Light through yonder window…

Romeo and Juliet, Act 2, scene 2.

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday…  And while it’s still pretty overcast, it’s brighter out there than it has been.  We got a shot of sunshine yesterday morning, and a few minutes later, it was raining.  Ugh. 

photo.JPGThe fur-girls don’t care about sunshine.  Gg prefers that nothing falls from the sky, prefers to be warm, and Sissy just wants to walk, whether the weather is cold, hot, wet, dry…  And now, they have hay bales to count.   Our kindly neighbor with all the great walking trails mowed and baled last week, beating Sandy in the race to get the hay into bales before it rained.

Sissy believes it is her civic duty to inspect each and every bale.  Thus far, she’s made it to about five.  The coarse remains hurt Gg’s feet and I’m not fond of venturing too far off the intended trails, so Sis’s mission suffers…

photo.JPGGg did inspect the first one, but after a quick check of the second bale, she decided if you’ve sniffed one hay bale in the field, you’ve sniffed ’em all.   Sissy was quickly out-voted, especially since I have the human with the leash veto power.  I happen to know there are too many holes and concealed dangers in a hay field, so we won’t be inspecting each and every bale. 

Thankful?  I’m really thankful that Sandy just kinda’ gave us a passing glance.  We are crossing paws and sending good vibes and prayers out for friends who saw more of Sandy’s wrath, but everyone is still alive, still has a place to call home, still has a place to go to work as applicable, and we’re even happy that one local friend is making her way to NYC for the marathon this weekend.

I’m glad I didn’t have to make that call.  While I think more good than harm will come from running the marathon as scheduled, my heart does go out to the transit, emergency services, hotel staff and others who will most certainly have even more overtime to get the City that Never Sleeps ready for the tens of thousands coming just for the race.   The Knight and I have both put in very long hours/days/nights during natural disasters here, and it’s hard on the people working and those trying to cope at home while part of the “team” is focused on work. 

One last point…  Most races are charitable in nature, and the NYC Marathon is no exception.   Over 200 non-profits receive funds from the race proceeds, so in that respect, I’m glad the race is going on as planned!

What are you thankful for today?

9 comments on “Light through yonder window…

  1. Katherine says:

    The girls inspecting the hay bales are so cute and funny! As far as hay inspecting is concerned though I think I am with Gg. One is enough.

    Please give the Knight (and you) my complete respect and admiration. I have great love for those who serve in disasters and emergencies. Our kids are among them and while I worry about them day and night I am still so proud and grateful for their concern for others!!

    Glad to hear you are getting snippets of sunshine and that Sandy passed you by to some degree!! I’m concerned about Grace, our blogging buddy in NJ. I have not heard from her and wonder if any other knitting bloggers have heard anything from her.

  2. gmariesews says:

    thankfuls: office turning around::attorneys who work and give a d*mn::cute neighborhood trick or treaters::favorite vet back from maternity leave::IT guys::netflix and pandora in the sewing room::new dress patterns that fit and make me feel cute and a tiny bit sexy!::fall colors::hum-birds outside my desk window::husband who still love you after 18 years and vise versa::

    I don’t think Beau would inspect the hay bales – they might ‘get’ him! g

  3. AlisonH says:

    Hay, bale-by, whatcha doin’? I can just picture Sissy checkin’em out.

    Thankful: for a warm and dry house and peace in our little part of the world. And that that endless project in a color I don’t like but the recipient will is finally almost almost done. Just needs maybe one more hour.

  4. Sue says:

    Tell Gg that mousies like to live in hay bales and she might be more interested.

    I’ll be thankful when Rob finally gets home from Chicago. It’s been a long two weeks. An extra pair of hands are really welcome with two sick dogs in the house.

  5. Nancy says:

    I’ve heard some grumbling about how NYC is focusing on the marathon and not on relief. I can see both sides, but know that the marathon will bring a much needed financial boost to the city.

    I’m thankful for those who volunteer in our communities across this country: they selflessly give their time and talents to help others. I am also thankful for fabulous thrift shop bargains on a gently worn winter coat and a light denim jacket.

  6. Blond Duck says:

    Thanks for a wonderful, happily creative day!

  7. Marjie says:

    I’m thankful for electricity, heat and hot water! And I’m glad to see Sissy out there being a dutiful hound, and inspecting everything in sight. Happy weekend to you, Chan.

  8. Kathy b says:

    I too am so thankful you and my Al are safe ……Al had to stay extra days an I am glad she is home after such long hours

    Thankful for
    A trip to the Leather district of the world today………more details to come…..

    Not having to work this weekend with the time change!!!!!! On vakay until next Saturday

  9. Barbara says:

    I’d like to investigate those hay bales too. 🙂 Not for the same reason however.
    Tracy has elec. but no heat in either gallery or home. Brrr. And there’s a big storm coming Wednesday. Her opening is Thursday.

Leave a Reply

