Colors and Causes

There’s a post up on the girls’ blog about today’s Livestrong Day rally.   Cancer deserves all the time and attention we can give it, because it robs so many of so much.

However, I’m fascinated by colors and why certain causes pick them.  For instance, yellow for me is forever “Tie a Yellow Ribbon ‘Round the Old Oak Tree” and its nod to the 19th century, turned 1970s, tradition of using a yellow ribbon to signify that you were waiting to welcome a loved one (away at war or in jail) home.

Courtesy of Dogster

And lately on Facebook, I’ve seen a yellow ribbon campaign for dogs, to signify that particular dog needs space, for a host of reasons.  I like the idea, because both of my girls need space for different reasons – Sissy, so people won’t feed her and Gretchen, because she’s fearful of other dogs – but I’m just not sure this great idea is as well executed as it could be…

Anyway.  There’s your yellow for the day.  And for anyone else who has sunny day needs, here’s my new snap-to-happy song, Shinin’ On Me.  Love the horns…

This entry was posted in DMwmT.

13 comments on “Colors and Causes

  1. Katherine says:

    I love the song!! I didn’t know about the yellow ribbon or marker thing but thanks for telling us!! Macy and Max are so different about approaching other dogs. Macy demands her space and will never invade another dog’s space. Max is good time Charlie and will lunge at any person, child, dog or cat with a happy smile and flapping tongue. Must. Control. Him!

  2. gmariesews says:

    I have seen that yellow ribbon campaign and it would be very useful for the boneheaded dog who thinks he needs to protect me when he’s on a leash. But I think I would spend far more time explaining what it meant rather than actually giving him space. For me – yellow signifies a loved one is gone at war and I often wonder if VDK ties a yellow ribbon on a tree in her yard.

    I was thinking about colors last night while watching football and noticed that many of the guys had pinks on somewhere. 🙂 Happy Tuesday! g

  3. Nancy says:

    I don’t have a dog, but will when walking I see a lot of dogs. I’ll look for the yellow ribbon. Thanks

  4. kathy b says:

    that Yellow campaign is all new to me, but I LIKE It. Great idea. I’ll share it with dog friends.
    I’m off to listen to your new song

  5. AlisonH says:

    Earworm alert, earworm alert! That song will be in my head all day. And thank you for the heads-up, so I don’t approach someone with a yellow ribbon on their dog’s leash to ask what it means.

  6. Nichole says:

    I love the yellow ribbon campaign for the dogs … it’s wonderful. If only more people knew what it stands for, however… I personally have an overzealous family member who finds the need to give every dog he sees BIG huge milkbones… without asking the owners first. Happened again recently while I was with him when a woman said her dog could not have it due to food allergies, as the dog was swallowing it all up. OY.

  7. Marjie says:

    I’m with G on thinking the meaning of a yellow ribbon is a loved one away at war. The song from the 70s is firmly in my head! Happy Tuesday, Chan!

  8. Ruth says:

    Interesting…I’m old school, too. Yellow ribbon is a welcome home for a loved who has been away for a long time…Doubting that the ribbon on the leash idea will work, as the very folks who need to stay back will likely stroll up to ask about the ribbon….just sayin”.

  9. That’s the first I’ve seen about the yellow on a leash. Heck…my parent’s dog needs a red flag for “Danger! Danger!”. LOL

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I need yellow ribbons on both of my dogs!

  11. Walden121 says:

    Interesting, I had not heard of that before.

  12. km says:

    Holly could sure use a yellow ribbon, but it’s mostly small children that charge her and freak her out. She responds by barking like she’s going to eat them. A yellow ribbon wouldn’t dissuade a small child–the parents need to do a better job of educating them how/when to approach a dog. I’m asking our dog trainer if he’ll come do a night for the kids programs at church (like scouts but church based…and you get badges for scripture memory).

  13. […] Chan talks about the ‘Yellow Ribbon’ campaign for dogs.  I think that this is a lovely idea and if you have a dog or know someone who does, please check it out. […]

Leave a Reply

