Night of the Living Deed

Courtesy of Amazon – obviously

I chose this book to read over Halloween, not knowing it was set on the Jersey Shore.   While I love a good pun, the title of the book doesn’t make sense until deep into the story, but don’t let that stop you if you like cozies, like ghosts, like old homes with plaster walls, like single moms who can renovate an old home almost single-handedly, etc.

It’s more than a little ironic that the setting is also still in the national news, as the region attempts to recover from the destruction of Hurricane Sandy.  I’m a ponderer, and I can’t help but wonder if this book was inspired by a real house in a real “down shore” town, and if so, are house and town still standing?

This is going to shock some of you, but Melissa, the 9-year-old daughter of the main character, is a pretty cool kid.  And the mom drives a Volvo, so if only they had a dog…

Oh, and there’s something in there for history buffs too.   Arguably one of the most famous painting of our first president is set near Trenton, NJ, where Washington crossed the Delaware.   While my heart belongs to Virginia history, I do have a special fondness for all things Colonial, Revolutionary, and the Civil War, regardless of the state.

Courtesy of Wikipedia

Virginia begins her claim of being the home of Presidents with General George Washington, but he didn’t just sit at Mount Vernon… and if you want to know how he fits into the book, read it!

Speaking of presidents, don’t forget to vote tomorrow if you haven’t voted already.  Virginia believes in old-fashioned voting in person, so we’ll be doing our civic duty tomorrow in the gym of the elementary school the Knight and I both attended.   There are all kinds of swing states, depending on who’s talking, so please know that your vote counts!

12 comments on “Night of the Living Deed

  1. gmariesews says:

    That book looks interesting. I might have to track it down.

    Voting – we do it by mail and don’t even get a darn ‘I Voted’ sticker. And I have to beg to differ. It’s very hard to believe your vote counts and might actually make a difference when they are calling the election as a whole before our polls even close. I still vote, anyway, just sayin’.

    g

  2. Sue says:

    In Missouri we have to vote on election day, too. I’ll be so glad when all the annoying ads stop.

    Due to a computer upgrade I’m suddenly drowning in unread ebooks. Can’t wait to get started.

  3. AlisonH says:

    We vote in person. We could have applied to do it by mail–but our mail system in this area is so messed over that I trust the ballot in person far more.

  4. Nichole says:

    We do old-fashion in-person voting too!

  5. Marjie says:

    We’re holding a family vote=a=thon. We parents will be going voting along with Dan & Cass, and the little boys will come along as our observers. No reason not to teach them to vote early and often. (Sounds like Chicago, eh?) And I’m with Sue, ready for the ads to stop. And for the cursed robo=calls to stop. I had some nice young man named Sean call yesterday to inquire if I plan to vote on Tuesday, and I responded, “Yes, along with my husband, 4 sons and 3 daughters. The other 2 sons are too young.” He had nothing left to say.

    I’m sending my idiot mother a Kndile for Christmas, and going to load it with free books before it goes to her. It might keep her out of my hair a little bit.

  6. Katherine says:

    Can’t wait to read the book! You know I’m a sucker for books about old houses and ghosts!! Thanks for the tip. We voted early to escape the mad rush on Tuesday. I walked out without my “I Voted” sticker and I’m still bummed about it!!

  7. Mr. Puffy says:

    I’m a big lover of all things colonial, revolutionary, and civil war too!!! Have you seen the movie “Washington” it tells the story of the Christmas Eve crossing of the Delaware ~ love that movie. Yes everyone vote. Except living in California I’m certainly not in a swing state 😦

  8. Walden121 says:

    Looks interesting, but I am hesitant to spend that much on a digital book, do you think it’s worth the money?

  9. Blond Duck says:

    I already voted! We went to the library and did early voting.

  10. Nancy says:

    The book sounds like a good read: I’ll look for it.

    I’ll definitely hang my flag tomorrow morning and hit the voting booth in the afternoon.

  11. StarSpry says:

    This sounds like a good book! I voted early, too. I’ll be glad when all the election ads are over!

  12. Mom says:

    Thanks for voting as I have. Remember the trips to the voting booth at the firehouse/community center? Until someone decided that it was illegal even though you wern’t reading yet!!

Leave a Reply

