Talk Amongst Yourselves

Ruth asked a great question yesterday, and I wish I had time to really dig into it.

“Can’t we just talk fabric and color and accessories?”

Why sure we can!  Or rather, y’all can.  How do you transition from summer to fall, particularly if like Ruth, you live in a place where summer is still hot and heavy, even though the calendar says it is all but over?

Courtesy of Coldwater Creek

Here’s how I do it.  Take one seasonless navy sheath, add a jacket that was marketed for spring/summer, and then indeed, the shoes and accessories set the tone.  For instance, earlier this week, I wore a similar jacket with a grey tee and blue capris and peep-toe navy flats.  Today’s even cooler, so I’d likely trade the flats for pumps and call it a truly transitional outfit.  (Note…  my jacket is actually cream and PANK, so it requires even more caution to keep it from being too summery.)

As for accessories, I tend to just use scarves as belts in the heat of summer, so they’ll start finding my neck and shoulders again as it cools off. 

Now, talk amongst yourselves, and I’ll check back in when I can…  someday.

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

10 comments on “Talk Amongst Yourselves

  1. Katherine says:

    Jackets are the key to transition within my closet, or I should say closets. One of the perks of empty nest is you gain extra closets and I use two of them for hot, cold and in between clothes. When we hit “in between” weather in Texas I pop on a jacket over a summer dress (if it is under 100 degrees) or over a long winter skirt or pants (if it is below 70 degrees).

    My BIG problem is how to dress for the particular air-conditioning philosophy of the place where I am going. “It is 75 outside so will they turn the AC off? Will I be hot in a jacket?” Or, “it is very humid so should I wear short sleeves in case they turn the AC down?” I wish people would send me an email and tell me what they are thinking!!

  2. Nichole says:

    Jackets and cardis can truly help transition any outfit… Love that PANK and white combo – thining how cute it would be on weekends with a nice pair of jeans and the new flats I just fell in love with!

  3. gmariesews says:

    Ummm, I’m so not a jacket girl – but give me a cardigan every day. I tend to wear alot of my bright patterned skirts well into the winter when I prolly shouldn’t, just switch my tee and cardi out for a sweater and tights. g

  4. Marjie says:

    Sleeveless or short sleeved dresses and tops work fine into fall, with the addition of a jacket or cardigan. I refer to it as “removable sleeves”. And I don’t consider PANK to be a summer only color. I think you need a shot of color in fall and winter, anyway. So, enjoy your colors!

  5. Hummm…so the issue seems to be that I don’t own any jackets! Like Gmarie, I tend to go with sweaters…which I obviously still need more of. Short sleeved sweaters are hard to find, though, and right now that would really be the best fit for our weather. Thanks all.

  6. Blond Duck says:

    I just got new fall boots–totally can’t wait to do blazers and skirts!

  7. kathy b says:

    I should look for a sale summer lightweight jacket this time of year in Chicago..
    a go to!! Thanks

  8. Mary says:

    As Katherine mentioned, the use (or not) of A/C wherever I am going to end up is a crucial issue when determining what to wear. So regardless of the time of year, I always keep an oblong scarf/shawl with me. One that I can wear either draped around my neck or place over my shoulders. I also keep two large pashminas at work – one cotton, one wool…sometimes I need to wear both of them at the same time…one on my shoulders, one around my legs. Needless to say, I have more scarves/shawls than the Tie R@ck.

    Rarely wear a structured jacket, usually opting for open-fronted, draped cardigans. I wear layers at all times of the year (a/c overkill vs over-heating issue in office).

  9. AlisonH says:

    Silk layers. Breathable. Always looks good. Keeps you warm or cool–I’ve come to really love mine.

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    I love all the Fall fashion tips and ideas! Even though it’s still hot where I am I transition by wearing light weigh corduroy and shifting the color of my T-shirts to Fall tones. I would LOVE to find the perfect pair of Frye boots for my weekend wearing. I have my eyes peeled!!!

Leave a Reply

