Low Light Attire

This post is for the other outdoor enthusiasts, or reluctant after-dusk dog walkers out there.  I need reflective wear that isn’t bulky or … annoying.

Lululemon has some cute pants, but first there’s the price and then… is there enough reflectiveness?

I do have a clip-on LED flashlight I put on Gg’s leash when I fear we’re cutting it close on daylight, and the girls have LED collars they’ve never worn, but as the biggest/tallest member of our little trio, I feel I should have something jacket or vest in reflective nature.

I’ve found a few things in the top/jacket/vest department, but most are, like those crops, rather short on the relfective properties. 

Do you have reflective walking/running attire?  Or drivers, do you notice the pedestrians in your neighborhood in low light?  Are they wearing light colors and/or reflective gear?

This entry was posted in Fitness.

9 comments on “Low Light Attire

  1. gmariesews says:

    I usually notice the walkers who are dressed completely in dark clothing when I see their dogs eyes glow. And why is it when someone is walking their dog in the dark they walk right down the middle of the road rather than off to one side or the other?

    My neighbors walk at night and wear a lovely orange construction workers vest which is reflective and bright. So …. I know that idea doesn’t appeal to the fashion maven in you – but it’s always better to be safe than sorry. And honestly – I have clip lights for my dogs that they use because when we walk at night *I* can’t see my dark dog at the end of his leash. If I can’t see him, how can I expect others to?

    g

  2. Nichole says:

    Ironic you should post this today, as just last week we came upon – quickly and suddenly – a whole family of walkers who were ALL dressed in dark colors that could not be seen until you were literally on top of them! UGH. I do see quite a few walkers in our area who wear relfective clothing and a couple who use lights. One guy runs with 2 headlamps – one facing each way… not sure that’s the look you’re going for however! hee hee

  3. Nancy says:

    I purchased a safety vest (the kind workmen wear) at Walmart and wear it in low-light conditions. It has a LOT of reflective sections on it. The vest may not be stylish, but it can be worn over a jacket, a light sweater, etc. and weighs practically nothing.

  4. Bridget says:

    I bought myself a reflective vest as well. It slips over even my bulkiest coat, with straps that are adjustable for, um, “width.” It wasn’t very expensive and adds absolutely no extra weight.

  5. kathy b says:

    We worry about skunks here……and surprising them!
    But, in answer to your real question, I think headlamps are the most visible. We had a leash that reflected lights SOMETIMES too when Huck and I walked in the street at night.

  6. Blond Duck says:

    I’m boycotting Lulumon b/c all the healthy living bloggers are obsessed with them!

  7. Sue says:

    We have flashers that clip on the dog collars. We don’t often walk at night, but they come in handy when the pups run in the yard at night so I can keep track of them. I’d pick one of those construction vests. Fashion doesn’t matter much when you’re under the wheels of a vehicle.

  8. Amy says:

    Sadly, I’ve seen very few folks with reflective gear on so far this season. People really should take more caution!

    I use a treadmill, or walk in the day time, so luckily I don’t need any reflective gear.

  9. Glad to see others suggesting what I was going to (the reflective vest). They sell those at our Wal-Mart with the running gear. I’ve come up on several people out walking at night where all that was “reflecting” was the strips on their shoes. Talk about giving me a heart attack (and probably them, too, as they jumped out of the way of my minivan). O.o

Leave a Reply

