Follow-up to the Personality Test

February 2011 018Boy that was fun!  I’ve enjoyed hearing which talk show you’d be on, what your book(s) would be about, and what you would wear.  I need to broaden my talk show horizons…

Today, I think I might go on The View and Gretchen surely deserves her moment in the sun as well.   While I still can’t tell you what I’d wear to be on a talk show, I can tell you what is becoming my cool weather uniform.

Fall uniform

Now, that’s not PRECISELY what I have on today, but it’s the general idea.  I saw another good question on a blog yesterday (my apologies… I can’t give credit because I don’t recall!).  If you could only wear dresses or pants, which would you choose and why?

For me, it would depend.  As long as I could have tights and boots and could wear leggings under skirts to walk the dogs, I’d go with dresses.  I love jeans truly, deeply, madly doooo, but I can’t wear jeans everywhere, and when cigarette pants go out of style again, I won’t have pants that fit, no matter how much time and money in alterations I could spend.  

I keep saying it, but I also love dresses because there’s nothing to coordinate.  Okay, I couldn’t have slapped on my favorite Lilly P pank, cream and lime scarf with today’s rusty red sweater dress, but it’s far less stressful than trying to find a blouse and a sweater or jacket that work with a separate bottom of any sort.  And since I’m not much on reinventing the wheel, I don’t get creative and will wear this precise combination again over and over until it’s warm enough for me to switch to shirt dresses and flats.

Really though, I’m glad I don’t have to choose one or the other.  Taking Sissy to the vet in anything skirted would be a fiasco and prove to the world that I lack any sort of natural poise, just as there are also places I’d never feel comfortable wearing pants.

 

9 comments on “Follow-up to the Personality Test

  1. Nancy says:

    I wore dresses/skirts all the time when I was working, but I rarely wear them now. My “style” has become more casual.

  2. gmariesews says:

    Dresses! All the time. I’ve been known to walk the dogs in them and go to the vet. If I could find a good skirt for ‘races’ I’d wear that too. They are just so easy. And honestly? The way my body is shaped, you can fit a small child in the gap my pants leave behind the small of my back. 🙂

    g

  3. Nichole says:

    That’s a cute fall outfit! 🙂 If I had to choose, it’s not question — I’m a pants person at the moment. I used to wear cute dresses and skirts WAY back when I was working at the museum…

  4. Marjie says:

    I’d wear that outfit. Of course, you know that I’m a dress and skirt girl. Last winter, I created velour dresses, many short sleeved with matching jackets. I’ve just ordered more velours so I can have even more colors to wear this winter. As for matching skirts? If it isn’t a neutral colored top or skirt, I look for a color in a print to match a solid. Sometimes i pick a color that’s just barely there and match it to a solid, and it works out great.

  5. Blond Duck says:

    I’m a total dress and boots girl! 🙂

  6. Katherine says:

    Pants! Specifically jeans!! In Texas people wear jeans to the opera, museum, Church etc. I confess, I am one of them. I love my jeans and consider them the ultimate, perfect attire. My problems start when I try to decide what to wear on top. Dressy to casual, in that order, would be silk shirt and cashmere sweater to jeans jacket. Then there is leather which is really dressy!! LOL! My Mom used to say, “Texans are a breed apart!”

  7. AlisonH says:

    i have learned to love tunics post-colectomy…

  8. Yes, what gMarie said….all of it. Some of us just aren’t shaped for pants, and perhaps especially not jeans. I also agree with you about not having to coordinate pieces with a dress. Now, I just need a better source of warmer tights and/or leggings…

  9. Pants!!! Blue jeans to be exact. There are dress jeans and there are casual jeans, so I’d be covered either way. (You’re terribly surprised by my answer aren’t you? LOL)

Leave a Reply

