Cascadia

July 2012 013First things first!  Sissy had a great eye check-up on Saturday, and you can read more about it on the fur-girls’ blog

I don’t believe I’ve worn the same fitness shoes three days straight since I started running competitively at age 14.  However… that’s just what I did this weekend.  I’ve been rather vocal about my struggle to replace my former go-to trail shoes.  I’m even willing to admit that while I’ve blamed Sissy and her hunting efforts for my sprained ankle, maybe, just maybe, not having the right shoes for the job was a major factor.

Why no, I haven’t been to the local running store.  It’s never open when it is convenient for me to go, and frankly, it’s in a part of town (the University district) that I go out of my way to avoid.  Anyway, a couple of brands and styles kept coming up in my research, so when I found one of them at roughly 50% off, I ordered.

Courtesy of Sierra Trading Post

It was love at first sight.  Even with a bum ankle, I couldn’t resist trying the Brooks Cascadias on when they arrived.  Just walking around the living room made my feet happy.  Friday afternoon took forever to get here, and then the dogs and I had a great walk.  The Knight, who has suffered through this whole shoe drama more than even the most devoted of you my readers, ordered me to get another pair right away.  So… after another glorious walk on Saturday, I did order another pair.  

Yesterday, I knew the shoes were perfect and considered giving them a day to breathe and dry out, but I just couldn’t bring myself to put on any of the other shoes that never did suit me well and now, literally have me turning up my nose.  So, I put them through their paces.  They do well on steep inclines, steep declines, over rocks, grass, roots, even on tar and gravel and cement.  They are very lightweight, and that glorious mesh on the top does let a bit of wet in when the grass is tall and very damp, but so do all of my other trail shoes, except the New Balance walkers that are FAR too firm/stiff for me, even after about 6 months of wear and well over 200 miles of use.

My feet/legs/hips/back might actually even feel better while I’m wearing those shoes than not. 

Now, a question for you charity walker/runners…  Do I need “road” shoes too?  These are so light and cushioned I can’t imagine that a smoother tread pattern would be a whole lot better, but I also had refused to believe that I really could buy whole-body happiness via the right shoe for the job…

How was your weekend?

14 comments on “Cascadia

  1. gMarie says:

    I wish I had the answer for you – but I think I’ve told you, I ended up with Nike, but the shoes I loved in the store were Brooks. I have a Brooks outlet nearby, maybe I should check them out. Glad you found the perfect trail shoe. Maybe the answer is to wear those fabulous trail shoes on a pavement walk. Also – the guy at the store said if you spray them with water retardent, it will help keep some of the moisture off your feet when walking in tall grass. g

  2. Katherine says:

    I don’t know about different shoes for road but I say stick with what makes your feet (and body) happy!! I wear Skechers mules around the office and house, and yesterday DH had a hard time getting me out of them to go to Church. I didn’t think anyone would notice! So I understand how important it is for our feet to feel good. Congratulations on finding a shoe that works!! I would sleep with them!

  3. Nichole says:

    Yay for a great eye check up and a Yay for a great pair of walking shoes!

  4. Nancy says:

    Congratulations on finding a shoe that is perfect for your needs.

    High five to Sissy for another great check-up!

  5. Sue says:

    I’m on an ongoing quest for comfy shoes. They must be light first and foremost because heavy shoes cause lots of pain in the damaged joints. I just might give those a try if I can find them around here.

  6. Marjie says:

    Yeah for Sissy’s eye checkup, and glad you found shoes! I have no words of wisdom for you in this quest, as you know. But if you really like them, I suggest stockpiling a couple of pairs, so you don’t have to worry again for a while!

  7. AlisonH says:

    Oh, YAY! You’ve waited and looked so long for the right ones. I’m so glad!

  8. kathy b says:

    Gosh they are great looking shoes . THere is NOTHING like a great fitting shoe that works for your every step. Hmm, what color knitted socks would go with those babies??

  9. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so GLAD you found shoes! I’m on the hunt for comfy shoes for my dresses–I always wear sneakers b/c they kill my feet after like 30 minutes.

  10. StarSpry says:

    I’m glad Sissy had a good eye check-up! It’s great that you found some nice trail shoes. Glad the Knight made you order another pair 🙂

  11. Kathy says:

    I’m a huge fan of two pairs of running (for me) / walking (for you) shoes. I alternate daily. Gives them time to dry and air out. Glad you found something that works for you!

  12. Dianne says:

    Three cheers for a good eye checkup!!!

  13. First, give Sissy lots of love for me…good eye checkups are awesome! : ) Second, I’ll have to check those shoes out myself. I have an awful time finding shoes that don’t make my feet hurt.

  14. […] another pair of trail shoes… the Ryka Trail Exodus.   If I wasn’t so in love with the Brooks Cascadia, I’d say these are good trail […]

Leave a Reply

