine says:

    I love Dirty Dancing and have probably seen it a dozen times. When my daughter and I get depressed over missing Carrie, the sister/daughter who left us too soon, we watch her favorite movie, The Bodyguard. She would make us watch it for hours–over and over until we screamed, “no more!!” and vowed never to watch it again. Now it is a comfort and reminder that she is still with us!

  6. Marjie says:

    I never saw Dirty Dancing, believe it or not. And I shut off the radio in late 1983, just before my first son was born, because I believed I’d be a better mother if what I hear is my children instead of a radio. So how’s that for waaaaayyyyy out of the norm?

  7. Sue says:

    I hadn’t heard of 2 million dogs, but I’ll check it out. I like that Subaru supports the ASPCA and does dog friendly ads on TV.

    Music brings so many memories to me, both good ones and not so good ones. A song can change my mood very quickly. I think I need some cheerful music today. Samba has yet another infection.

  8. Mary says:

    When we bought our ‘Subie’ in December, the dealership was running a share the love campaign that donated $500 to the selected charities of your choice. SPCA was one of our choices. The dealership is heavily involved in supporting community causes all year round which is one reason we bought where we did.

    I can’t help but think of musicals when music and movies are said together, but then I am old. Music to The Way We Were takes me right back into 1973 walking out of a Minneapolis theater while crying my eyes out. Music from South Pacific reminds me of my childhood watching it with my Mom, aunt and cousins in a huge London cinema that had multiple balconies (truly nosebleed sections). Ditto Singin in the Rain, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, The King and I, High Society….I could go on and on. When went to the cinema (and theatre) a lot when I was growing up in London. I can still sing remember most of the lyrics when I watch these shows lo these many years later.

  9. Amy says:

    Even though it was way before my time, I’m a huge of 1970’s ‘AM Radio’ in the summer time. That, and I love to listen to bluegrass on a sunny day, sitting on the porch snapping beans or spinning yarn. It always reminds me of my Grandma.

    I’m not a huge fan of ‘Dirty Dancing’, but there is no denying how wonderful Patrick Swayze was. He was truly an amazing actor (Red Dawn, To Wong Foo, and Road House are my three favorites!)

  10. kathy b says:

    Hmmm, I ll have to ask my bro in law, who studies cancer in dogs at Univ. Of minnesota about this campaign….

    Summer Songs: Grease for me. (I’m much older than you!)
    Summer movies: ET, Jurassick park

  11. kathy b says:

    oh and N O Body puts baby in a corner…
    I LOVE DD

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I love that new Zac Brown Band song!

  13. AlisonH says:

    Marjie: I did too.

    Sally Rogers. I used to sing to my first baby a song I heard her sing at the Folkway Inn in Peterborough, NH. “Where are you going my little one, little one, where are you going my baby my love, turn around and you’re two, turn around and you’re four, turn around and you’re a young woman walking out of my door.”

    That baby just turned 30. I knew it was coming all along.

  14. AlisonH says:

    Got me to go look. We got to hear her talk about her grandmother, who was told she was throwing away her education to marry a farmer from Michigan–and how much that grandmother taught her children and grandchildren and raised them right. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4sPoNCvKI8&feature=related

  15. Blond Duck says:

    I’m thankful for friends like you!

  16. needles54 says:

    I so miss Patrick Swayze, some day I have to get that sound track!!!

  17. Erich Trapp says:

    Thanks for the kind words about 2 Million Dogs. We would love to have you do a Puppy Up! Walk at midnight, under a blue moon — it would be the first and sounds like fun! While we didn’t win the Toyota contest, we made new friends, got our message out to a lot of people who hadn’t yet heard about us, and the vehicle went to another great cause involving animals. If any of your readers want to see what we’re up to now, please visit our website and check out our walks (most are coming up in November so you have plenty of time to plan ahead) and the 5th annual “Cancer Can’t Keep a Good Dog Down” calendar contest, now in progress. It will be our 5th! We’ve already started posting stories and photos on our blog of some of our contestants. Come see their beautiful faces and read their amazing stories. True canine heroes.

    Thanks again for telling your readers about us and we hope you’ll friend us on Facebook.

    Puppy Up!
    Erich, Bloginator for 2 Million Dogs

  18. gingermorgan says:

    Thanks for mentioning 2 Million Dogs! I’m the Executive Director, if you have any questions or need more info please contact me at ginger@2milliondogs.org!

  19. Oh wow…my childhood bff and I would watch that movie over and over again in the summer.

    Love the info on 2 Million Dogs. Off to visit their site now.

Leave a Reply

