The 4 Rs

Reading, ‘riting, Romanovs and Rasputin…

Courtesy of Kate Carlisle

I had that recharging weekend I craved.  I finished (to date… at least one more book is due to be published next summer) the bibliophile cozies, read The Last Romanov, and started another cozy.

I’m still high on the bibliophile books.  The characters are fun, the plots are always full of turns, and it’s fun to learn a little bit about book restoration and book collectors.  I still think there’s a deeper connection between the two men in black in the books, so I’m hoping that before Ms. Carlisle calls the series done, she’ll tell us more about Derek and Gabriel and any shared past they might have.

I’d told gMarie I’d read Water for Elephants next, but for reasons I can’t really explain, I just couldn’t download it.  It didn’t appeal to me at all, despite the rave review she gave it.  I don’t like the circus for starters, but beyond that, I can only say that as in the past when someone has suggested that book, the synopsis I read just didn’t do anything for me.

Barnes & Noble

So, I picked up my Nook and looked in “my library” and found The Last Romanov.  I’m quite the history buff and generally, I stay stuck in US history, but for some reason, this era and the Romanovs in particular fascinate me. 

I can actually take a stab at why I can’t get enough about the Romanovs and their sad tale.  Local lore had it that Anastasia herself lived almost literally in my backyard, but DNA research proved otherwise.   I believe I even met her, while responding to a rescue call for her then-husband…

I thoroughly enjoyed this historical fiction, and devoured it in a night, basically in one sitting.  (Yes, it’s a 300+ pager.  I’m a fast reader when I’m engrossed and I’m more than willing to sacrifice sleep for the conclusion.)  While I’m fascinated by Rasputin as well, I liked the book all the more for not spending too much time on the mystic.   The ending was a little trite, but I think many of you would enjoy the book, so I’ll leave it at that for now.

And yes, I love a conspiracy theory.  If it happens to be laced with a bit of magic (or mysticism, if you prefer), all the better.   I’m in danger of slipping into one of my rabbit holes, as what little I know about Orthodox Christianity comes from my role as a wedding coordinator of sorts in a friend’s Greek Orthodox ceremony.   Strangely enough, my two classes in religion in college barely mentioned our Eastern Catholic “cousins”…  Anyone have any great resources to suggest?

How was your weekend?

11 comments on “The 4 Rs

  1. gmariesews says:

    I’m sorry you couldn’t bring yourself to open Water for Elephants – I quite enjoyed it. In fact, I’m missing Jacob. I started the wine books and they just clip right along, don’t they? My weekend was good – on Saturday I was stir crazy and left the house long enough to buy fabric and stuff for dinner. In my defense – I did already make one of the new fabrics up into a dress. g

  2. Sue says:

    I almost didn’t read Water For Elephants for the same reasons. I don’t like circuses and I heard reviews of the movie that turned me off. But a friend insisted and I read it and I’m so glad I did. It’s an excellent book and one hat stays with you for a long time. Please reconsider.

  3. Nancy says:

    I was LAZY this weekend, and it felt good! I did a bit of knitting, visiting with friends, and watching movies on my laptop. Now, I’m ready to face the week ahead.

  4. Katherine says:

    I am currently reading Peril In Paperback and loving it!! Thanks for the tip about the wonderful little series! I have The Last Romanov on my Kindle and have been putting off reading it. I get stuck in a rut of one mystery after another but I need to break out!! I promise to read it next. I don’t think Water For Elephants is for me. I’ll go back and read the description again.

  5. AlisonH says:

    I had a friend growing up who was Russian Orthodox. Christmas was Jan 6 and she just had to wait (and her mom insisted on keeping the lights up well past everybody else’s, too.) Oh the agony of not being able to open your presents till 12 days after all your friends do…

  6. Nichole says:

    Glad you got a recharging weekend! We had one too, after racing was once again postponed due to rain……….

  7. Marjie says:

    My dearly beloved played polo at your local U, and rode horses owned by “The Duchess.” He was surprised by the DNA test results, because he said she was quite convinced that she was Anastasia. It’s an intriguing tale.

    Oh, and Water for Elephants? It’s not as much a circus story as the story of 3 months in a man’s life, during which he meets the love of his life, which happens to be set against the backdrop of a circus. I borrowed it from my daughter, but it was available “to lend” for Amazon Prime members. anyway, glad you had a nice quiet weekend.

  8. Khyra's Mom says:

    Too funny as I was always very interested in them as well –

    Actually did a term paper on hemophilia years and years and years ago with them as a focal point –
    Thanks for sharing!

  9. kathy b says:

    Channon Do you mean book suggestions in general?
    Fireman is reading THe Secret Race by Tyler Hamilton about doping and cycling….
    Im reading :MY FIRST SPANISH WORD BOOk
    in preparation for visiting zach!
    Have you read A PACK OF TWO? I LOVED that dog/person book

  10. Bonnie says:

    Water for Elephants didn’t appeal to me either but I gave in and REALLY enjoyed it. I also don’t like the circus but the story was so much more than that.

    I just finished Language of Flowers and am currently reading The Winter Sea. Recommend both.

  11. Amy says:

    Hmmm – I’ll have to add The Last Romanov to my reading list. It looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

