Not Ready to Fall…

… into fall fashions.

Don’t get me wrong.  I love fall.  I actually get tired of sandals and bare legs and welcome the chance to reconnect with my jeans and handknit socks.  But while it is 90 something with a heat index over 100, I have ZERO interest in even pondering my fall (don’t even mention winter) wardrobe.

Still getting trotted out a year later

Besides, I still have to dress myself for a potential new member interest social tomorrow, and we won’t talk about August and September’s wardrobe requirements for all the League things on my calendar. 

Here’s the thing.  I’d like to pretend everything is casual and I dress from my closet.  However… my body is still adjusting and reshaping itself a year later.  My WEIGHT is stable, my critical measurements aren’t really changing, but yet…  my clothes no longer fit just right. 

I’m also still finding my style.  That little Lilly P chambray dress *IS* my style.  It’s almost timeless, it’s on the casual side of dressy, and yes, I do re-wear!  I do try to keep a mental score and not wear the same things over and over with the same audiences, but I figure if I can’t remember, they probably don’t either.

So, help me out.  If you’re already admiring fall fashions, what should I be looking for?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

12 comments on “Not Ready to Fall…

  1. gmariesews says:

    Oh I can’t help you. I do think you are right with the theory if you can’t remember they can’t either. I do need to find some new pretty neutral pumps this Fall – I really need a good nude or beige.

    But I don’t think you can fail stocking your closet with basics. Pencil skirts, button downs, nice slacks, etc. As for changing shape – well extreme exercise will do that. g

  2. Nichole says:

    I long for the cooler temps and getting back in touch with my jeans, long sleeves and hand knit socks. That dress is rather cute though!

  3. Nancy says:

    I hate to admit that my wardrobe doesn’t change much with the seasons.

  4. Katherine says:

    I can’t help with the fall thing, I ordered a summer dress yesterday. It’s still summer in my mind!! I did consider that because the dress is slightly below the knee I could wear it with a jacket and tights or stockings in the winter, but that’s not really thinking about winter clothes I guess.

    I love the chambray dress! It is timeless and season-less. As for wearing it recently, I think you will be okay as long as you don’t have family members at League functions. I went to lunch with DD Friday and she commented that I was wearing the same dress and cropped sweater that I wore the last time we went to lunch. I clearly need an apparel calendar–or a less “aware” daughter!

  5. AlisonH says:

    Ah my. I just now ordered a silk t-shirt on sale to layer under things for the fall and a silk tunic to go on top, both of which I can wear now, separately. Thank you Wintersilks!

  6. AlisonH says:

    (Oh, and, total inc shipping was $45.)

  7. Marjie says:

    The Wall Street Journal says big florals will continue into fall, if that’s any help. You can tell how exciting I am; everything I know comes from the Journal or one of their publications. I think dresses or tops with matching jackets or with cardigans are perfect for fall, because you can take them off during the day, when it’s warm out. Other than that, wear what makes you happy. And as long as you’re not wearing the same thing 3 days running, I doubt anyone will remember what you wore some time ago.

  8. kathy b says:

    Oh geez, do NOT ask me!! Im still buying a summer dress you know!
    i love that style of dress you’ve shown us…in that blue!!! YOu are such a fashionista~~~
    I say fall means: boots.

  9. Blond Duck says:

    I refuse to admit summer will end.

  10. Love the Blond Ducks answer! Summer will continue here until well into October…sometimes even longer, so this is way to far-off to really conisder. Love the little chambray dress….

  11. Amy says:

    Fall fashions already? Oi – where does the time go? I’m just hoping that I can back into my old clothes after Zoe is born.

  12. km says:

    I have to confess that since LE sold out of my favorite dress too quickly (I wasn’t able to buy a 2nd one), I was really intrigued by their sale today and this dress http://www.landsend.com/pp/womens-34-sleeve-crepe-jersey-gathered-surplice-dress~242221_59.html?bcc=y&action=order_more&sku_0=::374&CM_MERCH=IDX_women-_-new-arrivals&origin=index.

    Check out their new arrival dresses. There’s a plum shirt dress that you might love. And…the extra deal today is good.

Leave a Reply

