Still Kickin’…

First things first.  We’re south and west of Sandy’s fury.  We still will get many inches of rain and/or snow, high winds, etc., but we’re not in her direct path as those north of here are, nor are we getting the sustained winds those to the east are getting.

photo.JPGI had another blissful weekend.  I finished two projects, blocked a third, and can actually share one of those today.  I started the Kicking Bag for a little boy baby, but his first-time parents were overwhelmed with gifts galore, so I set it aside… until a dear friend with that newborn I can’t get enough of happened to mention she’d really like a kick bag for her baby girl.  I asked if she cared if it was blue and yellow…

Pattern:  Kicking Bag for Babies.   It’s really a VERY simple pattern, and if I make it again, I might use multiple colors as the pattern suggested.  I’d forgotten how easy and tidy a 3-needle bind-off is too.

photo.JPGYarn:  Cuddle Muffin, by Jo-ann Sensations, as in the craft store.  It’s a self-patterned yarn, so the yarn did all the work.  It’s a synthetic, but it was soft and a little sproingy, so it knitted more like a superwash fingering than an acrylic.

Needle:  #3 circular Susan Bates.  Boy do they make fingers on a chalk board scrapey sounds.  I’m glad to be back with my Knitpick Options in the Harmony Wood tips.  Pointy and silent…

Verdict:  I’ll knit it again, even though it took forever.   It seems much more functional than the bulky weight snuggle bag I made earlier this year.

How was your weekend? 

If you’re in the northeast, I hope you’re safe and dry.

13 comments on “Still Kickin’…

  1. gmariesews says:

    That is absolutely perfect for a baby – regardless of sex. The lovely patterning of the yarn combined with your stitch count make it look like little roses. I do hope the parents love it as I know they will. Glad you had a lovely relaxing weekend. I’m guessing that means you got tons of walkies in? g

  2. Nancy says:

    Glad to hear that you are out of Sandy’s path: the storm sounds like a real monster.

    I love the kicking bag: thanks for the Ravelry pattern link.

    I managed to finish some projects this weekend, too. I finally got the two quilts bound, knit a sock and started its mate, and boxed up some scrap fabric to donate.

  3. kathy says:

    What a cute baby sack. I love the way the yarn formed the pattern.

    So glad you are missing the worst of the storm!

    Since it’s football season, my weekend consisted of watching some games and cooking. Last night we went retro with meatloaf and mashed potatoes.

  4. Natalie says:

    So fun!! We used one for Carmen for a while…she liked being in it!

    Glad you are safe!

  5. Nichole says:

    Cute baby bag! I got another baby hat off the needles last night..

  6. km says:

    Glad that you’re out of the direct path of the storm. Love the kicking bag…my 3 would have loved that. I still can’t believe how big they are…I think it’s the birthday of soon to be 11 that’s got me thinking about how quick time flies!
    I finished my Girasole…hoping to block it while we’ve got some warm days. Wedding is November 10th!

  7. Marjie says:

    I always loved baby bags with sleeves for mine. It’s kinda like having jammies and a blanket all in one. And with a long sleeved undershirt with mittens under it, the baby was always warm and cozy. The one you made is really pretty; I’m sure the mommy will love it!

    All of the schools around here are closed today and tomorrow, but so far we’ve only had a little wind. Let’s hope it stays that way. But since I’m on top of a big hill, I won’t get flooded. Losing power might be another story altogether.

  8. AlisonH says:

    Oh, I love that!

    And I’m glad you’re okay. I hope everybody else is. Stay safe, y’all.

  9. Katherine says:

    I’m so glad to hear you, the Knight and the fur-girls are safe, if not dry!! I love the kicking bag. I haven’t seen that pattern before. So cute, especially with the baby in it!! Hope you can stay in and avoid the weather for the next few days. By the end of the week the girls will be driving you crazy for a long walk.

  10. Sue says:

    I’ve been looking at that self flowering pattern yarn and wondering if it actually did make a nice pattern. I guess it does because that bag is very cute.

  11. kathy b says:

    Okay Chan…YOu’ve got me! I have nEVER heard of a kicking bag and I LOVE Yours. ENter the new knit for babies realm!!! Im so excited. WHat a perfect gift!!! Babies LOVE containment. THis is a must knit for me! I love your self striping patterning yarn …
    wahoo. thanks for the inspiration

  12. Blond Duck says:

    That’s so cute! If I ever get pregnant I totally am requesting one. 🙂 From you.

  13. Ruth says:

    Love the kick sack. Glad that at the writing of this post most (not all, sadly) was well with you.

Leave a Reply

