Barre-like Workouts

Sandy is moving on out.  Luckily here, the damage was minimal; there was a tree down on my regular route home yesterday afternoon, and there was evidence of other limbs in the road on my way to work this morning.  I’m anticipating even more tree damage along our walking paths, but I won’t be checking those out today, even though the wind is mostly gone and the rain appears to be following suit.  We hope everyone in Sandy’s path is safe.

Courtesy of Amazon

So, I loved Pure Barre, but wow are their classes expensive.  I don’t have room for a barre anywhere near where I work out (in the middle of the living room, if you must know), so I haven’t tried their workout videos, but I did order Exhale: Core Fusion last month.  I’ve done each video at least once; I do the whole set, so 5-10 minute routines in a row.

The techniques are similar, but they offer chair and towel alternatives to specific fitness equipment suggestions, so I can assure you that if you have room to work out, a simple, sturdy, portable chair, a spare bath towel and a yoga mat (or a beach towel), you can do these workouts.

However, I didn’t get the intense workout I got at Pure Barre.  I don’t know if that’s because I’m competitive and didn’t have peers to pressure me, or if it’s because the workouts just aren’t as demanding.  I mean, I did work to muscle fatigue a time or two, so they aren’t beginner-only workouts, but I didn’t ache and burn for 48 hours as I did after the PB session.  Still, considering I got the 3-DVD set for about what it costs me to take a single PB class, I recommend the collection, especially if you’re on a budget, don’t have a Pure Barre studio near you, or just prefer to workout in comfort of your home.

I might still ask Santa for a PB video or two.  But in the meantime, these DVDs are a great alternative to yoga and/or my Wii Fit when I need to mix up the walking a bit.

Do you have any fitness DVD recommendations?

This entry was posted in Fitness.

9 comments on “Barre-like Workouts

  1. gmariesews says:

    oh, I’m talking a mean game about fitting workouts in, but it still isn’t happening. This might be something I do. I really need to MAKE the time. One of the problems with getting comfortable with my body is the lack of desire to do anything. But – thank you for the recommendation. I think I’ll order those. g

  2. Nancy says:

    I own a lot of exercise DVDs but seldom actually use them. I am better at doing exercises if I take a class or go to the gym.

  3. susancyr says:

    Do you have to take the wrapper off the DVD or can you just buy it and put it on the shelf??? I am still looking for the second type!!! 😉

  4. km says:

    I’ve been looking for a good DVD. Do you have others you use and could recommend? Could kids work out to this one? My 3 need good stretching and strengthening. They get good exercise with sports they’re involved in, but given my back issues, I want them to have a strong core.

  5. kathy b says:

    Fireman would workout to COACH TROY SPinnervals….

  6. Katherine says:

    DD does Pure Barre but it is a little extreme for me. I tend to stick with good old Yoga. The DVDs I use range from easy to very difficult so depending on how I feel I can get a good workout with the same routine. Yoga makes me feel energized and somehow peaceful at the same time. I have been pressing DH to try it but men seem to think it is “girly.” Oh gosh golly gee I don’t want him to feel girly. EVER!!

  7. Anita says:

    I’m so glad you guys didn’t get much from the storm! I was worried about ya’ll.

    Sigh, I just don’t have the energy to work out. I should though.

  8. I must be on the wrong channel…I thought I heard you say you WANTED to ache and burn for 48 hours AFTER you did the workout!! Shuddur…

  9. Blond Duck says:

    Physique 57 and Cathe Fredrick’s Barre video. They BURN!

Leave a Reply

