Next Summer I Might…

Kathy had a cute post yesterday and asked a good question, “What won’t you do this summer?”  There’s a lot I won’t do this summer, but very little of it is anything I’d change.

DSCN2468

Sissy running on the beach 2009

We don’t go on summer vacations, and that’s fine with me.  I didn’t grow up going to the beach every summer, and we love the Outer Banks off-season.

I’m very busy this year with Junior League meetings, trainings, socials and such.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.  It took me a very long time to decide I wanted to be president of the JLC, and it is very rewarding to work with other talented, passionate women committed to making our community – and our organization – a better place.

However, next summer there will be a new president, and I’ll have free time, so it’s fun to ponder what I might do when I don’t have meetings more nights than not, and when I’m not tied to email.

So, next summer I might…

  • Take sewing lessons.
  • Sing in the choir again.
  • Train for a half marathon.  (As a walker, of course.  My back doesn’t run anymore.)
  • Start attending a knit night.
  • Knit more!
  • Read more books, as opposed to emails and League documents.
  • Plan a girlfriends retreat.
  • Cook dinner regularly rather than trying to figure out which of us is closer to our favorite take-out staples.

… but most likely, I’ll just throw myself into another project.

Anything exciting ahead for your weekend?

 

17 comments on “Next Summer I Might…

  1. Nichole says:

    Great list… I’d love to take some sewing lessons myself… and oh yea, knit more!

  2. StarSpry says:

    Great list! Even though it’s keeping you really busy, I’m glad you’re having such a good time being president of the JLC!

  3. Sue says:

    I wish I could find a good knitting group. This summer I want to start training again for possible competition and I’d like to teach myself to crochet. I can only do the very basics.

    Starting this weekend I’m making friends with my electronic sewing machine.

  4. That is a great list!! Girlfriend’s retreat sounds amazing! 🙂

  5. Katherine says:

    This weekend will be reading, knitting, relaxing, and pup-sitting with Max for DD who will be out of town on business. Pretty much the same as always, but I love it!!

    Loved your list!

  6. Next summer I’d like to…make it back to camp for at least a week, visit friends, read more, stress less!

  7. Nancy says:

    I usually visit my sisters in the summer but this year I went in May, so now I can enjoy my hometown and surrounding areas this summer. Road trip, anyone?

  8. gmariesews says:

    Next Summer I Might:
    ~use my deck more
    ~have the girls over for lunch on the deck
    ~declutter my house in a manner that is satifactory to both JB and myself
    ~do more / watch less
    ~walk the dogs more regularly
    ~take better care of myself.

    I will fly across the country to attend your girls retreat.

    Weekend – get my hair done, get my jewelry cleaned and checked, get my toes done. I think I’ll also sacrifice all housework to get some sewing done. g

  9. SusanB-knits says:

    I get to go see Olivia (the pig) with the grandkids! : )
    They all watch the cartoon show and I’ve read all the books to them.
    Then I get to go home and rest before starting the new week.

  10. Louise says:

    I love the sound of that, Channon; President of the JLC It has a nice Chan to it:) Let’s see,

    This may come as a surprise Channon but I won’t be going to so many Farmers’ Markets this summer. I have found a few local markets that I can trust to have actual locally raised products pesticide free and I’m going to stick with them:)

    I also won’t be driving as much this summer. I have rediscovered the joy of walking and I LOVE it! (this back doesn’t run either:)

    I won’t be making plans for next summer because I crave a bit more flexibility in my world and making plans means I just may have to stick to them!

    GREAT post!!! Have a scrumptious weekend!

    P.S. You know I’m all for cooking dinner regularly:) I may put that one on my next summer list:)

  11. Marjie says:

    I have to go pick up my serger this weekend, and take Ryan for a driving lesson or 2, maybe including one to the ice cream farm – yes, a real, live dairy farm with an ice cream store attached. Of course, he doesn’t know about that lesson yet. I’m going to finish up a flowered dress, and maybe start another. And maybe by tomorrow my gum will be healed enough to make me feel like eating real food (ah, Kevin, it’s a good thing I like you, even though you are a dentist, or after this root canal from hell I’d have all my teeth pulled and start over in plastic!). I don’t make long term plans, because I never get to them anyway.

  12. Barbara says:

    I’m laughing that you’re planning ahead for NEXT summer! 🙂

  13. kathy b says:

    fun to read your list and to read all the comments!

  14. AlisonH says:

    We’re doing the hairdryer-on-the-fridge’s freezer coils again. Fun. Knitting for relief after that.

  15. AlisonH says:

    Scratch that last one. Instead: I plan to knit at least five more cones of silk and a wool wedding present for my nephew’s bride.

  16. Amy says:

    We had a great weekend at Mount Vernon. It was so nice to get away!

    If you want to learn to sew, let me know. I’d be happy to teach you.

  17. Next summer, I’d love to relax instead of packing and unpacking a house! LOL

Leave a Reply

