Owlee

No, not a typo or lack of proof-reading.  It’s a Channism.   I like to invent my own words, and I like my Ravelry projects to have names that make me smile.   (Ravelry is Facebook meets project notebook and a bit of Pintrest on top, for knitters and other fiber artists.)

August 2012 001

Owlee Sleep Sack has had me grinning from the moment I found the pattern on through now.   Oh, I’d seen all the neato owl cable designs before, but when a local League friend announced the baby’s room was being done in owls and I stumbled upon the Owlie pattern…  I squeed.  Right here at work. 

So in an attempt to follow my usual finished object format, I’ve already blown past project name (Owlee) and pattern (Owlie), but…

Pattern:  Owlie is a great little pattern.  I’m not sure it’s an ideal first cables project, just because the sleep sack is so VERY basic, and the whole owl theme and translation depend upon how well the owl cable pattern “pops”.  That noted, it’s a great pattern and surely an adventurous beginner could handle it.  The embroidery was a touch I “borrowed” from other Ravelry project pages.  Not only does it help the owl cable “pop” it allowed me to add some PANK to the project, because the new Mama and I both love pink…

August 2012 003

Yarn:  Good ol’ Lion Brand Pound of Love in antique white.  See, Baby’s parents went the “surprise gender” route, so…  I took a cue from the creamy, dreamy tree mural in Baby’s room, and cast on from stash in a daddy does laundry friendly yarn. 

Needles:  US #8 circs… the little shorties I use for hats.  In fact, Baby’s Mama joked that once Baby outgrows it, maybe Daddy could use it as a winter hat.   I did the last few rows on DPNs, #6s.  That’s also part of my norm for “hats”.

Verdict:  Much loved, and really, isn’t that why we knit?  It made me happy while I knitted, and as predicted, my owl-lovin’ pal also adored it.  Hopefully in 20 years, Baby won’t roll her eyes and blame me for perpetuating the owlness so early in her life.

Now, to finish a baby blanket before Ella arrives (next month, presumably), to knit another sleep sack and a matching cap in a flame pattern, and I think I’ve finally found what I want to knit for Zoe…

What are your favorite baby knits?

17 comments on “Owlee

  1. Amy says:

    What a cute little sleep sack!

  2. gmariesews says:

    That is a sweet little sleep sack. I do hope they are able to use it for a bit (or you could knit a second one). This Winter I had a fabulous time knitting baby socks, so quick and I could play around with the patterns. I did not use any wonderfully washable yarn, but my sock yarn scraps and had plenty.

    I’m itching to know what you will be making Miss Zoe. I have to get a button. g

  3. Katherine says:

    I love your description of Ravelry. It’s perfect! AND I love the baby sleep sack! My favorite baby pattern is the Berry Pie Hat here: http://www.bootiesandbibs.com/patterns/berry-tart-baby-hat/
    It’s not an easy knit but is sooooo cute on the baby!! I have always wanted to knit the Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmermann but haven’t. I guess I need a new baby to inspire me. Must talk to our daughter-in-law about that!

  4. Nichole says:

    Oh that is absolutely adorable! Love the pank touch too! 🙂

  5. Nancy says:

    Too cute for words! The touch of embroidery is perfect and sophisticated and the solid white. High five all around!

  6. AlisonH says:

    Oh, how fun! Adorable! Wonderful way to say Owl always love you.

  7. km says:

    I love it. Wish I had a sleep sack for my littles. I’m sill knitting away on my Girasole.

  8. Marjie says:

    Sleep sacs are great items. I kept my kids in them until they could walk: Look, Ma! The kid can’t get out of all of his blankies and freeze! I never had one as cute as that, though.

  9. Love it! I need to add that to my baby knit repertoire….I usually knit hats, socks, or blankets, with an occasional sweater thrown in for fun. 🙂

  10. Natalie says:

    That is too cute! How fun!

  11. StarSpry says:

    What an adorable sleep sack!!

  12. kathy b says:

    Your owly sack is adorable..!!! What a success.
    I love that Elizabeth zimmerman baby sweater but I’ve never knitted it. !
    I am working on a blanket now…my own bunch of squares…
    I love making baby stocking caps!

  13. Kathy says:

    Adorable!

  14. That sleep sack is adorable!!! Love the embroidery embellishment. 🙂 My favorite go to has always been booties or a Baby Surprise Jacket. However, after seeing the sleep sacks, I’d say that’s going to get put into the rotation, too.

  15. Sue says:

    That’s very sweet. I made my cousin Luke an owl sweater when he was a little guy, (he’s 30 now) and I put googly eye buttons on the owls. He loved it.

  16. Kristyn says:

    So cute! I always knit the Seamless Yoked Baby Sweater when I need a baby gift.

  17. […] I’ll knit it again, even though it took forever.   It seems much more functional than the bulky weight snuggle bag I made earlier this […]

Leave a Reply

