Pure…

Yesterday evening we had another great Junior League opportunity.   A member used her connections and we got a preview class at Pure Barre.  

Here’s a description from their website:

Pure Barre is the fastest, most effective way to change the shape of your body. Using small isometric movements at the ballet barre set to motivating music, Pure Barre lifts your seat, tones your thighs, abs and arms and burns fat in record breaking time. Clients see results in just 10 classes, lose inches in weeks and have fun doing it!

I don’t know how fast one sees results, but we definitely got a great workout and had fun doing it. 

Pure Barre technique is:

  • Pure fun.
  • Pure intensity.
  • Pure…ly do-able without learning fancy footwork.
  • Pure…ly adaptable to your fitness level and/or limitations.
  • Pure…ly addictive.  I want to go back!

Our class had women of varying degrees of fitness and flexibility, and the instructor kept an eye on each of us and assured our success.   I have some pretty serious restrictions with my back, but I didn’t even need to modify anything in the particular class we had yesterday, nor did I even make the instructor aware of my plight.   I do understand from my friend who is a new instructor that each instructor teaches a different routine, so once I’ve tried a few more, I’ll be better able to speak to how well it works for those of us with some limitations, but I already know there’s at least one well-suited to my needs.  Given my experience and my candid discussion with my friend before I signed up, I am comfortable saying they are a friendly environment for most any special consideration.

Has anyone else tried the Pure Barre technique?

What’s up for the weekend?

 

 

This entry was posted in Fitness.

13 comments on “Pure…

  1. Katherine says:

    It sounds interesting so I checked for Pure Barre around Fort Worth. Nothing! They are in Dallas but that’s 50 minutes away. I guess I’ll stick with Yoga.

    My week was busy, busy so I was hoping for a quiet weekend, but n-o-o-o-o!! Saturday is birthday celebration for DH and Sunday is our 4th of July family cookout because all the nurses and the firefighter will be working on Wednesday. Maybe I’ll find time for a nap. Maybe not!

  2. gmariesews says:

    Sounds like fun! I wish we had something like that locally. Can’t wait to hear about your experience at a future class. g

  3. Nancy says:

    It does sound like a good class, but nothing like it around here.

    My weekend will hopefully be spent sewing.

  4. Sue says:

    My exercise classes now consist of walking with a curly haired partner, or throwing discs or spheres for them to chase after. Believe me, a pack of nine can keep one quite active.

  5. Nichole says:

    I’ve never heard of it, but sounds like fun… esp when you can do it as a group!

  6. kathy b says:

    Haven’t tried it or heard of it Chan. I need to get off my porch.
    For the WEEKEND, vacation time!! normal sleep. Possibly a wave pool treat.
    Dinner out with both kids for the last time for a while to come….
    kntiting

  7. AlisonH says:

    Sounds like the best, barre none!

  8. Marjie says:

    Glad you enjoyed it! Weekend sewing, maybe, and driving, likely, and maybe ice cream will be involved.

  9. Barbara says:

    Haven’t even heard about it…but I think it would be fun. Do you ache anywhere today?
    (Think the t-shirts are a great idea for supporting the firefighters.)

  10. Pure Barre has their closest “gym”, or whatever you’d call it, in S.F. or its envirions, so not an option for me. This summer’s fitness consists of Water Aerobics MWF mornings (or as often as I can make it) and walking (when temps allow) Hope you continue to enjoy it.

  11. StarSpry says:

    I haven’t heard of this before, but it sounds really fun!

  12. Kari says:

    ive never heard of that type of class, very interesting. Im glad you enjoyed it though!

  13. That sounds like fun! Wish we had something like that around here.

Leave a Reply

