Insert Me Here

Don’t forget to thank a veteran today… every day.  We owe so much to the men and women whose selfless sacrifice keep our nation – and the world – safer and freer than it would be otherwise.  I won’t try to name my friends and family who have served or are serving, because the list is long and distinguished.  Never forget too that their loved ones sacrifice and serve right along with them.

Also, please take a gander at my previous post and weigh in on photo cards and holiday cards in general.  There’s a giveaway if that sweetens the deal…

Move over Theo, sassy Lizzie Crenshaw just became the cozy heroine I’d most like to hang out with, although both of you get yourselves into far more trouble than I need in my life, and both of you have really cool dogs to sweeten the deal.  I do enjoy reading about women whose lives are even more chaotic than mine.  Since I retired from the fire service, I don’t find dead bodies anymore, nor do I have serial killers lurking around…  And if I do, ignorance is bliss!!

Courtesy of B&N

You need to know the Lizzie Crenshaw cozies are novellas; they average about 50 pages each.  I’m generally not a fan of short stories, but these mini-novels were perfect for a week jam-packed with meetings, an election and the not-subtle transition to Standard time, also known as dark too soon for long walks in the woods.  However, Lizzie’s small-town life is pretty hectic, so I think she’d appreciate that I had to squeeze in reading moments on the fly.

Brookdale, Texas reminds me a lot of the small towns (sorry podunk; I know you fancy yourself a college CITY, but you’re a town, and a small, sprawling one at that) I’ve lived in.  The local law enforcement head honcho is a Lizzie’s best friend’s brother, and Lizzie’s dysfunctional family’s drama is the fodder that feeds the series… and the town’s gossip.  I’m sure Lizzie would appreciate the comment a former supervisor and family friend shared with me the first time I found myself the focus of firehouse gossip;  “They’ll mind all your business but they won’t pay your bills.”

Unfortunately, these books are only available electronically right now, but anyone with a computer or smart phone can access Kindle and Nook books, so don’t let that hold you back.

So, which fictitious character(s) would you like to make your new BFF?  Or are gMarie and I the only nuts who ponder such things?

8 comments on “Insert Me Here

  1. AlisonH says:

    My thanks to all in your family who have served.

  2. gmariesews says:

    I thank anyone in uniform every time I see them, in line to get coffee – I’ll often buy theirs. I also truly appreciate the sacrifice the spouse making having a spouse be a very dear friend, I understand it more all the time.

    New BFF? Well I love Bennie from books I haven’t shared with you, I think Melanie is great – although she was a bit spineless at the beginning of the poodle books but gets better, Theo and Lizzie are fabulous. And then there’s Jacob from Water for Elephants. He wouldn’t be BFF fodder, but I would sit down and have a long listen to him. The elderly have so much to share if you let them.

    g

  3. Nichole says:

    Happy Veterans Day to all! 🙂

  4. Katherine says:

    Veterans have a special place in my heart (DH is one). For us this is a day of reflection, thankfulness and respect for all those who sacrifice for our country!!

    Short books are good!! I also have had a week of being pushed and shoved by the forces that be. I didn’t consider the “dark too soon” thing as part of it but it does make a difference! Yea short/quick anything!!

  5. Karen says:

    I have a long list of who I would like to be bff friends with, but at the top of the list would be Cinderella, Stephanie Plum and Sookie Stackhouse. Especially Sookie, because when she goes to back to Bill, I want to step in with Eric Northman (no disrespect to my husband 🙂 lol )

  6. Katie says:

    I just bought this novella for my Kindle. My fictional BFFs would be Stephanie Plum and Sofie Metropolis. This book seems right up my alley and who can beat the price.

  7. Natalie says:

    I had never thought of that before….but I’m not even sure who I would pick. I’ll have to think about this.

  8. kathy b says:

    AL is reading GONE GIRL and loving it. I cannot recall who recommended it to her!
    I second your Veterans’ day thoughts. I’d like to have Nora Ephron but she’s passed away now…..

Leave a Reply

