If I Did Costumes…

Happy Halloween!  I know some of you just adore this holiday.  My idea of being festive is an orange golf shirt (courtesy of a fire truck manufacturer), a black cardi and a REALLY old pashmina that has rust and navy in it. 

Some bloggers have had some great costume posts, past and present.  It has me pondering…  if I did dress up, what would I do?

Insert Sissy here?

If Sissy and I had gone to the (canceled) Doggy Howl-o-ween thing, we might have been a bishop and a nun.

I really do want to make Gg suffer through being Dorothy & Toto one of these days.  Given her anxiety, I think she might be happy in a medium basket on my arm.  Wonder if we could talk the Knight into being the Scarecrow or Tinman?   Sis would totally do the Lion, if I only asked her to wear the mane… 

(If you’re new here, Sis HATES wearing clothes, but loves headwear.  I promised her a while back I wouldn’t make her wear a costume ever again, but since she likes stuff on her head, that’s different… right?)

Courtesy of A&E Duck Dynasty

I also think the Knight and I could totally do Willie & Korie… you know, if we were costume people.

Do you dress up?  

What’s your best costume ever?

(I’m almost sorry we don’t dress up now; I’m really liking us as Willie & Korie!)

12 comments on “If I Did Costumes…

  1. Nancy says:

    From my post earlier this week, you know that I used to dress up for Halloween, but that doesn’t happen any more. When I did wear a costume, I remember feeling like a kid again – it was fun!

  2. StarSpry says:

    I think it would be really cute if you all the Wizard of Oz costumes 🙂 We don’t dress up either, but it’s fun to see what everyone else comes up with!

  3. Katherine says:

    I’m casting my vote for Willie & Korie, and it would be so easy to do. I must add–better you than me. I have not worn a Halloween costume since I was 6 years-old. At the age of 7 I decided the dress up and trick or treat stuff was not for me. When I worked at NM we were required to wear costumes or disguises one Halloween. I wore a long blond wig, stuck a mole over my lip and went as Cindy Crawford. That’s it. Never again. Bah Humbug!!

    I would love to see the girls as Toto and the Lion. They would be so cute! Macy doesn’t wear costumes like her mom, but Max would make a perfect teddy bear!

  4. km says:

    When I was about 8, I dressed up as a christmas tree. It was all my idea and my mom made the costume out of an old sheet. Olive green, but it’s what we had…so it was cheap. It was an A-line dress with lots of ruffles (tiers). And a cape for over my shoulders. And then a cone shaped birthday hat covered to match. We safety pinned ornaments all over. I wore my tall brown boots and tights. I won a ribbon at the harvest festival.

    I’m considering dressing up tonight. I’ve got a KGB officer’s jacket and hat that I bought in Moscow when I was there in 1993. No different than wearing a blazer with my jeans. ;0)

  5. km says:

    PS…I vote for Willie and Korie too.

  6. Mary says:

    Just thinking of Sissy as a cardinal…gotta love it!

  7. gmariesews says:

    I think Willie & Korrie would be super cute. We don’t dress up – I have my witch skirt on and that’s that for a minute or 3. I do love seeing the neighbor kids dress up and my favorite was when they dressed up as Beau & Lucy and the parents were JB & I walking the dogs! Nope – didn’t get photos.

    I love when dogs dress up – but only if the dogs like it. g

  8. Natalie says:

    I’m not one to dress up either. My shirt today is about the extent of what I’ll do. I do enjoy dressing Carmen up though!

  9. kathy says:

    A while back Target had dog costumes and collars. I bought Lucy a collar that has skulls on it. Like any kid, she wanted to wear it more than just today (or so I imaged she did) so she’s been wearing it for about a week and a half.

    Costumes for her…nope. Even if we wanted to, she’s way bigger than the biggest size we ever look at. I was tempted by the “wide retriever” jersey but the XL size was for dogs up to 50 lb. She weighs 33 pounds more!

    I may do seasonal collars though if I can find cute inexpensive ones.

  10. AlisonH says:

    I am an utter failure as a costume designer or mother in that regard (sorry kids). You should have seen the look on Michelle’s face when I held up the newly-broken silverware holder from the dishwasher, announced I needed to wear a box and that I could be a dishwasher!

    Moooooommmm!!!

  11. Blond Duck says:

    Happy Halloween! (I love that show!)

  12. I don’t know who Willie and Korrie are…I’m a pop-culture fail! I DID dress tonight…first time in years. I borrowed a friend’s Ren Faire costumes…nothing fancy, just a woman from long ago. LOL…I don’t dress the dogs at all, but DO dress the hubs…in his kilt, as often as I can get away with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

