Pre-holiday tradition!

image courtesy of Shutterfly

Like it or not, Christmas is right around the corner.  For several years now, I’ve done Photo Christmas Cards, and my go-to vendor is Shutterfly.   They have a great selection of styles, shapes, themes and no matter what you’re looking for, it’s there, for whatever version of the holidays you like to honor with cards.

Sissy is lobbying for this design, but until she has her own bank account, I think I’ll make the final decision.  Some years, I’ve done a couple of different styles of cards, but this year I’m thinking one kind of classic design that can go to friends, family, fellow League leaders, etc.

Or maybe I’ll compromise.  If Sissy will pose with antlers and get Gretchen to cooperate as well, we’ll consider this design.  Why yes, I am quite confident there’s simply no way that will be happening…

DSC00031

December 2008 – A visual reminder of the antler suffering

I love holiday cards and have a special scrapbook for the ones that really speak to me each year.  I save all the cards and use some to make embellishments on the pages too.  Another friend has a really neat idea I think I’m going to use to keep my cards together from one year to the next, since I will admit that I have a backlog and am a couple of years behind.  Houndgirl buys those locking, metal rings and hole punches each card and then stacks the cards on a ring so that they’re handy to view.  Beats my gallon storage bag per year mess!

So, what are your card preferences and traditions?  And while you’re thinking cards, check out Shutterfly on your favorite social medium:

•             Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/shutterfly

•             Twitter: http://twitter.com/Shutterfly

•             Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/shutterfly/

•             Instagram: Shutterfly

•             Google +: https://plus.google.com/+shutterfly

•             Blog: http://blog.shutterfly.com/

Also be sure to see Shutterfly’s special offers.

And for those dedicated readers who made it this far, I have a special reward!   Leave a comment below telling me about your favorite Christmas or winter holiday cards.  Do you like the family newsletters, photo cards or something more traditional with glitter?  One winner will be selected November 16th for  $50 off order of $50 or more (excluding tax and shipping & cannot be combined with any other promos (expire 12/14/2012 – no extensions) courtesy of Shutterfly.

Last but not least, I need to let you know that post is sponsored by Shutterfly, although my opinions are sincere and my own.

13 comments on “Pre-holiday tradition!

  1. gMarie says:

    I’ve told you about my fav. A friend who sends a paragraph written by family member about the highlights of the year. Photos all around the text.

    I’m thinking of a multi photo card this year. I’ll let you know.

    g

  2. Sue says:

    We usually do two cards, one of the dogs for those who are ‘dog people’ and one more traditional for those who can’t understand why we have so many dogs.

    I save one of our cards each year and date it to look back. I have them all in a box and really should do a scrapbook.

    I also keep the cards with designs that could be converted to crss stitch patterns. Maybe someday I’ll get to do them if I live to be 250.

  3. Nancy says:

    I keep all the photo cards that I receive, and if possible, the others are recycled into postcards or gift tags. Some special cards are scanned for computer desktop photos.

    Printed family letters are my least favorite greeting to receive. I would prefer one or two sentences handwritten on a card – something personal. I detest receiving a card with a printed name, a printed letter, and a printed label on the envelope — too impersonal and not worth the money spent.

    Over the last five years, I’ve cut back on the number of cards I send.

    Thanks for the giveaway, but please don’t include my name in the drawing.

  4. Mary says:

    As I read your post, I glanced up at my bulletin board to see Sissy and Gg ‘smilin’ down at me from last year’s card. So now you know: I generally keep photo cards. And since one pack-rat in the family is enough (thanks, DH), I do toss the rest. I enjoy photo cards and sometimes like newsy family letters as long as they don’t turn into “my family is so much better than yours” epistles. Those make me gag. But funny, irreverent or poignant ones, I appreciate.

  5. kathy b says:

    Hey! !What fun this is!
    I love seeing the picture cards most at Christmas. THe letters are usually too boastful for me.
    I want to use shutterfly this year. I keep all the Christmas cards in an album on the piano. OVer the years EACH year with the kids the card has been a big project…..even last year! but I love them.. I keep the outtakes too…..

  6. Ruth says:

    I love photo cards, and will save them forever. That being said, I also appreciate a note of some kind so I get a little bit of news, too.

  7. Katherine says:

    I am a traditional card lover–and sender, however, I DO love and save the photos! I have never liked the “guess what we did this year” letters, except one we received about 15 years after we were married. It seems the man and woman who lived on either side of us in our first apartment had met after all those years and realized they still cared about each other and that neither had ever married. They got married, moved to Florida and still correspond with us. Maybe those letters aren’t so bad after all!!

  8. Katie says:

    I like photo cards personally. I love to see photos of kids, pets or whole families.

  9. Nichole says:

    I like the photocards the best of all, and a few Christmas / end of year letters are always nice. What I don’t like is the glitter cards… sure they’re festive and pretty, but I just can’t stand picking pieces of glitter off EVERYTHING for weeks – heck months – to follow. (sorry)
    Love the giveaway – great post!

  10. km says:

    I like photo cards. I have a square bulletin board in my kitchen that I hang photo cards on. We enjoyed it so much, that I leave it up all thru the year and change out the photos each Christmas. Last year was a family photo…so to save time this one might be just the kids.

  11. […] don’t forget, the Shutterfly winner will be announced tomorrow.  Leave a comment if you haven’t and you’d like to win $50 […]

  12. Krystle says:

    I enjoy the family letter update when they are close friends, but I think that the photo card is a more modern way to show how you’ve all grown, and are great to send to even acquaintances. It is a pet peeve of mine though if friends don’t even actually sign their name on their photo cards. I like to write a personal well wishing in real hand-writing, but I guess I am old fashioned like that…

  13. […] to Katie!  She won the Shutterfly prize.  Katie, I’ll email you with the code and such soon.  Is it tacky to say I hope this means […]

Leave a Reply

