Short-shorts

No, not THOSE short-shorts.  I’m talking about a novella, I suppose…  The Diary of Darcy J. Rhone.  

Full confessions…  Emily Giffin was one of the speakers back when the JLC did Literary Feast.   Her books are definitely in what I’d call the “beach read” category, which is to say they’re easy to read, heavy on relationship drama.  However, having the advantage of hearing her speak and even to have chatted with her personally,  I will note that even not-heavy reading can deal with heavy issues.  Giffin forever changed the way I refer to my own not-a-mother status; I am not childless, as in something is missing from my life.  I am child-free by choice, which is far more empowering.

More confessions.  Darcy is NOT my favorite character.   In fact, I don’t like her one tiny bit, and that was before I got to see inside her tiny teenage mind.  And boy, is it narrow, small, self-absorbed… you get the point!   So unless you’re a fan of Giffin’s work and/or already familiar with Darcy, I can’t do anything other than steer you away from this little read, even if you did enjoy Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret.  in grade school. 

HOWEVER.  If you have read Something Borrowed and you’re familiar with Darcy, it’s a light read that will make you chuckle, roll your eyes, and probably remember your own high school drama – and I’m not talking about the drama department.  

I did read it via i-stuff and the Kindle app.  That’s my favorite way to read, because I can start something on my iPhone while waiting somewhere on someone, pick up where I left off on my iPad, and those smart little devices keep me all synched!

What did you finish weekend?

12 comments on “Short-shorts

  1. gmariesews says:

    I like Emily Giffin. Have I read Something Borrowed? Hmmm, I know I’ve looked at it a time or two. What did I finished this weekend? a top, a dress, 2 bags and a pair of socks. Oh and a book too. Haven’t started a new book yet – but I did start a new pair of socks. g

  2. kathy b says:

    I finished WORKING for 2 weeks. YIPPEE

    I love the term child free instead of child less! WOnderful wording.

    I finished a yarn contest and you won..hee hee

    I finished a fruit tart with the help of my family ..yum

  3. Katherine says:

    I have never read Emily Griffin but maybe I should! My teen years were definitely not without drama. If God offered me the chance to do my life over I would ask if I could start after the teen years!!

    It seems I didn’t finish anything this weekend, unless you count an episode of Wilfred. Love that dog! I hope our dogs don’t think the kinds of things that he does.

  4. Nancy says:

    I haven’t read anything other than the paper for over a month. I need to start setting aside time to read the stack of books on the nightstand.

  5. AlisonH says:

    We finished the fridge. It works! It works!

  6. Kathy says:

    I finished my Spiral thingie over the weekend! I finished the laundry! Those were my main “finishes” over the weekend.

    I haven’t read Emily Giffin, but I did see the movie version of Something Borrowed.

  7. Amy says:

    I’m almost finished a shawlette … almost. I had planned on getting at least the second section finished but exhaustion took over. That and I can’t seem to put down the new book that I’m reading, ‘Clash of Kings’, from the George RR Martin series (Song of Ice and Fire – Game of Thrones and all that.)

  8. Blond Duck says:

    “The Princess of Iowa!”

  9. Finish? I was supposed to finish something?! I’ve nearly finished losing my mind…does that count?

  10. Barbara says:

    Mainly, I watched rain and wind this weekend. Still a bit of it today. Are you getting any of it?
    So, yes, lots of reading. Actually some Clive Cussler, who I love for light reads, much to the chagrin of my daughter.

  11. Marjie says:

    Look for Dark Horse on Kindle ebooks. It’s pretty good. I read it Sunday. I finished one dress, didn’t start another (even though it’s already cut out), and had ice cream….but you know about that already. I checked last night, and I have over 250 ebooks on my kindle…some classics, some new. Oh, and you ought to read Diary of a Woman Homesteader, free on kindle.

    Child free is a good term for a choice you made. If we didn’t all make different choices, the world would be pretty dull indeed.

  12. Sue says:

    I haven’t read her stuff and based on your experience I probably won’t. I joined the group on Ravelry called ‘Child Free By Choice’. It’s nice to know there are others who actually gave it some thought.

Leave a Reply

